We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right next to the freeway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Ventura
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Right next to the freeway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

Arrived the room was clean and was happy to see it had a balcony but was right next to the freeway . You could tell the hotel was older and some places that you stepped you could feel some indentions in the floor . Was a very spacious room the staff were all couteous and they had a free happy hour with beer and wine and a few snacks . They had a nice breakfast in the morning with waffles ,eggs , bacon and sausage ,cereal, danishes and juice . They had a walk bridge over the freeway about a block away to get to the beach took you right to the pier . The beds were abit hard for my taste . Overall was not an unpleasant stay we were only there one night .

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wontstoptillidrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    229
    127
    57
    54
See reviews for
180
223
44
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Concord California, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

Have stayed here several times over past few years. Seems to have declined slightly but still good. Bring your own hair conditioner, lotion, shower cap etc. as they provide only shampoo and soap. Manager's free happy hour is a plus. Breakfast is ok.
Location is good.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

Everything I read about this place is pretty much true:
It's a little bit old
It's a little run down
It's a little bit dirty - especially the floors
It's a little bit smelly
The elevator is a little bit creaky - wouldn't feel comfortable in that thing over three floors
It's a little bit noisy (freeway and train adjacent to hotel)

If I had paid full price instead of getting it cheap via Priceline, I would have been a little bit pissed. But I got it for a price that made everything seem OK.

If any of the things above bother You, don't stay here. You will be unhappy. If You can handle a little grit and want to pay less, have at it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thatdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

I was extremely disappointed with this hotel. Stayed for 7 days and the lobby carpeting was not vacuumed the whole time (I checked every day and the same crumbs and paper scraps were still there). Our room was semi-clean but it was obvious that they hadn't vacuumed around the edges in months. All the vending machines were continually sold out of bottled water and when I complained about it at the front desk I got mumbling and bad attitude (of course no complimentary bottled water in the rooms).

The staff seemed to spend more time standing around and visiting with each other when they should have been cleaning and attending to patrons. They never said hello when we entered or left the lobby---in 7 days. They seemed to be sullen and obviously didn't want to be there.

One night the power went out and none of the emergency lights came on. I asked a staff member why the light wasn't coming on and he said "I don't know----there's something wrong with it". I said it needed new batteries and he was surprised like he had never thought of that. My understand is that it is illegal to have non-functioning emergency lights. During the power outage the staff hung around the lobby together laughing and socializing.

The hotel is raggedy and messy. They kept huge bins of garbage outside my brother-in-law's handicapped accessible room. It was disgusting. This place was on the same level as Motel 6 etc. except for the price. IMHO it was way overpriced for the service, cleanliness, and decor.

The only thing going for it is that it is very accessible to the beach and downtown Ventura (which has lots of cute shops and restaurants). I will never go back to this place. I challenge the owners/managers to respond to this. I am a business owner and I would be mortified and embarrassed if I ran my business like Country Inn. Shame on them....

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PLG53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenturaCountryInn, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, responded to this review, 4 January 2011
After reading your comments I must apologize for the inconvenience we have caused you. Thank you very much for pointing out the areas that need more attention, and I can assure you that this is not the way we run our hotel. I will not be making any excuses for the issues that you came in contact with, but I will make sure that it does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

By comparison, I stayed at the Country Inn and Suites in Calabasas (about 40 minutes South) and much nicer (see my review).

Rooms are tired and need to be updated. Clean but not sparkling. Bed was decent, and I slept OK, but as per others have said, there is a train that goes by so if you are a light sleeper, this could be a problem. The location is good for the charm of Ventura's Main Street and shops, but the train and being right next to the freeway without good sound proofing could be an issue. I just turned on the fan to create some white noise. The jacuzzi was nice for a cold night. Good rate, but I'd probably pay a few more $$ and stay somewhere better next time. The breakfast was ok but not quite as fresh and hot as the Calabasas property. Fine for an overnight but I'd not want to stay here for more than a day or so.

They have smoking rooms, but beware, they are horrible. I originally asked for one just because it was quite cold outside, and just in case I wanted to sneak an indoor cigarette (I'm an outdoor only smoker at home) but changed to non-smoking no matter how cold outside as there was no way I could have spent the night in a terribly smelly room with stale linens and burn holes all over the carpets.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonia64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quartz Hill, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

All the seniors that complain about paper/styrofoam plates or freeway noise need to bring their own plates and earplugs. Oh but wait, why pick a hotel next to a freeway if you want to be away from traffic? Hhmmm - senility. My family goes to Ventura annually for the Highland Games in October. This place offers great rates (discounted for the event), has large clean rooms, and an awesome hot breakfast. Breakfast includes scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits & gravy, fresh fruit, bagels, toast, cereal, danishes, coffee, and juice at a minimum. Every evening, there is a happy/social hour with free beer, wine, soda and snacks (I discovered there's supposed to be a limit of two free drinks). Rooms are spacious, parking is free and you're close to plenty of restaurants, the beach, and the fairgrounds. The rooms are great at cancelling out traffic noise and the train is actually closer to hotels along the beach than this one. If you don't want to walk the third of a mile to the beach (it's exactly a third at the closest point - I checked), driving there is pretty easy to do.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaylinzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenturaCountryInn, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, responded to this review, 28 October 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay. We appreciate the feedback, and hope that you keep us in mind for your next visit to Ventura!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

Much nicer than I expected after reading a few negative reviews. The hotel was spotless and the rooms were very large with comfortable beds. The breakfast was buffet style and was very good. Staff was helpful and friendly. Be prepared for freeway noise when at the pool. If you are a light sleeper you should request the mountain side which is where we had our room and it was very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnalexsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Vagabond Inn Ventura
#9 of 22 in Ventura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Address: 298 South Chestnut Street, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura Hotel Ventura
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Country Inn Ventura
Ventura Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing