We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome authentic food!!!”
Review of Sicily By Gino

Sicily By Gino
Ranked #78 of 427 Restaurants in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$28
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: At Sicily by Gino we offer fresh Italian cuisine in a casual setting. Dine in our beautiful dining room, surrounded by vintage Italian posters or spend the evening on our sidewalk garden patio, where the perfume of our fresh herb garden permeates in the air. Whether you are getting a fresh baked pizza on the way to the movies or plan a more formal get-together our restaurant is the place for you. Straight fromm Sicily, Gino offers the most traditional Italian food, not to mention the best stories you could imagine. We look forward to serving you.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome authentic food!!!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Beat Italian food in Ventura!! Awesome service. Great selection, downtown Ventura location! Outside seating is wonderful!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richinitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    15
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little place for a very good meal”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great food, great service. Been there a few times. Very good salads and the pizza is very good thin crust with lots of flavor. Pasta dishes are also very good. Very good value.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Authentic and Delicious and Great Service! The bread before the meal is delicious. Great menu and taste is amazing! Waiters and hosts are wonderful as well.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“mmm, so delicious”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I'm walking around downtown with my (at that moment) very moody teenager daughter, we're starving but she snarls at every place I suggest. Then I see a sign that says slice of pizza $3 and think... I'm saved. We sit down outside in the shade to people watch. James our waiter was prompt, polite and genuine at all times. When he came to the table and handed me the specials. I was like no, no I just need something with cheese right away. He suggested the stuffed pizza which I ordered. We got bread and oil & vinegar right away and fairly large bottomless sodas (free refills). Then James brings out this round raised carving board with a large slice of pizza cut in half and a good sized salad with croutons and creamy Cesar dressing and some marinara sauce for dipping. I started on the salad but the moody beast across from me grabbed a slice of pizza and after two bites she slumped down and said omg, this is so good. So I grabbed the other slice and took a bite. mmm, cheese. There was no sauce on the outer crust and the inside of the pizza was stuffed with mushrooms and ham but mostly this creamy cheese that was even in the crust. It was delicious! I tried to go back for the salad but it was too late I was already too full. Were were full, happy and relaxed and went on to enjoy a movie next door. I can't imagine why we wouldn't eat there every time we go to a movie. Best $20 bucks I ever spent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank idunkn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
471 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Gr8 Service and OK Food”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We dined outside as the interior was a booth along one wall with tables along it.

The fresh bread was delicious and our server was very attentive. I had the stuffed manicotti, one friend had fettuccine alfredo and the other a chicken & mushroom dish. The chicken looked & smelled the best, and he ate all of his. Our pasta was OK, but not very flavorful.

They brought us a complimentary port wine, which was nice of them, but none of us drink it.
Would try other places before returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bchgrl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sicily By Gino also viewed

 

Been to Sicily By Gino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing