We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of nostalgia”
Review of Amanzi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amanzi Hotel
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A touch of nostalgia”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We booked partly due to the reasonable pricing, good location and included breakfast but also to experience a bit of nostalgia as I had stayed at the hotel 18 years prior.

The check-in process was easy and the staff friendly. The room was more than spacious enough for the 2 of us and had all the amenities you would expect with the added bonus of having a fridge and microwave. The room was fairly clean however some of the harder to clean places (picture frames etc) were quite dusty.

Wifi was ok if just browsing the net however for anything more, it is unusable - tried to Skype family overseas however the call continuously dropped.

The breakfast was amazing just as I had remembered it. Great choices of hot and cold foods including eggs, bacon, sausage and biscuits with gravy. There is also a happy hour in the early evening where you get a free beverage of beer or wine and the choice of nachos, popcorn and carrot sticks - a nice touch.

The pool area was clean and tidy. We only used it in the late afternoon/evening so it was never busy.

Location wise the hotel is a few minutes walk from the beach via the Freeway overpass. To get into the main part of town is also only about a 5-10 minute walk.

Parking at the hotel was never a problem - we were always able to get an underground spot at any time of the day.

Overall we had a great experience at the Country Inn and would definately go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTraveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    235
    129
    60
    57
See reviews for
183
229
45
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Hotel was pretty nice. We stayed two nights for a mini vacation before school starts. The location is great, very close to the beach. At first I was put off being so close to the freeway and train tracks, but I was never bothered by any noise. We stayed in a 3rd floor balcony room. Balcony is a bit misleading, it is more of an enclosed patio. They added the windows to cut down on noise. At least the windows opened to bring in some fresh air.
The rooms were nice, very spacious. The bathroom had two sinks: one on the inside with the bathtub and one on the outside. This came in handy. The fridge was always nice and cold and the microwave actually worked (most microwaves in hotel rooms tend to burn things beyond recognition).
Parking was a bit of a pain. The elevator can only be operated from the parking garage with a key card. However, the sensor only worked every now and then. We always had to wait for someone else to arrive so we could use their key.
The breakfast was good. Standard foods, I really liked that you could see them cooking the hash browns. Waffles were yummy.
Pool is the only con for this hotel. It was a cloudy green the whole time we were there. I wouldn't let my son go under the water and he had to bathe as soon as he got out. We did complain and they did send a maintenance guy to look at it within minutes. It added chlorine and shock, but it did little to help. We did appreciate the effort though.
We stayed during the Ventura County fair and were able to watch the fireworks both nights from our "balcony". Overall, it was a decent stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventura, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a great time at this hotel. It was a very good value, the breakfast was good, the happy hour was nice, the pool and whirlpool were fun and it was within walking distance of town and beach. Its internet stunk though. I could only get on in the middle of the night. I had work to do and had to walk to Starbucks to use the internet. That was disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Adequate, but not worth the price. Older hotel with older amenities, not adequate parking when it is full. We stayed for an extended time, so maybe we just got over it quickly. Probably wouldn't stay there again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great Hotel, greeted by the woman at the desk and had the easiest check-in. We stood in a double full bed room and it was so spacious. We had 2 kids with us and there was no problem with space. Bathroom was a little rough around the edges, mainly the shower but not a huge deal. Small fridge and microwave was a perk since we ate out and had leftovers. Everyones favorite part was free breakfast. They really go all out!
The pool was a bit small and cloudy but not a big deal. Nice little jacuzi.
close to the Beach/pier we just walked right over that bridge so it was perfect. close to shopping and restaurants. I guess you can walk, but we drove a few minutes away. Cute little park across the street as well. Overall I would definitely stay again! It was out spot before departing o Channel Islands, so was great price for the area. Also we had no patio :(

Room Tip: Ask to face the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnmfum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Although the hotel could use some freshening up the room was clean amenities were good - the laundry facility was a huge help but the Breakfast was Great! Fresh cooked eggs and potatoes and bacon and waffles available too along with all the other usual stuff - Carpets need cleaning all around but staff is excellent - very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is pretty nice, although they could use pillow top mattresses to make the stay more comfortable. Fireplace in room, free internet service, amazing free breakfast and proximity to downtown Ventura and the Ventura pier made this an enjoyable place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Jeanell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,070 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
633 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanzi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanzi Hotel

Property: Amanzi Hotel
Address: 298 S Chestnut St, Ventura, CA 93001
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amanzi Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanzi Hotel invites you to Ventura, off the coast of Southern California. Perfectly situated between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara, be enticed by the allure of sunny skies, downtown tunes & ocean mystique of our quaint town. Allow yourself to rejuvenate at the only boutique hotel in Ventura. The Amanzi presents a contemporary ambiance with the warmth of hospitality. With carefully selected room amenities & guest services to enhance stays during business travel or leisure trips, our hotel (formerly Country Inn & Suites by Carlson) offers a re-imagined experience for you or your group! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Amanzi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura Hotel Ventura
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Country Inn Ventura
Ventura Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing