We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff except Security guard” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Ventura
CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great staff except Security guard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Love this place staff is very nice and attentive , rooms are clean my family enjoys staying here when we come to Ventura, I have only one complaint regarding the security guard and it has been bothering me I have a Handicap placard and parked in one of the stalls on new years eve( 3 am) and the security guard MADE me move my truck because " its too long " he said. I told him that cars can pass by fine if the cars parked in the loading zone behind me weren't parked there. He said "that's employee parking and the truck (white) is mine so you need to move. Oh i see i told him its an inconvenience for you to move your truck although i paid $ 177.00 to stay here I have to move.? yes he said you can park underground Hello do you know ADA ( American disability act) I might just report this to them also this persons actions are/were unacceptable besides him this hotel is a great place to stay I hope management addresses this employee

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JALTEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    229
    127
    57
    54
See reviews for
180
223
44
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Visalia, California, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Weekend getaway with the kids. Our first visit here, we had been to the one in Port Hueneme and the accommodations are very similar. Excellent value (it's off-season), great staff, wonderful hot breakfast. Comfy pillows, comfy beds, everything was nice and clean, no funky smells. Short walk to beach and pier. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatrice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

I am impressed very spacious room, clean. I have a king bed a pull out couch microwave and mini fridge and still have lots of room in here. I have a partial view of the beach and walking distance to the pier. Freeway access and lots oif shops and restaurants nearby. Happy happy

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MARTHA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Great value here. Walking distance to the beach and downtown. I always enjoy my stay here. They have a very friendly staff and serve a nice free breakfast in the morning. The rooms are big and clean. Always a jar of chocolate chip cookies at the front desk ( my favorite ). For the young families, the beach has a nice play area right there in the sand next to the pier. For folks with no kids, downtown is a great place to shop,eat, and hang out. The Bombay is real close, we like to go there to dance, hear live music and comedy.

Room Tip: Could here a baby crying next room over. Woke us up early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weldon, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed how close it was to both down town and the pier we could walk to dinner and watch the sun go down. Complimentary Breakfast was better than we had expected and happy hour is great. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank siddee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangevale, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel with family for an event in early November 2013. While the hotel structure was certainly showing some signs of wear and age the rooms and common areas were clean in and in decent repair. The staff was mostly friendly, and were always professional. The included breakfast was good and included the standard continental buffet with hot eggs, bacon/sausage, hash browns, biscuits and waffles. As for location, it was fairly good being in downtown Ventura with just a short walk to either the main commercial area or beach. It is adjacent to a railway, however it's hardly noticeable since the rains only run during the day and the adjacent track is on a bridge going over highway 101. The highway though is, quite noticeable if in one of the rooms above it. This section of the highway is sunken down and on a curve. That causes trucks to downshift and use their engine break. The sound of that is then reflected off the retaining walls directly into the rooms on the northwest side of the hotel. And the trucks continue to pass by all night long... The hotel seems to have tried to mitigate the problem by installing triple pane windows in those rooms but sadly it seems ineffective.

That lead to my only large annoyance with the hotel
The room I and a family member was assigned for the first night was directly above highway 101 so it did have road noise, I asked if they had any ear plugs to help reduce the noise and was told they neither provided nor sold any earplugs. That really is an oversight in my opinion. While it's understandable due to cost for them not to provide earplugs for free, not even keeping a few on hand for sale at a reasonable cost for those sensitive to the road noise, when some rooms have a known problem with it, is just poor customer service.. Being too late to obtain earplugs form elsewhere, I unfortunately was unable to get much sleep that night.. Since we were staying more than one night I asked the next morning if it was possible move rooms, and fortunately it was. The room we were moved to across the hall was much quieter and I slept well the following nights.

One minor annoyance was that the breakfast requires a coupon that is given with the room cards on check-in. The night desk attendant did not inform us of this though and while they were still given to us we had no idea they were needed the following morning. Fortunately though, aside from the breakfast buffet attendant making note of the fact we didn't have them with us he still let us eat.

So in summation, despite the road noise issues, for the value you get this is a great hotel to stay at. Just be sure to bring some earplugs and/or try to get a room facing away from the highway.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms located to the Northwest side of the Hotel since they are located directly ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMerris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Vagabond Inn Ventura
#9 of 22 in Ventura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Address: 298 South Chestnut Street, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura Hotel Ventura
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Country Inn Ventura
Ventura Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing