We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Trolley Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Husband and I redeemed points for a quick wedding anniversary 'leave the kids with grandma' getaway.

Pros - A few short hours from LA its a nice hotel located next to San Buenventura State Beach which is the really highlight. Staff is very friendly. Hotel is a bit dated but it was adequate as a Marriott.

Cons- No ocean view. They charge $13 daily for parking (in/out privileges) and they also charge for Wi-Fi access. I dinged them a star for the wi-fi charge - who does that anymore??? Even coffee shops provide free WiFi! Thankfully with smart phones we kept the laptop put away... maybe it was for the best. We didn't sneak in any 'work' during our getaway.

They got a star back for having access to the free Trolley service. The trolley was very convenient in that it hits areas between the downtown, harbor and points in between. With that service we didn't take our car from the parking lot all weekend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flacaSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear flacaSandra,

We are glad that you and your husband chose our hotel for your anniversary getaway. While it is never our intention to disappoint a guest in any way, we do feel it important to note that our pricing is in line with other full-service hotels that offer the same level of amenities, accommodations, and great location. In fact, we are the closest hotel in Ventura to the beach! But clearly we were not able to demonstrate our value to you, and for that, we do apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

I have had the opportunity to spend four (4) nights at the Ventura Beach Marriott just this week (Jan 12-16, 2014). Additionally, I brought 5 colleagues here for business, all of whom booked the Marriott on my recommendation.

Overall, we all had an excellent experience here at the Ventura Beach Marriott -- with one odd disappointment -- but that disappointment is more annoying than anything else -- and not nearly enought to dissuade me from returning, or from recommending others to come here.

First, the customer service has been quite good at every interaction -- be it at the front desk with a receptionist or manager, during breakfast with a waiter or waitress, at the parking service with the valet, every interaction has been consistently good to excellent. I would describe each staff member as competent, quick, and friendly in execution of their duties. It is clear that this staff is well-trained and motivated. Four stars for service.

The physical atmosphere of the hotel is quite nice as well. There are flowers and palm trees everywhere. As others note, the lobby is interesting, and it has a nice bar off to the left where colleagues can enjoy a few drinks and a chat with the friendly bartenders while relaxing in comfortable chairs. The outdoor pool and jacuzzi are better than average, though certainly not luxurious -- this isn't the pool complex at the Aria -- but then you shouldn't expect it to be. Four stars for general physical plant and atmosphere.

My room, contrary to the experience of some others in prior reviews, suffered no deficits -- it was roomy, comfortable, well-decorated, and everything that should have functioned, did function. There were no worn rugs, no stained sinks or tubs, nothing broken anywhere -- the room appeared to be very professionally maintained. My room was cleaned, with linens changed, every day without fail. One might reasonably call the decor scheme "traditional", or even "old-fashioned", but if you come to Marriott, you're not looking for the ultra-modern of, say, the W. Four stars for my room.

The hotel's location is not bad, either. You're right off (RIGHT OFF) 101, so getting back to the highway is easy. You're right off Harbor Road, which runs parallel to the beach for miles and miles, affording you access to Port Hueneme, Navy Base Ventura, and lots of restaurants, hotels, shopping, etc. just off the road for many miles. In the opposite direction, you're maybe a 10 minute drive from the downtown Ventura historic district (small, quaint, nice restaurants, meant for adults, not teens or college-age kids). You can walk to the beach in 5 minutes from the hotel. And it's a nice view out to the Channel Islands.

It's not quite as nice as being right on the beach, but really not bad. 3 stars for location.

Now I come to my one disappointment, which in 2014, I don't know how to explain. Because this was a business trip, I spent more time after the business day ended in my room than I would on a vacation-oriented trip. I often had several hours of work to do at night after days filled with client meetings. This meant that I spent more time in my room, with the TV on, than usual. Ugh, this is where it gets bad.....

I was surprised, puzzled even, to find that the Marriott's TV service appeared to be an analog, antenna-based service -- in 2014. Other than the people using Aero, or home-strung HD OTA antennas, all of which is in HD, who is using antenna service? Especially old-fashioned analog TV service? Is this 1981, the year my parents bought our first color TV, a 19-inch Sylvania (don't worry, they kept the 12-inch black and white RCA for several more years)?

Prior to this week, I literally cannot remember the last time I saw diagonal lines, static, and outright snow on a TV screen. But all week, channel after channel was filled with lines, static, and snow. Even Marriott's "Menu" channel -- in fact, ESPECIALLY its MENU channel, was deeply snowy. Marriott -- it does no good to put LG flat screen, widescreen TVs in your rooms if you're going to display the GODAWFUL, line-filled, staticky, snowy broadcasts. Not sure what's going on with your in-room TV service, Marriott Ventura Beach, but it's horrific. Zero stars for in-room entertainment.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely -- great staff, nice hotel, great room, good location -- but jeez, Marriott, get it together on something so SIMPLE as having decent in-room TV service. It's pretty pathetic to see snowy TV in 2014 in a major chain hotel.

OH, and one more thing -- $13/day to self-park in a big parking lot? For real? Only $3 less than the $16/day valet? Bad, bad, bad. It de-values your valet service to make it nearly the same price as self-parking, and it makes self-parking seem WAY too expensive. Whatever consultant told you that those were good price points, especially relative to each other, provided you bad advice. You should get your money back -- and use it to reduce the price of self-parking to, oh, I don't know, FREE.

Room Tip: Stay on the concierge level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Brian C,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here and very much appreciate that you recommended our hotel to your business colleagues. We are very sorry for any issues that you experienced with the television. We have not had any complaints about issues with the reception as you had experienced, but you will be happy to learn that we are upgrading to HD services in March.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This was a fun place for us as we rode bikes and would come back and literally descend on bar area with two large TV's and ate our dinner there...Just enjoyable for us, nice room, quiet and easy ride to harbor or Ojai or downtown or beach and state park.

Room Tip: I had a bike so downstairs was preferred and was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Ellie L,

Our hotel reflects the easy California lifestyle and we are so glad that you enjoyed it during your visit here. Easy access, convenience, and a warm welcome are the hallmarks of our philosophy and we are glad that you experienced them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Spent Christmas night here and could not have asked for better service, room and amenities. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. I felt like I was staying at a more expensive place. Great value here. Lobby is well done, restaurant was delicious, close to the beach. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CA2FTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear CA2FTL,

Thanks so much for reporting about your great experience at our hotel. It is our goal to provide a great value for our guest's travel dollar and we are glad to have succeeded with your visit. We appreciate the recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The brightest star of this property, by far, is Nia. She provided customer service at a standard that is truly superb, and what should be expected of all Marriott property employees.

This property was once a corporate owned location and was recently franchised out. There appears to be a "brain drain" as a result and customer service has fallen down the proverbial hole, and there is clearly a great deal of employee dissatisfaction.

Jill, who served in the lounge is best described by myself as "peevish", and the worst server that I have had in a very long time. The Supervisor on Duty, Ryan, was also less that effective in his role, in my humble opinion.

The check in staff was friendly and even upgraded my room to a one bedroom suite. A nice gesture and reward for my Gold Elite Level Marriott Reward Status. This hotel was only at 1/3 of occupancy; and this was during the busy holiday week of and after Christmas. No doubt the poor customer service has effected this locations reputation. I certainly will not return

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ConstanTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear ConstanTraveler77,

Thank you for providing your review on your most recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate your patronage as a loyal Marriott Hotels guest and welcome your feedback so that we can strive to improve and enhance our services to guests on every level.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Checked in one hour early, no rooms available. Someone was supposed to call us, no one did. Came back at 4PM. Room ready. Room was nice, clean, everything one expects from a Marriott. Got a fridge delivered, which was free, but unfortunately, it froze all the food! Enjoyed the amenities...but really what is it with these glass burning firepits? Have seen them lately everywhere. They look fabulous, but give little heat. Loud music all night long, next door, dogs walking and barking, people entering and leaving....busy busy busy.
San Buenaventura Beach is very close by.....lovely walk along the beach. Pay for parking, and you cannot leave without the key card.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricechex01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Ricechex01,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We apologize for the issues that you faced in getting notified when your room was ready. Late December is a busy time for us -- as you noted in your review -- however, that is no excuse that you were not notified promptly. We will be reviewing your feedback with our front desk operations to ensure that this does not happen in the future. It is never our intention to disappoint any guest and we are sorry that you experienced issues with your fridge. We hope that you reported it upon checkout so that we can have the unit repaired.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stay here every Christmas and are always very pleased with our stay. A wonderful location, literally steps from the beach. They're pet friendly which is often hard to find.

The restaurant/coffee bar serves starbucks and the baristas are VERY friendly, even those who are stuck working Christmas day. We've had quite a few breakfast meals there as well and all were delicious, although a little pricey for what you get. That's pretty standard with hotel dining though.

Overall, would recommend this place if you're looking for a clean, friendly hotel with an amazing location!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMarieSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear AMarieSF,

It is so nice to hear that you come back to stay with us every Christmas and that you always have a good experience. We appreciate your loyal patronage and your kind words. We hope to see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ventura Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventura Beach Marriott

Address: 2055 Harbor Blvd., Ventura, CA 93001
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range: £133 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ventura Beach Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the true spirit of California when you book a stay at stylish Ventura Beach Marriott. Our hotel in Ventura, California offers an unbeatable location near a variety of popular attractions including the Channel Islands, Ventura County Fairgrounds and San Buenaventura State and Ventura beaches with Santa Barbara a 30-minute drive away. Guest rooms and suites at our hotel feature fashionable decor, flat-panel TVs, premium bath amenities and luxurious bedding. Unique among hotels in Ventura, our Marriott is home to Pacifico Restaurant & Lounge, our renowned eatery serving fresh California cuisine and irresistible handmade cocktails. Active travelers will appreciate our sparkling outdoor swimming pool and modern fitness center featuring a variety of cardio machines and free weights. With 16,000 square feet of tastefully decorated event space, our hotel is an ideal venue for conferences and social events. Enjoy a relaxing, refreshing stay at Ventura Beach Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ventura Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventura Beach Marriott Hotel Ventura
Marriott Ventura
Ventura Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing