We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our "Home" In Ventura”
Review of Rex Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rex Motel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We recently made our second visit to the Rex. Since their online reservation site was down, we called. The owner remembered us and promised us our favorite room at the same rate we paid recently (an online site wanted more). We did not have to secure our room with a credit card, and the owner called us a couple of days in advance to make sure we were coming. The Rex was booked up that weekend. We found out later that friends of ours stayed there, just two doors down! (They were also pleased with the place). You just don't get service these days like we get from the couple that owns and runs the Rex. If it's your first time, don't be put off by appearances: the Rex has been around a while and shows it's age. But it's well kept-up and well designed for quiet and comfort. Our room had a nice TV with lots of channels (including HBO, HBO2 and Showtime), a mid sized refrigerator and microwave. Wifi is spotty but upgrades are in progress. The location is good, near fast food, stores, the beach, and downtown. Also the best price we could find in the area (even cheaper than Motel 6!).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NVRoaddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Rex Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

I was in a trip by the California coast and I was looking for a reasonabily priced hotel. I found Rex Motel very good taking into account the 55 $ I paid. My room was clean and the bed was pretty comfortable. Moreover, the owners were just lovely and they treated me kindly and helpfully. If I go back to Ventura with a limited budget, I'll definitely choose this place. I know I'll sleep perfectly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GeorgeStobbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I would have to agree with the 2 previous reviews (and booked the motel because of those reviews). The motel has 20 rooms all single story, not the greatest looking on the outside but nice on the inside. I was a little nervous about the stay but the room was very clean, the bathroom newly remodeled, the bed clean & fresh. It has cable, a small frig, microwave, desk, and table w/ 2 chairs. The owners were very nice and live onsite. It located minutes away from the beach, downtown & the mall. My husband & I really enjoyed our time there & would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shannon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

The Rex Motel is a great place to stay if it is only to sleep overnight or for short term...you simply got your basics: Bed, Shower, Sink, Fridge, TV and Toilet...nothing fancy at all but Great location as it is close to a main street with shops and attractions. We came from Long Beach CA and just stayed overnight because we did not want to drive back...so we chose the Rex not only for its proximity to our destination, but also for its great price. Only paid sixty bucks for one night. Sure the place is nothing like the Hilton, but if all you need is to get cleaned up and sleep...this is the spot. Recommend it to the non picky or snobby who need everything to be perfect for a little bit of money as possible. I slept like a baby and left satisfied with not having overpaid anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ecuriosol81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017
Thank MaritSchmidtMarit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Alissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Raymond G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.5 mi away
Amanzi Hotel
Amanzi Hotel
#8 of 23 in Ventura
656 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,112 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.4 mi away
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Vagabond Inn Ventura
#11 of 23 in Ventura
388 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Motel

Address: 2406 E. Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93003
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range: £52 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rex Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rex Motel is located in Ventura, California right off of Highway 101. Rex Motel is also just minutes from the beach—5 if you’re driving, 15 if you’re on foot. Our convenient location makes for easy access to great shopping and dining around Ventura. Make Rex Motel your Ventura, California lodging and our friendly staff will take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rex Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing