We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Challenge!”
Review of Olivas Links

Olivas Links
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At 6,818-yards and Par 72, Olivas Links designed in 2006 by Forrest Richardson. The course features a rolling links-style layout defined by seaside grasses, natural habitat and cool coastal breezes. Olivas Links offers golfers views of the Ventura Harbor, Ventura hillsides and Channel Islands making it one of Southland’s most unique and challenging courses. The course features 1.5 acre practice facility complete with driving range and five bunkered target greens, a putting green and a dedicated chipping green. Olivas Links is rated a Top Municipal Course by Golfweek Magazine 2009, 2010Best New Courses 2008 by Golfweek Magazine.
Stevensville, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Challenge!”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I played Olivas back in early 2002 and with it being an old farm it was hard to pick out what was fairway and what was pasture. The new design is challenging, long par 3's and nice greens. Green speed wasn't terrible slow but average at best. Good value during the summer months- after 4PM is $20 if you walk. We got out just before 4 and finished with plenty of daylight.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ral05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tehachapi, California
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great Golf, period.”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Challenging for sure. You won't be bored. An afternoon breeze makes it a little more challenging. Well kept, beautiful greens. Public course, renovated 2-3 years ago. Not expensive at all.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great course!”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I usually prefer golf? Elevation change however this is a great course very excellent greens. Everything is well-maintained and there's a good pace on the course.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not this time”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

An inviting links course. No clubs this trip but I did roll a few on the putting green and it was smooth and fast.

I will return.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoyRogersFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
REDONDO BEACH, CA
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“GOOD LINKS STYLE COURSE IN VENTURA”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Olivas Links was completely renovated and changed a few years ago. Most of the existing trees were removed and the course was changed into a "links style" course. It is that but a links course it ain't. The greens are undulating (lilnks style) but they are conventionally sized rather unlike the typical football field sized links greens. And don't plan to bump and run on this course. The kind of grass and the manner in which it is cut does not allow that kind of golf. Rather you still hit the high wedge shot to the pin. Don't misunderstand. I'm not badmouthing Olivas, just pointing out some of the differences from a real links course (of which we have precious few in the U.S.). In fact I thoroughly enjoy playing Olivas and consider it to be one of the better courses in the area. It has a good, thick sod which is well maintained and likewise with the greens. It offers substantial challenge to golfers of all handicaps but it's fair with several good risk/reward holes. Big negative is the absence of a coffee shop. The "pro shop" and check in is in a trailer. I suppose the City spent all its allocation on rebuilding the course and will have to wait a few years for this amenity. So when you visit, BYO.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LHANN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olivas Links also viewed

 

Been to Olivas Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing