We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worked For Us”
Review of Amanzi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amanzi Hotel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worked For Us”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel has large, comfortable rooms. There was a small fridge and microwave in the 2 queen room we had. Some of the decor was a bit dated but everything was very clean. Breakfast had plenty of hot and cold offerings.There is a noisier freeway side, try to get the other side if you sleep lightly. The one complaint we, and many other guests, had during our stay was the internet service was down in the rooms and spotty in the lobby - when we stopped again 2 weeks later on our way home, nothing had changed.
We found the location very convenient to the beach, a 4 block easy walk for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finnie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    237
    130
    61
    57
See reviews for
185
231
45
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Cannot beat the location, walking distance from town and tons of restaurants. The hotel is clean and their free breakfast is good. On top of that, their rates are quite good.

Staff was quite helpful upon check-in and after as well. Not much to say about a well run hotel so will keep this review short. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LA-Business-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed three nights during spring break. After walking across the freeway, I was so upset I hadn't booked the hotel on the beach. The walk to the beach was not as easy as we thought it would be. It would've been so much nicer to be closer. The pool was unbearable due to the freeway noise, even for our teenage kid, such a bummer. The breakfast & happy hour were hotel's saving grace. But I'd rather buy breakfast & a few drinks than stay here next time! Spend a few more dollars & stay somewhere better!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bntravelx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wofford Heights, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at country inn. Great location, you can walk to downtown, the beach and most of the restaurants. Nice happy hour and full hot breakfast We had an ocean view rm w/ 2 queens. The beds were more comfy than the king on our last trip. Try Lure Fish House. Outstanding !

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bernardino, California
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here on our way home from San Simeon because it was $69 versus a higher rate at the Best Western next door.It is a tight space where you unload your luggage in front of the hotel. The one bad thing is the small elevator that services all three floors and the parking garage too.You may have to wait a while.The room was very large and faced the ocean. It is not that easy to get to. You go down the street,turn right, go down a block, cross the RR tracks, go on bridge over the freeway and walk block or so to the beach. The train goes by often and the freeway is loud too.

You get a free breakfast here.They offer bacon, eggs,sausage, potatoes, fruit, etc.In the evening they have snacks and beer, wine or sodas in small cups. You get 2 drinks per person.

I have stayed at the Best Western next door before but sometimes it is high during peak seasons. I think next time I would stay closer to the marina near the Channel Island Visitor Center.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Default33009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The hotel is in a prime location in downtown Ventura. Walking distance to nearby attractions, restaurants and nightlife. The included breakfast is rather good, and the rooms are large and comfortable. There is a nearby rail bridge that can cause quite a bit of noise and actually shook our windows, but that's hardly the hotel's fault. I would say that the service could have been more polite, since some actually bordered on rude. However, I don't ask for much out of hotels except a clean, quiet place to lay down for the night, and this spot certainly fits the bill.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Had a great overnight stay here with my friend when we went for a mini vacation in Ventura Beach. It wasn't a new hotel but the you can tell that it's really clean and they keep it tidy. It was walking distance to the beach which is why we booked it.

the amenities are great considering the price. We had a big LCD TV (56-inch, i believe). We got the 2 queen-bed room and the space was great. We had a hair dryer, a safe, fridge and hot iron.

I love their complimentary breakfast too. Good money on the price of our stay.

Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweettak10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,087 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Vagabond Inn Ventura
#10 of 23 in Ventura
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanzi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanzi Hotel

Property: Amanzi Hotel
Address: 298 S Chestnut St, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amanzi Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanzi Hotel invites you to Ventura, off the coast of Southern California. Perfectly situated between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara, be enticed by the allure of sunny skies, downtown tunes & ocean mystique of our quaint town. Allow yourself to rejuvenate at the only boutique hotel in Ventura. The Amanzi presents a contemporary ambiance with the warmth of hospitality. With carefully selected room amenities & guest services to enhance stays during business travel or leisure trips, our hotel (formerly Country Inn & Suites by Carlson) offers a re-imagined experience for you or your group! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Amanzi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura Hotel Ventura
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Country Inn Ventura
Ventura Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing