We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we stayed at on our West Coast Road Trip”
Review of Amanzi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amanzi Hotel
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This was the nicest AND the cheapest place we stayed on a 2 week road trip up the coast. Their service is excellent. Breakfast is great. It is easy walking distance to the beach (in fact we could even see it from our room). You also get complementary use of a local gym nearby, which is way better than a crummy hotel gym. Ventura is a cute little town and the hotel is only a few blocks away from the main street. Couldn't believe the place was such a bargain!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmb522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (656)
There are newer reviews for Amanzi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

Overpriced, outdated, not clean. Balcony is not a balcony, it's an enclosed useless space. Rooms are large with a nice, large flat screen TV, breakfast is real deal with hot food, but that is end of good things. Train goes right by the windows in the middle of the night. Freeway noise is constant as this place literally sits on freeway. Parking is terrible if you arrive after 6PM. Elevator broken , had to use stairs - stairways filthy, even had beer cans on floor one night we returned after 8PM. Ice machine only gave about 10 ice cubes any time we used it. They don't replace glasses if you stay a few days and use up the cheap plastic ones they provide. Bathroom fixtures have finish worn off. Very dated in need of upgrade and cleaning. Had a floor lamp over in corner by itself, but no sitting chair to go with it. If its upgraded, hate to have seen it before. Stayed 3 nights.

Room Tip: If you stay here, insist on room that does not face towards freeway. Lose ocean view, but gain quie...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buck5422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenturaCountryInn, Manager at Amanzi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room and the facility with our staff to ensure that everything is up to Country Inn and Suites by Carlson standards. We do hope for another opportunity in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The elevator is an issue. It was out of order both nights of our stay. (They did have it working during the days.) We were able to take the stairs. The breakfast was good, and the staff was very nice. The rooms were fine, although the "balcony" was a little unusual. We booked 2 rooms for two nights for a wedding in Santa Barbara. The price was better and the drive was not bad.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stopped here overnight on my way back from the MotoGP at Laguna Seca. Nothing particularly fancy, but well maintained and clean. Got a prepaid rate of only about $100/night before taxes.

Little awkard to find, as it shares its entrance with that of the southbound entrance to the 101 freeway, but that also makes it an easy-on if you are going back south.

Room was quite large with a sitting area with a couch. If I remember correctlly it had a refrigerator as well, but dont' hold me to it.

There are some good restaurants on S. Calfornia street only about 2-3 blocks north of the hotel so you've got choices of a place to eat. The complimentary breakfast was not bad either.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiloTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Having stayed here several times through the years, I was pleased to see the hotel and rooms have been refreshed and updated. New carpet throughout, and new furniture. Comfortable, clean room. Friendly check in staff. Breakfast very good, with friendly helpful staff making sure all needs were met. Yes, there is the train and freeway, but lucky for us, we are sound sleepers, so no bother there. Will plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel is older. Hallways and lobby have no air conditioner smells damp. Very noisy room facing freeway try to get other side of Hall. The one elevator is used by the staff that cleans and maintains hotel as well as guests seems like it needs maintenance. I used stairs half the time. Breakfast is good. Location to downtown is good. Beach access is close but this part of beach is very dirty.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slm_novimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

The rooms were decent, but the halls smelled damp and as if they tried to musk the smell of depression with off brand Lysol. Of course the lobby smells of old Indian food, and the staff members are extremely rude and yell all night to where you can't even understand what's going on. We won't be staying here again I'd rather dig a ditch out in the field somewhere and lie than deal with this service again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenturaCountryInn, Manager at Amanzi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

We apologize you were not satisfied with your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. We value all of our guests and everyone's opinion. We hope for another opportunity to accommodate your lodging needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Vagabond Inn Ventura
#11 of 23 in Ventura
388 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanzi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanzi Hotel

Address: 298 S Chestnut St, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range: £64 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amanzi Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanzi Hotel invites you to Ventura, at the coast of Southern California! Perfectly situated between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara, be enticed by the allure of sunny skies, downtown tunes & ocean mystique of our quaint town. Allow yourself to rejuvenate at the only boutique hotel in Ventura. The Amanzi presents a contemporary ambiance with the warmth of hospitality. With carefully selected room amenities & guest services to enhance stays during business travel or leisure trips, our hotel (formerly Country Inn & Suites by Carlson) offers a re-imagined experience for you or your group! Complimentary breakfast, WiFi access, evening Manager's Happy Hour and large guest rooms that are currently being completely renovated add value to hotel stays in Ventura County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Amanzi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura Hotel Ventura
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Country Inn Ventura
Ventura Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing