We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In-room WiFi charge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Metuchen, New Jersey
1 review
“In-room WiFi charge”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Went to a conference and stayed at Ventura Beach Marriott in January 2014 for 5 days. Everything was ok, room was clean, housekeeping did a good job, waitstaff was courteous, food was ok. The only thing that takes off 2 stars is, in this day and age, charging for WiFi is lame. For in-room WiFi access, they charge $9.95. But because I was attending the conference, the front desk staff told me the $9.95 charge would be waived. So my credit card statement came, and sure enough, my credit card was charged $9.95 for WiFi access. This is certainly not a good business practice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4KCHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_D_FOM2014, Front Office Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Trip Advisor user,
We thank you for taking the time to respond about your stay with us in January and are glad to hear that almost your entire experience at the hotel was pleasant. As an attendee of the conference which did in fact include in-room WIFI, the $9.95 fee was to be adjusted off of your bill prior to checkout. We certianly apologize that it was not and hope that it has been removed from your bill since then. If, indeed, it has not then please contact us in order to do so. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    280
    143
    38
    26
See reviews for
178
185
28
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I recently stayed at the Marriott in Ventura. If you are staying here, it is generally between the Crowne Plaza and Marriott. My coworker had some nights at the Crowne and Marriott so there is a comparison to be made.

Marriott:
- Lots of parking. Even on a full night, there was no issues.
- TVs and beds are really good.
- Little old in style on the inside. Microwave on top of the bar fridge in the corner? Not all rooms had a bar fridge either.
- Rooms had very little spots to plug in electronics. There was no nice spot like on lamps and desks that are standard in most hotels. My actually lamp wasn't even plugged in because the bar fridge and microwave took the whole outlet.
- The gym, although large and having weights... the bikes were all broken. Not broken in the sense out of order... but rather broken and expecting to be used. That is a big problem. Who wants a treadmill, when you can run on the boardwalk area.
- Never had as many door slams in a hotel. This echos and can be heard in the hotel room. Would be nice to have something to damped the sound on people shutting the doors.
- Expensive for breakfast and if you are not and status with Marriott they will charge you for internet and parking.
- The most important negative to this hotel for me was the location. Although close to a beach (not on the beach) is it not close to anywhere for nightlife and selection of restaurants. If you have a plan to go out on the town, you will need to cab it.

The other option is the Crown that is similar. Note: I didn't stay here, but coworker did so it isn't as detailed:
- Location is a short walk to downtown with many restaurants.
- Location is right on the boardwalk and beach and a short walk to the pier
- Rooms were more dated then the Marriott and noisier.
- Parking was really hard later in the day (Parked there to go downtown as my coworker had a pass and when I got back people were actually waiting to park when I left)
- TV and beds were slightly worse then the Marriott.

Either way, it isn't a bad hotel. If you are looking at something that is amazing this isn't it, but you may not find it in Ventura. I prefer location over a lot of factors and if you are the same, go for the Crowne.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Edward M,

Thank you for leaving your thoughtful review of our hotel. We are indeed planning a renovation later this year so many of your concerns below will be addressed at that time. In the meantime, we do our best to make our guests feel welcome and accommodate in clean, well-appointed rooms and with warm and friendly service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 March 2014

it was dirty outside -- and the room next door was noisy and while I waited to get my room at the front desk, another guy walked up, paid the same amount and got a better room in front of me. I was disappointed and felt I could have gotten a better room myself but they told me it was booked up.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

We are incredibly sorry that you had a bad experience at our hotel. This is definitely not an example of Marriott's high standards of hospitality and for this we do apologize. While we are not able to control the noise level of other guests in our hotel, we do apologize if you felt that you were not given proper treatment at our front desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I was here for a Gordon Conference and thought that the hotel was pretty nice. Very quiet and the room was in good shape. The staff was incredibly friendly, in fact most of the maids said hello to me every time they saw me, which is very unusual. Conference area was nice and the food was decent. Only a block from the beach and an easy drive to downtown Ventura. In-and-Out was across the street. Overall, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarkSolstice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear DarkSolstice,

We are glad that you had a good time here during your conference and we appreciate that you took the time to share your experience here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpkehoe
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The hotel has nice common areas but the rooms need some refreshing. The fitness center needs a real update - the machines are old and the ceilings too low. The concierge level is nice. The location is good and the staff are helpful. Overall a decent hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpkehoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Dpkehoe,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. We are happy to let you know that we are in the process of planning for a hotel update later in the year so we hope you will return and see what we've done with the place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The location worked out well for me as I was in town for business meetings. I am a loyal Marriott patron, but was a little disappointed with my stay here. The hotel looks as though there was a recent update to the lobby area, however the hotel still seems old. The rooms were a little worn out and would benefit from a make-over.

Didn't get a chance to hit the fitness center, but did go for along run around the area, which was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creece007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear creece007,

Thank you for your loyal Marriott patronage. We appreciate that you stayed at our hotel here in Ventura and that it was a convenient location for your business meetings. We apologize if our accommodations did not live up to your expectations for Marriott's high standards of hospitality. We do our best to maintain our facilities and try to ensure that our associates provide that added warmth and personalized service to turn a good stay into a great one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The staff I found to be very fine, very helpful. The property is getting dated, but not
seedy. The room is adequate, but there was a ten dollar charge for wifi. There was no refrigerator in the room. Pleasant bar area. I was part of a group and the food was excellent, even for those with special dietary requirements.

Green Features: The hotel wastes precious California water in every room. The shower heads pour the water down, the toilets are not low flush, I estimate that the hotel uses twice as much water as necessary.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr. Sam Platts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Dr. Sam Platts,


We appreciate that you took time from your busy schedule to post your review of our hotel. We are very glad that you found the food for your group acceptable -- even when it came to special dietary restrictions. Our associates work hard to ensure that special requests are always accommodated as much as possible. We hope to welcome you back again one day here in Ventura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ventura Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventura Beach Marriott

Property: Ventura Beach Marriott
Address: 2055 Harbor Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-3707
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ventura Beach Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the true spirit of California when you book a stay at the stylish Ventura Beach Marriott. Our Ventura hotel offers an unbeatable location near a variety of popular attractions including the Channel Islands, Ventura County Fairgrounds and San Buenaventura State and Ventura beaches with Santa Barbara a 30-minute drive away. Guest rooms and suites at our hotel feature fashionable decor, flat-panel TVs, premium bath amenities and luxurious bedding. Unique among hotels in Ventura, our Marriott is home to Pacifico Restaurant & Lounge, our renowned eatery serving fresh California cuisine and irresistible handmade cocktails. Active travelers will appreciate our sparkling outdoor swimming pool and modern fitness center featuring a variety of cardio machines and free weights. With 16,000 square feet of tastefully decorated event space, our hotel is an ideal venue for conferences and social events. Enjoy a relaxing, refreshing stay at Ventura Beach Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ventura Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventura Beach Marriott Hotel Ventura
Marriott Ventura
Ventura Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing