We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Taqueria Cuernavaca
Ranked #58 of 427 Restaurants in Ventura
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The best veggie tacos and salsa I've ever had. This place is short on ambiance but huge on flavorful food. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sleeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    14
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food/great value!”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This restaurant is not in a wonderful part of town, but the food, service and value are all fantastic! My husband enjoyed the chicken enchiladas (especially raved about the sauce) and, although the restaurant's vegetarian offerings were relatively slim, I got the vegetarian alambre, which was very tasty and different from any other Mexican food I've ever eaten. It actually had diced (I think fresh) pineapple in the mix. We shared a horchado, which was good. The chips are freshly made, crisp, and the assortment of salsas (we especially enjoyed the red one) are also delicious. The prices were very reasonable (my dinner was only $8.25!), and the service efficient and friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible service but great food”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The waitress have bad attitude bad manners in a very unhappy mood it was just awful and when I wanted to order something they made faces mean faces never going back but great food and terrible service

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fact805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've ever eaten!”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

After a long day of traveling, this hit the spot! If you want fresh, delicious food - this is your place! The atmosphere is very basic, not fancy, probably what would be defined as "hole in the wall". BUT the food makes up for it! We ordered guacamole and they made it fresh - some of the best I've ever had! The food was all seasoned perfectly, the small corn tortillas were delicious, the salsa bar was wonderful! The only thing I could say negative is that the chips didn't seem hot and fresh, but they were still very tasty! We were just passing through Ventura, but I'd be a regular if I lived there!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingIsFun01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I'm afraid the cat is out of the bag”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

The best part is the food, but it seems the secret's out. I used to be one of the few people sitting in for lunch... now it can be crowded, arrive early.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank schafphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taqueria Cuernavaca also viewed

 

Been to Taqueria Cuernavaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing