We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Can't Be Beat...”
Review of Amanzi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amanzi Hotel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Bakersfield, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Location Can't Be Beat...”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I hit Ventura once a month with a group of girlfriends (we are in our 50's not our 20's). We travel to the coast to beat the heat from our Central California Valley home. We love the ability to walk to the downtown music and food scene without getting in the car. (Full disclosure, we usually start in the hotel room with a few cocktails while getting ready) We have stayed at the Country Inn the past 4 months and have had an enjoyable stay each time. If you are looking for 5 star amenities this is not the place. Its clean, with good sized rooms, free breakfast and a free "happy hour" with a couple of free beers and snacks. What can I say, all you can eat carrots and ranch dressing makes me happy. The price is fair for what you get. Yeah, you can hear the train but I have also stayed (and paid much more for a room) at the Crown Plaza and you can hear the train from there also. Go ahead, click the book button.

  • Stayed September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanLaughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    242
    131
    61
    57
See reviews for
186
234
46
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The location of the hotel is convenient to the beach and to downtown. The breakfast and the evening reception are very nice. We met our family for the holiday weekend. We will stay at this hotel again on our next trip to Ventura.

  • Stayed September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2014

My friends and I came to Ventura for a weekend bachelorette party and wanted to stay somewhere we could walk to the main part of town where the bars and restaurants are. I've stayed at another hotel before when in Ventura, but needed one that had bigger rooms. Country Inn had good reviews and I'd stayed in one in the San Jose area and enjoyed it. So I booked 2 rooms and we all really liked the hotel! The rooms were very nice and we liked the bathroom also had a sink inside and outside the bathroom. Our rooms were on the first floor and had a partial ocean view. We easily walked to both the pier and main street. The free breakfast was better then most with eggs and bacon besides cereal, pastries and fruit. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I researched this hotel on several websites, and everyone gave it high marks, being a bit of a skeptic, I was not sure it would live up to it's reviews. Believe me it exceed them, the staff was friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms were oversized with plenty of room, and the beds were so comfortable. Our room was on the side opposite the freeway and train tracks, and except for a few diesel trucks leaving in the morning was very quiet. The served a wonderful hot breakfast, and even had a happy hour!! Would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Martha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The city of Ventura was lovely - coastal city, beach, restaurants, ...the only thing is the area itself is not only along the beach but also along railroad tracks so there are a lot of homeless people who approach you asking for money or talking quite excitedly. Travelling solo, I did not feel comfortable at this hotel. There were constantly people in the dumpster looking for food, you had to walk over a highway foot-bridge to get to the beach, and once you were on the beach I was nervous of who would approach me.

The hotel itself was okay. The room was large and comfortable. There was a refrigerator and a microwave. I ordered take-in (as I was nervous to walk around) which was rediculously over-priced. The staff wasn't above-and-beyond friendly but helpful enough.

Woudn't go out of your way to stay here but if you need a place to crash for a night and have a buddy this may be an option. I'm sure there are more favorable options out there but it's something.

Room Tip: train went by a lot throughout the night and hotel right next to freeway so heard cars
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Great value ration of price to services....clean spacious rooms, happy hour is limited but free and veggies are chunky and fresh! Breakfast is scrambled eggs, sausage/bacon with breads and cereals...fruit is plentiful and fresh.....if you like biscuit and gravy then you will be very happy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed with my husband and daughter for a soccer tournament 1 night. The room was overall clean, but out dated. The bathroom really needs a makeover and looked really old. The cleaning in the bathroom area could have been better. Didn't use the pool or try the happy hour.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Blas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,094 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Vagabond Inn Ventura
#11 of 23 in Ventura
379 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanzi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanzi Hotel

Property: Amanzi Hotel
Address: 298 S Chestnut St, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amanzi Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanzi Hotel invites you to Ventura, off the coast of Southern California. Perfectly situated between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara, be enticed by the allure of sunny skies, downtown tunes & ocean mystique of our quaint town. Allow yourself to rejuvenate at the only boutique hotel in Ventura. The Amanzi presents a contemporary ambiance with the warmth of hospitality. With carefully selected room amenities & guest services to enhance stays during business travel or leisure trips, our hotel (formerly Country Inn & Suites by Carlson) offers a re-imagined experience for you or your group! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Amanzi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura Hotel Ventura
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Country Inn Ventura
Ventura Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing