We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbeleivable Great Location but a Shabby Motel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn on the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn on the Beach
Ranked #6 of 9 Ventura B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unbeleivable Great Location but a Shabby Motel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

What a great location! Rite on the beach in Ventura You could not get a better view of the ocean and get any closer to the beach. The only problem is that the hotel needs a major facelift. The rooms are a decent size, but the decor needs a major upgrade as do the bathrooms. The bed linens and towels need to be replaced as well. If you can overlook all the shabbiness then it is a great location. Each room has a balcony that over looks the beach. Just be aware that people smoke on their balconies and the smoke comes into your room. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Also be aware that the locals, drunks and regulars hang out rite by the hotel, so it does get a bit loud.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Needlepointaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    58
    31
    30
    46
See reviews for
31
103
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
171 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I like this place. The negative comments about being a bit worn are true. There are a lot of details that catch the eye that have needed attention for a long time. BUT, THE VIEW!!! All rooms have a balcony or patio right on the beach. After five minutes looking across the sand to the surf, one forgets about the little things.
If only the owners would put some time and attention to detail (and money) into upkeep and repair, this place would be a five star attraction. They got off to a good start with the French antique decor motif, but have not followed through. A pity. But, I still like the place!

Room Tip: Third-floor rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

My husband and I wanted a quick getaway out of Los Angeles. Most beach locations are either distant or very pricey or both. The location of this hotel can't be beat. Nice beach, nearby restaurants, comfortable bed. The place is a touch worn and there is a bit of a fusty odor around the lobby, (he beach is tough on buildings), but was comfortable. The room was fine. There are painted ceramic-top tables on the balconies. There are antiques everywhere. There was a refrigerator, and I believe there was a microwave in the breakfast room (2nd floor). We stayed on the top (3rd floor), which I recommend. The breakfast is so-so. There is free parking, and free wi-fi - though it wasn't working Saturday evening and Sunday. I really like the restaurant Spasso across the way. The area has a classic CA beach vibe to it - not entirely gentrified. This was a perfect respite for us, and stays on my list for quick getaways.

Room Tip: 3rd floor - first floor view is blocked by dunes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZiaKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I loved this place it was absolutely beautiful, my girls an I were at six flags during the day, I should had stayed there longer. There are some local bums and drunks that hangout by the beach but they were mostly minding their own.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

So my husband booked this room as a Valentine/Birthday surprise for me. He was a bit concerned by a few of the negative(ish) reviews about the place being run down, etc. but the negative remarks were for stuff that doesn't matter much to us so he stuck with the reservation. We are both SO GLAD that he did. We love this place and will now return over and over again. We had a third floor room looking out to the ocean. In fact ALL the rooms look out to the ocean. We slept with the sliding door open all night, listening to the surf. There was a gas fireplace and a jacuzzi tub. We loved this room. The decor is on the antique side and that's awesome. This is not a bed and breakfast. This is a hotel. Continental breakfast in the morning is coffee, pastries and juice. PERFECT!!! There is a breakfast place about 3 businesses down. You are paying for, (and getting) an amazingly comfortable bed, an unbelievable view, the sound of the surf all night, pleasant inn keepers, cozy décor and location, location, location. We love it and will be back again and again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shae M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Starting with the good, this property has an excellent beachfront location, steps away from a number of restaurants. Parking is free and there is a cold continental breakfast.

On to the bad, our room was in a severe state of disrepair. The list is pretty long but the main issues were in the washroom including a ghastly water damaged ceiling that had a hole large enough to see the bottom of the bathroom above. The ceiling light didn't work for some reason, so a bedside lamp was set up on the small vanity (at least there was a gfi). The bathroom door was installed improperly and scraped the tile floor when opened. The room had light switches that didn't work, and when I tried to use one lamp switch it got jammed in place. At the front desk they informed us that the heater was a fireplace, but there was no thermostat to control it (just an on-off).

As for the ugly, the carpets were beyond gross, I'm sure they're original and they felt greasy underfoot. I wore my shoes the whole time. Also, I think the bathroom hadn't been cleaned, there was a hair and dried coffee on the vanity.

Room Tip: If you really want to stay here, get a room facing the beach on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ventura hotels

North Fork California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed one night on our way through Ventura. Did not check reviews, our mistake. Front desk was friendly & welcoming. Rate was around $110 plus tax. Hotel is right on beach, if you must stay here I recommend second or third floor as there is no view from first floor. Sand build up & dirty glass are in the view. This could be a decent place but for the fact it is so dirty & run down. There is no excuse for the dirty. It could be fixed with a cleaning crew, a bucket of soapy water and a good steam cleaner. Everything needs to be wiped down or scrubbed, webs everywhere, mold in windows etc. It also needs a handyman, someone to just go through each room and fix what is broken. Dresser drawers are broken, handles missing, nails sticking out of head boards, window screens torn or missing, wall paper pealing off, door hinges broken, electrical plugs not working etc.
We do not recommend this place to other travelers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JBRA-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.4 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Beach

Property: Inn on the Beach
Address: 1175 S Seaward Ave, Ventura, CA 93001
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Beach Hotel Ventura
Beach Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing