We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We just spent 3 days at this wonderful location! 25 minutes to Santa Barbara or Santa Monica. We were not expecting much since the property is right off the 101 an and older Marriott but we were so delighted to find a hotel that was beautifully maintained. Staff friendly and courteous, waiting for us at the desk with an upgrade for our Marriott Gold status and all access to the Concierge level for breakfast every morning and snacks and dessert at night. Wonderful pool area. Can't say enough great things. We have been traveling with Marriott since the 80's and were very impressed with this property. Highly recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradlero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Bradlero,

We appreciate the time that you took to post your review of your "great surprise." We are glad that you found our staff very helpful and friendly and that your accommodations were all to your liking. We thank you for continuing to be a loyal Marriott customer and we are pleased to know that our hotel lived up to Marriott's high standards. We hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

I had the worst Anniversary the what supposed to be a romantic weekend, they charged my credit card four times $1600 for what was supposed to be a hold$100 for accidentals and if I wouldn’t of received the alert on my smart phone I wouldn’t of know till they overdraft my account, they didn’t answer the phone in the front and the room service was not available because they said they had a wedding …. I will never go back!!

Room Tip: pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yesenia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear yesenia F,

We appreciate the time you took to share your experience you had while staying at our hotel. While it is never our intent to disappoint a guest in any way, clearly we did not maintain Marriott's high standards of hospitality and for that we apologize. We appreciate the time that you took to point out where you feel we were lacking as we view this as an incredible opportunity to make it right for the next guest. Rest assured that we will be reviewing each and every item with the relevant departments to ensure we address every issue, including the front desk staff and room service. We do hope we can welcome you back again some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The area is beautiful. The hotel is perfectly fine. But to charge $13 a night to park your car is nuts. I'm not going back. I found other hotels in the area where you park for free. Not in walking distance to downtown Ventura.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Staythurstymyfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Staythurstymyfriends,

It is never our intention to disappoint a guest in any way and we are truly sorry if you did not see the value in our hotel. Our pricing is indeed competitive with other full-service hotels in the area and we are in fact the closest hotel to the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Once you get inside, this is a pretty typical Marriott. It's just a bit worn in, but fairly nice for the 100 - 140 price rage. The pool area is pretty. The rooms feel smallish. The bar was nice -with decent happy hour prices.

The thing I don't like about this place is the parking situation. The parking lot is gigantic, and you have to swipe your room card for access, and they charge you $13 to park - which seems really pricey considering how far out you feel from downtown. Parking should be free with open access.

Location - is not too far off beach/bike path, but not front and center, either. A bit out of the way of downtown. Road construction on access road spring 2014 makes things a little confusing upon arrival.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Kevinandlara,

Thank you very much for posting your review of our hotel. While it is never our intention to disappoint a guest in any way, we apologize if you felt our parking was too expensive. We are the closest hotel to the beach in Ventura and our rates for parking are indeed in line with other full-service hotels that feature the location, services, and amenities that we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The hotel needs serious work in the windows department, with air and noise coming into the room that really cheapened the stay.
Staff was overly friendly and helpful.
Breakfast buffet cost effective.
5 min Walk to beach was great.
Pool was too small for this size property.
The area lacks better dining and attractions that would compliment this great stretch of beach.
Clientele had me wondering if this was more of a get away Holiday Inn for locals than a Marriott

Room Tip: I would not want to face the pool with the kids playing in the pool until 10pm, seemed more like a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripKenSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear TripKenSF,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We apologize if our property did not represent Marriott's high standards of hospitality; however we do hope that you enjoyed the value for your travel dollar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My wife and I have returned to this hotel twice since I last reviewed it a year ago and I find that my experience with it continues to be very positive. I find the rooms very clean and very comfortable. The staff couldn't be more warm and accommodating. The food in the Pacifico Restaurant is, on the whole, quite good. The wait staff is very helpful and accommodating, especially the charming waitress (whose name we will be sure to record next trip) that never fails to serve my wife her Starbucks latte just the way she likes it. She makes you feel as if you were visiting an old friend. The amenities, fully stocked gym, pool and jacuzzi, are very clean and always inviting.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Embucado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Adrienne444,

It is always a pleasure to have you back with us and we love when guests return and feel like they are visiting with an old friend. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We were visiting Ventura to go sea cave kayaking off the Channel Islands and stayed at the Ventura Beach Marriott. We checked in very late, since we had flown into LAX, flight was delayed, and then had to drive up to Ventura. It was about 11:50pm when I was checking in, and I asked whether we would be charged for parking that evening - the front desk staff said yes, the charge for parking runs dark to dawn, or something like that. Whatever, I thought. $13/night to park is ridiculous, but what do you do. Our room did not have a refrigerator, so I asked the front desk staff if we could get one, and they said yes - no charge - and within minutes one of their staffers was at our door with a fridge - nice touch. The property is definitely showing its age, particularly with dated decor (carpets, drapes, wallpaper, fixtures, etc.). Due to an unexpected change in plans, we found ourselves needing to check out a day early, which the front desk staff said was not a problem and would not result in us incurring charge. They were very polite, professional, and courteous - consistently...all people, all the time. One thing to note - there is not really much in the way of dining options in the immediate area, so expect to need to drive to other parts of Ventura (not far away, though). There was a small grocery store nearby in a strip mall, and also in that same strip mall was a Starbucks and a terrific little donut shop (such great baked goods at very reasonable prices - so good I had to go there twice in two days).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViajeroJBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear ViajeroJBW\,

We are very happy to hear that we were able to accommodate you during your visit to Ventura as it is our goal to ensure that our guests feel well taken care of while they are here with us. Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ventura Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventura Beach Marriott

Address: 2055 Harbor Blvd., Ventura, CA 93001
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range: £91 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ventura Beach Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the true spirit of California when you book a stay at stylish Ventura Beach Marriott. Our hotel in Ventura, California offers an unbeatable location near a variety of popular attractions including the Channel Islands, Ventura County Fairgrounds and San Buenaventura State and Ventura beaches with Santa Barbara a 30-minute drive away. Guest rooms and suites at our hotel feature fashionable decor, flat-panel TVs, premium bath amenities and luxurious bedding. Unique among hotels in Ventura, our Marriott is home to Pacifico Restaurant & Lounge, our renowned eatery serving fresh California cuisine and irresistible handmade cocktails. Active travelers will appreciate our sparkling outdoor swimming pool and modern fitness center featuring a variety of cardio machines and free weights. With 16,000 square feet of tastefully decorated event space, our hotel is an ideal venue for conferences and social events. Enjoy a relaxing, refreshing stay at Ventura Beach Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ventura Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventura Beach Marriott Hotel Ventura
Marriott Ventura
Ventura Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing