We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer NO Service”
Review of Amanzi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amanzi Hotel
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I had stayed here before and planned to stay often since my daughter now lives in Ventura, but never again . . . they have lost a customer for their entire chain.

We arrived at 11:00 at night, after driving 17 hours, to find that they had cancelled our reservation and given our room away. No empathy, no offer to help, no suggestions for other hotels. The front desk agent had a scowl on her face, no name tag, and NO customer service training (11:00 p.m. June 26th).

Apparently, when the hotel ran my VISA at 6:00 p.m., they received a notice to contact VISA. (Everything was OK, VISA said it just looked fishy because fuel was being purchased up and down I-5; we were driving from Portland). The hotel NEVER called Visa, never called my cell phone, and while they SAID they called my home phone, there was no record of the call and no message. They just CANCELLED the reservation with no notice. VISA said they received no call; if they had, they would have approved the charges.

I travel extensively, and have never had such poor customer service. . . ever! The front desk agent was rude! I asked her if she had another suggestion for a hotel, and her answer was "Nope."

Luckily, Marriott and Visa to the rescue. They booked me immediately, upgraded me, and VISA paid the difference in the hotel rate.

Just Say No to Ventura Country Inn & Suites. Stay at the Ventura Marriott or the Oxnard Residence Inn. Both are AWESOME!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank lmctravel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenturaCountryInn, Manager at Amanzi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and we apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service. It is unfortunate when situations like this arise. We take every action to secure payment and contact the guest if there is an issue. Again we apologize for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The facilities are a little worn, the room was a bit dank, and the location was odd. That said, it was a decent hotel and served one of the best breakfast buffets I've ever had in a hotelnof this class. Very friendly staff.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our family loves this hotel! We have been staying there since my daughter was born over eleven years ago. It is our spot! Walking distance to Main Street, free COMPLETE breakfast for each of us, free(minus the tip) happy hour with wine, beer, and snacks, big room with two big beds, clean hotel, two sinks, one inside the bathroom, and one just outside the bathroom door, perfect for multiple needs and children. I have used the second one to wash baby bottles and use my drying rack. You'll want the ocean side, because you can see the water and the palm trees in the distance if you look past the train tressle. It is not glamorous-it's not the Westin or the Hyatt--but you'll usually come in under a hundred bucks a night, sometimes $60-70, depending on when.
The same woman has been serving happy hour for over 30 years, as has the breakfast cook/server. We love Ventura and we love the Country Inn and Suites. It's also a short walk to the pier and beach playground for kids. Can't go wrong with this hotel!!!! :)

Room Tip: Ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is right next to the freeway, but we had a room on the opposite end of the hotel and we did not hear much traffic. In fact, the freeway did not bother us at all. The rooms definitely need updating, but they were clean, of decent size and acceptable enough for our quick weekend stay in Ventura. There was a microwave, fridge and a flat screen tv in the room which was nice to have available. The pool was small, and there was a jacuzzi right next to it and the kids were happy using both. There is a nightly happy hour and a morning breakfast that serves a good variety of options. There was plenty of parking, including an underground parking lot. The hotel was fine for our quick stay. Met our needs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FredPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This place was lovely, but it is extremely hard to find since it is set way back at the end of a street that runs next to a freeway on ramp. Would advise taking your gps to assist you, if i hadn't had mine i would have given up.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank debPasadena_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our first impression was not very good because the property is very old and right on the noisy highway but the room was large and clean, the bed was comfortable, and the staff was nice enough. Breakfast was exceptional and the staff behind the breakfast bar was helpful. They offer fresh biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns, and more.

The reason it does not merit a higher rating:
The hotel smells very old and looks like it has not been refurnished since the 80's. We had a room on the highway side by choice - it is also the "ocean" side and you can see the beach through the highway on-ramp and train bridge. Yes, train bridge. The train goes by every once in a while too. Oddly enough, the constant freeway noise is rather like white noise and did not interrupt our sleep too badly. If you come back to the hotel late at night you may find it difficult to find parking but we got lucky each night with one of the last spots.

Room Tip: If you need a quiet room don't choose one on the highway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaraTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The room we had was very spacious with fridge, microwave, 40+” TV and mirrored wardrobe. The room was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. The work desk great was a great space for doing some local research using the complimentary wifi. Breakfast was very good with both hot and cold options. There was bacon, eggs, sausage, hash browns, biscuit, gravy toast, cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, waffles, bagels and muffins. Overall we had a very good experience and feel it was good value for money. Our experience would have been improved if we had been told about the Managers Reception 5-7pm when free nibbles and alcohol are offered (we read about it later). It would also have been good to know the outdoor pool was heated as we would have been far more likely to make use of it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chatterboxmegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Ventura Beach
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanzi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanzi Hotel

Address: 298 S Chestnut St, Ventura, CA 93001-2835
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range: £69 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amanzi Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanzi Hotel is located between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara in the coastal town of Ventura, California. Recently introduced as the only boutique hotel in Ventura. The Amanzi presents a contemporary ambiance with the warmth of hospitality. From carefully selected room amenities & guest services which enhance business travel or leisure trips, the hotel (formerly Country Inn & Suites by Carlson) offers the ideal location for your California trip. Complimentary hot breakfast, WiFi access, evening Manager's Happy Hour and spacious guest rooms (full renovations completed by winter 2017!) add value for travelers looking to enjoy all that the area has to offer. Stay comfortably as you rejuvenate at the beach, gather for business events at nearby venues, or tour the Pacific Coastline! The Amanzi Hotel is located right off the 101 Ventura Freeway, walking distance from the beach, Downtown Main Street and City Hall! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Amanzi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura Hotel Ventura
Country Inn Ventura
Ventura Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing