We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location”
Review of Inn on the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn on the Beach
Ranked #6 of 9 Ventura B&B and Inns
West Sussex, England
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Once again our policy of not booking ahead on our tour down the Pacific Coast Highway paid off with a great place to stay!

We had originally planned to stop at Santa Barbara - lovely spot but silly prices. Don't their hotel managers realise that deals are worth doing on a quiet Monday after high season?

We thought Ventura was worth a look and struck lucky with the Inn On The Beach. A ground floor room opening out straight onto a fabulous beach. Spotlessly clean, big comfortable bed, excellent TV and a spacious bathroom with the best shower out of all the places we have stayed in the last two weeks.

OK, so the carpets and decor in some of the public areas have seen better days - but that didn't spoil our stay one little bit. So glad we didn't read the TripAdvisor reviews first - we liked it so much we stayed an extra night!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    60
    31
    30
    46
See reviews for
31
104
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I have Never given a bad review anywhere I've stayed but This hotel/ Inn is in pretty bad shape. Run down and not so clean and smells. Sad I didn't read reviews before my husband booked our stay. Luckily it is only one night.
On the plus side the ocean view is beautiful!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennylynnD77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ventura hotels

La Quinta, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The location was unbeatable, the bed was comfortable, the sheets were clean, the room had an electric fireplace that made it cozy, the flat screen TV worked, the rooms facing the ocean had balconies and the price of a room facing the ocean was very reasonable. Other than that, the hotel was a complete mess. They were supposedly undergoing renovation, while remaining open for business. However, I didn't see any work being done. They said that our room already had new tile and granite put in the bathroom. If so, they must have had free help put it in. It was the worst workmanship that I have ever seen. The sink/cabinet was unstable or not bolted down, the toilet needed to be thrown into the dumpster, the carpet, walls and switch plates were disgusting and I doubt anything had been dusted or cleaned in the room, except for the sheets. Even my towel looked questionable. Nothing in the room would pass a black light test. Don't take your shoes off and definitely do not look under the bed! I was appalled at the apparent lack of maintenance. Nevertheless, the hotel had an outstanding location. So, if you don't mind the rest, you can get a room right on the beach, for under $200 a night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camkotani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We told the front desk that our toilet was clogged, and they handed us a plunger. Not acceptable! Filled up the jacuzzi and a big clump of hair shot out of one of the jets. Yuck! On the positive side, the view is amazing and we slept with the sliding door open. It was amazing to fall asleep listening to the sound if the waves. The hotel badly needs some renovation, but once that happens the inevitably the prices will go out. We wanted a cheap stay at the beach and that's what we got.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gezax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I really can't believe how many positive reviews this place has. We thought it was absolutely terrible and left early (something we've never done at a hotel)! If I had paid $60 or $70 for this place, it might have met my expectations, but it is not worth the outrageous rates they charge. It was honestly the worst experience I've ever had at a hotel, inn, or even hostel.

The entire place is covered in old, grimy, stained carpet and outdated floral wallpaper. In our room, the bathroom was dark and dingy. Our shower was moldy and had someone else's hair still on its walls. There were broken tiles around the fireplace. We heard a constant hum or noise that we couldn't figure out (maybe from the refrigerator?). No wifi. No breakfast.

There is a reason their website has few photos of the inside--it's outdated and dirty. The only good thing we can say is that the location great, truly right on the beach. Don't be fooled like we were by seeing it on a map!

When we left early, the man working at the desk didn't care at all to ask why we were leaving. So I called a few days later (when we had cooled down a little) to ask for a partial refund. The manager I spoke with was respectful and nice, but refused to give us any money back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, NY
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We recently stayed here for 2 nights. It was not what we were expecting for the $$. We were on the first floor so our view of the ocean was a bit obstructed by dunes. There was no A/C and the screen door lock was broken so we couldn't leave the sliding glass door open to get a breeze and enjoy the sounds of the ocean. The patio outside is not private, they're all connected, and we didn't feel safe keeping the door open all night. The door on the antique wardrobe in the room didn't fully close and squeaked so loud we didn't even use it. The only nice thing in the bathroom was the tiled shower. There was a hole in the bathroom ceiling where the fan should be. The wallpaper in the room was peeling in spots. I felt like we were staying in someone's spare bedroom instead of an inn. Not many amenities. There wasn't even a luggage rack for our bags. The breakfast options were extemely limited and the breakfast room was dingy. The morinng we left, we had to be on the road early and no one was at the desk to check us out. It was posted that the desk was attended at 7:00am and we wanted to leave by 7:30am. We called for assistance twice, even left a voicemail, but still no one came to the desk. We ended up just leaving our key card on the desk and left. The breakfast room was also closed past the time it was supposed to be open (7:15am), so we didn't even get a cup of coffee before we had to leave (there wasn't a coffee maker in the room). Not worth the $$ in my opinion. The only thing you're paying for is the location.

Room Tip: If you're going to spend the money, spend more and get a room with a balcony. At least you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garnet159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Located right on the sand, with unobstructed views of the beach and ocean from a small deck on the upper two floors, Inn on the Beach won't be the fanciest place you'll ever stay. Sure, it's in need of a facelift here and there, but the staff is friendly, the rooms are comfortable, continental breakfast is included and you can't beat the location – especially if you're just passing through on your way somewhere else up or down the coast. You absolutely cannot beat the location. Recommended by friends from nearby Santa Paula, who often have taken advantage of its proximity for a special night away from home, it offers a perfect base for anyone interested in strolling along the water's edge in either direction, visiting nearby shops and restaurants in downtown Ventura, or just sitting outside your sliding patio door as the ocean breeze caresses your face. My wife and I loved it, and do look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: If either are available, the two rooms at the north end of the building on floors 3 and 2 are the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveM709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventura
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.4 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
642 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,087 reviews
6.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Beach

Property: Inn on the Beach
Address: 1175 S Seaward Ave, Ventura, CA 93001-3875
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Beach Hotel Ventura
Beach Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing