We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Freebirds Burrito rivals Chipotle”
Review of Freebirds world burrito - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Freebirds world burrito
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Freebirds Burrito rivals Chipotle”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We are frequent visitors to its competition but since finding Freebirds Burrito in Agoura Hills we prefer to go here. The selection is great, the burritos shells fresh, the guacamole tasty. I felt the selection was greater than competitors and the overall vibe friendlier.

I was however turned off by the tin-foil artwork customers displays scattered around the dining area. After finishing their Burritos, wrapped in foil, customers seem compelled to use the foil to form works of art out of the foil and stick it in the various spaces around the restaurant. Although creative, it was very dirty and sitting next to dirty old food wrappers ( its what it really is ) was rather disgusting.

I love Freebirds, foods great, but I prefer take out. The sit down part was a turn off after seeing the foil all over the walls.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zzixor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    5
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Best Quest sauce!!”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Great variety of tortillas and toppings. Queso sauce is to die for and should be bottled!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SweetPeaVentura_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, California
Level Contributor
177 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not the same as the original and not as good.”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stumbled upon Freebirds in Goleta, near the campus of UCSB a few years ago and loved it. The portions were huge, the food was fresh, and we didn't even mind waiting in line. When Freebirds opened a new location in Ventura we were excited at first, and then became disappointed. While the burritos were good, they were just not the same. They reminded me of any Chipotle restaurant. Also tried the new location in Agoura Hills. Same disappointment. Go to Goleta for a treat, otherwise, it's nothing special.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jtlerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lot like Chipotle”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I've been here a few times, and I can't ever say I've been disappointed. A large selection of choices, interesting atmosphere. Not a bad burrito, if your not looking for authentic. All in all I would recommend giving freebirds a try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shadymilkman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
1 review
“Who is running this place, they are NOT doing a very good job!!”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Boy, does this place need a lot of work. I thought after a month they would get all their kinks out. NOT!!! I was looking forward to checking out this new place and was VERY disappointed. I had the fish freebird burrito and the fish was DRY. Half the main ingredients were EMPTY. W-H-A-T is up with that!!!! Who is in charge of keeping the containers full? It took me 15 minutes just to get to the order area. Very disorganized! When I mentioned that someone needs to stay on top of the supplies as I was checking out, the young girl tells me, "I'm just the cashier". Nothing else. Are you kidding me!!! Now where the hell was the manager????? Maybe if I wait another month, will the process improve... I HOPE SO!!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizzard55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing