We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a two star hotel”
Review of Amanzi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amanzi Hotel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
“This is a two star hotel”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I think I was expecting too much by the Trip Advisor ratings. This is a two-and-a-half star hotel, and I think the Trip Advisor reviewers have taken that into account with their ratings and comments. It is worn, smells worn and is immediately next to the freeway and rail tracks. It is, however, close to the beach and I'm sure is great for a young family's vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank powens157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenturaCountryInn, Manager at Amanzi Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. Your comments are valued and we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    242
    131
    61
    57
See reviews for
186
234
46
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The rooms were a little bit rundown but, otherwise, no complaints. The size of the room was very comfortable, the happy hour was a nice touch, and it was a quick walk to the beach, nearby parks, and plenty of shops and restaurants. We were really impressed by the variety of breakfast options. Our room was on the side facing away from the freeway. No ocean views but it was nice and quiet. A great budget option in Ventura.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lessthanpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel is a little worn but makes it up with great Breakfast and great spacious rooms. Definitely worth the stay. Room was great for my family of three and had lots of space for my three year old son. 42" flat screens in the room and great spread for breakfast. They even have a welcome event in the evenings.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We arrived a little early and the first room they gave us was sub-standard, especially the bathroom. Having stayed here before we knew to ask for another room, which was an improvement. We parked in the garage, but repeatedly had trouble using the elevator. It turns out the card reader has been broken for a while, and although we saw someone working on it later, it was still hit or miss after that. When we turned on the TV and many basic cable channels were missing (you can get Fox News, but not MSNBC) we had to resort to live streaming Rachel Maddow on their lobby computer. The staff explained they'll need to rewire the whole hotel to get more channels, and they can't afford the disruption that will cause. I tried to speak with the owner several times, but he was always "unavailable" and never responded. We finally decided to move to another hotel for the rest of our stay in Ventura.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenturaCountryInn, Manager at Amanzi Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
We are sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory experience during your stay. It is unfortunate when situations like this arise. We take every action to make sure that all guests are affected as little as possible during their stay. Thank you for taking the time in writing a review and we hope for another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ventura hotels

Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I had stayed here before and planned to stay often since my daughter now lives in Ventura, but never again . . . they have lost a customer for their entire chain.

We arrived at 11:00 at night, after driving 17 hours, to find that they had cancelled our reservation and given our room away. No empathy, no offer to help, no suggestions for other hotels. The front desk agent had a scowl on her face, no name tag, and NO customer service training (11:00 p.m. June 26th).

Apparently, when the hotel ran my VISA at 6:00 p.m., they received a notice to contact VISA. (Everything was OK, VISA said it just looked fishy because fuel was being purchased up and down I-5; we were driving from Portland). The hotel NEVER called Visa, never called my cell phone, and while they SAID they called my home phone, there was no record of the call and no message. They just CANCELLED the reservation with no notice. VISA said they received no call; if they had, they would have approved the charges.

I travel extensively, and have never had such poor customer service. . . ever! The front desk agent was rude! I asked her if she had another suggestion for a hotel, and her answer was "Nope."

Luckily, Marriott and Visa to the rescue. They booked me immediately, upgraded me, and VISA paid the difference in the hotel rate.

Just Say No to Ventura Country Inn & Suites. Stay at the Ventura Marriott or the Oxnard Residence Inn. Both are AWESOME!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmctravel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenturaCountryInn, Manager at Amanzi Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and we apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service. It is unfortunate when situations like this arise. We take every action to secure payment and contact the guest if there is an issue. Again we apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose-Town USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The facilities are a little worn, the room was a bit dank, and the location was odd. That said, it was a decent hotel and served one of the best breakfast buffets I've ever had in a hotelnof this class. Very friendly staff.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our family loves this hotel! We have been staying there since my daughter was born over eleven years ago. It is our spot! Walking distance to Main Street, free COMPLETE breakfast for each of us, free(minus the tip) happy hour with wine, beer, and snacks, big room with two big beds, clean hotel, two sinks, one inside the bathroom, and one just outside the bathroom door, perfect for multiple needs and children. I have used the second one to wash baby bottles and use my drying rack. You'll want the ocean side, because you can see the water and the palm trees in the distance if you look past the train tressle. It is not glamorous-it's not the Westin or the Hyatt--but you'll usually come in under a hundred bucks a night, sometimes $60-70, depending on when.
The same woman has been serving happy hour for over 30 years, as has the breakfast cook/server. We love Ventura and we love the Country Inn and Suites. It's also a short walk to the pier and beach playground for kids. Can't go wrong with this hotel!!!! :)

Room Tip: Ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,094 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Vagabond Inn Ventura
#11 of 23 in Ventura
379 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanzi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanzi Hotel

Property: Amanzi Hotel
Address: 298 S Chestnut St, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amanzi Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanzi Hotel invites you to Ventura, off the coast of Southern California. Perfectly situated between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara, be enticed by the allure of sunny skies, downtown tunes & ocean mystique of our quaint town. Allow yourself to rejuvenate at the only boutique hotel in Ventura. The Amanzi presents a contemporary ambiance with the warmth of hospitality. With carefully selected room amenities & guest services to enhance stays during business travel or leisure trips, our hotel (formerly Country Inn & Suites by Carlson) offers a re-imagined experience for you or your group! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Amanzi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura Hotel Ventura
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Country Inn Ventura
Ventura Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing