We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sushi House

The Sushi House
Ranked #127 of 425 Restaurants in Ventura
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Oxnard, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I love it here.. They do take a long time to serve you. But it's so worth the wait... The avacado bombs are delicious... Their sushi is really good and fresh... But if you are very hungry, I would suggest probably not coming here as you do have to wait up to 45 minutes for your food... But they do let you know from the get go, how long the wait will be.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xo_cyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I love coming here. The food is good, the portions are generous, and the prices are great. The "avocado bomb" is awesome. I always recommend it to first-timers. I haven't had anything here that I didn't like. They have great specials on Tuesdays. The wait staff is very friendly. The one drawback is that they are closed too much (don't open until 12 for lunch, close mid-day before dinner, close for unusual holidays: Halloween, New Year's Eve Day, New Year's Day). It gets frustrating trying to find the exact right time to eat here). Also, their website needs to be updated. It says they are closed on Tuesdays.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank balinabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Long waits, not good for new customers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately, I never tried the food because the 20 minute wait time was actually 50 minutes. Great for locals not good for new customers and/or hungry customers. Check out other sushi restaurants in the area who are happy to serve new customers.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aileen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tremendous Portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This restaurant is just a few blocks from our house, so we decided to give it a try. The quality of the fish was good (not top, top grade, but certainly passable), but what stood out for me was that the portions were very generous for a sushi restaurant. I would recommend trying again. We had the sample/box dinners, but I would like to return and try some of the roles.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If only...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

I have found the best sushi place in this county!!! If only I can have them cater my life long lunch and dinners. Truly blown away by the taste and service. Great Cuisine is always worth my time and review.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sushi House also viewed

 

Been to The Sushi House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing