We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK. But #1 in Ventura Beach? I don't think so”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“OK. But #1 in Ventura Beach? I don't think so”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

OK budget hotel, but hardly the top choice in Ventura Beach. My stay was on a very busy (sold-out) night and the staff was helpful. Not many extras, and, of course, this is not as expensive as the deluxe Marriott across the street. But I think you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonnecj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Dear sonnecj,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience but we were regretful you did not share the same sentiments as other travelers. As you noted, our staff provides excellent service! The personal connection our front desk makes with our guests and the consistent, high quality, work our housekeepers put out is what makes our hotel one of a kind. We are glad you were still able to enjoy yourself and hope you will continue to stay with us in the future!

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    421
    136
    39
    19
See reviews for
367
371
78
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Overall it wasn't a bad stay. The room was ok but the furniture is outdated, the only thing I didn't like was there wad only one icemaker in the hotel and it was o.the first floor and I was on the third

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmdenington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Dear cmdenington,
Thank you for your review. We were sorry to hear that you did not find our accommodations to be up to your standards but we were glad you were able to enjoy your stay nonetheless. We have been in the process of upgrading each of our rooms to a more contemporary style; unfortunately it is simply a timely process. In the mean time, we are proud to have provided each of our rooms with flat screen televisions, complimentary wireless internet, and a refrigerator and microwave. We would like to invite you to return to the Comfort Inn Ventura again soon and experience our more modern look!

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanchester, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2013

This was a clean and friendly place to stay, and A very convenient place to stay if you are going on a trip with Island Packers. There were 3 adults in our party and we stayed in the 2 bedroom suite which was perfect for us. The fireplace and wet bar make for added enjoyment and convenience. The only problem I had was the Internet access. In Room 201, I could not get a signal; the routers were on the first and third floors. The hotel staff had the ISP call me directly, which was nice, but we could not resolve the problem. So, since I was traveling for pleasure, this was not a show stopper, but if traveling for business, it could have been.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom suite is good for more than 2 adults, but we could not get good Internet reception in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesle08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear Lesle08,
Thank you for your review. We are glad that we were able to provide a room that comfortably accommodated your traveling party. Our suites are great for two separate groups traveling together or families with children because they have two separate bedrooms for privacy and a living room where everyone can gather. We are sorry you were unable to connect to the internet and that this problem was not resolved during your stay. We understand how frustrating it is to be disconnected from your e-mails and the cyber world while away from home. All of our guests are always welcome to access the computer and printer in the lobby free of charge. We hope you enjoyed your trip to the beautiful Channel Islands and we invite you to return again soon!

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Stayed in rm 307 which has a nice jetted tub. The bed was very comfortable. It is right across from the In-and-Out Burger, but the double windows were not a problem for that. I did here freeway noise, but with the good thermostat controlled high quality a/c & heat it totally drowned out the noise. There were vinyl two windows, with maybe a weather-stripping problem. I would recommend a wave sound machine or beeswax/cotton/lanolin ear plugs if you don't run the unit or like to have the window open. You are right next to the freeway. You have to go about 200yds to the Denny's for your breakfast voucher. It did cover 2eggs, juice, fruit or other four choices. Yes the parking was limited, so if you have a big long truck it might be a little tight. Would I stay here again? Yes!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airebornranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear airebornranger,
Thank you for taking the personal time to leave feedback regarding your recent visit. We are sorry to hear you incurred noise from the neighboring freeway throughout your night. As you noted, each of our rooms have been installed with double paned windows which block all exterior noises. We will have our maintenance team examine the weather stripping in this room immediately, as you have suggested. Most of our guest’s find these windows provide a great benefit and ensure a quiet night’s sleep which is essential while on the road. We are delighted to hear you will return and our agents are looking forward to meeting with you again!

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nampa, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We have stayed here before and really like the convenience of the location for visiting family in Ventura. The rooms are a little small, but clean and friendly staff. It is very quiet considering it is right next to the freeway. Parking is a little cramped, and we have a big pick-up, but you can park next door at In-and-Out if needed. Beds are a little hard for me.

Room Tip: We always ask for a top floor in a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awebCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear awebCA,
Thank you for your review. We love to see guest’s returning to our facilities because it provides our staff the opportunity to build a relationship with you. Through this we can find out more about your reasons for traveling and personal preferences, which allows us to serve your individual needs more thoroughly. Thank you for noting the extra measure we have taken to arrange extra parking for the nights when our lot gets crowded. We are glad to hear that while driving a larger vehicle you have been able to successfully utilize these accommodations. We hope to see you again soon the next time you are visiting family in town!

Kindly,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

When we pulled up to the motel, a gentleman pacing outside muttering to himself made us a little nervous. A fellow guest at the check-in counter notified the staff (Katherine?) that there was a "homeless man" loitering outside. Katherine mentioned gently and graciously that he was a fellow guest but she would be willing to have a word with him. Her attitude and response to this incident, as well as our check-in process was exemplary. She is a star!

The 2 bedroom suite with 2 queen beds was spacious. We appreciated the fact that each bedroom as well as the living area had it's own aircon unit and thermostat. Our request for a pack-n-play was met almost immediately. Unlike other reviewers, we had no problems with our towels whatsoever. However, I like padding around the rooms barefoot and I do admit that the carpet left my feet a little gray!

Breakfast at Denny's was great- our 2yr old son was provided a breakfast voucher too. We could each choose 4 items, which ranged from pancakes, toast, english muffins, hash, bacon, sausage, eggs, fruit bowl, oatmeal, grits, juice, coffee, milk, hot chocolate and then some. This was more than enough to start our day! You have to be seated at Denny's by 930am, which was not a problem for us, and is a fairly standard breakfast time for most motels with their own breakfast rooms.

Wifi was speedy and unproblematic. Although situated close to the freeway, and right next to the stairwell *and* right opposite the elevator, we did not hear a thing. We saw other guests on our floor so we knew we weren't the only ones. They deserve top marks for soundproofing!

Room Tip: Had a room opposite the elevator and next to stairwell, yet did not hear a thing. No elevator ding n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FriesAndFoieGras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Dear FriesandFoieGras,
Thank you for taking your personal time to leave such kind compliments for our staff. Each of our team members work diligently to ensure our guest’s requests and needs are met in an efficient manner and we are glad you were able to feel the benefit from our attention to detail. As you noted, travelers receive many amenities when stay at our facilities. Each room is equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, free wireless internet, and a complimentary hot breakfast at Denny’s. In addition, we are located near the ocean, freeway, and downtown; every place a traveler would want to utilize! We would like to take this opportunity to apologize on behalf of the gentleman you encountered upon at check in. Again, we thank you for noting our diligent and poise demeanor regarding this matter. We hope you will return to Ventura soon and we invite you to stay at the Comfort Inn again.

Kindly,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, CA
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

This is my 2nd stay at this location and I chose it based on the good experience I had had previously. I chose a king bed room, but it was no where as nice as the room I had previously had, which was 2 queens. This room (306) was stuffy and small. My husband was not happy with it and didn't feel it warranted the rate of ~$90/night. So the next morning we inquired about moving and since the only rooms available were queens, we chose one of them. Everything was much more to our liking. The beds were comfortable, the pillows plentiful, and even though the In-N-Out Burger was outside our window, we never heard any noise as there are double windows. The front desk staff were so very friendly, both the young lady who was working when we checked in and the young man who was so gracious to move us to another room. Referencing a prior comment about hairs on the towels, I must say I found a long black hair in the bathtub of the 1st room with the King bed, but don't recall any problem with the 2nd room. Thank you, Comfort Inn. We would return.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms with the King beds assuming they'll all be situated in the same general location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanaBinHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Dear WanaBinHawaii,
Thank you for your kind words! We remember your review from last year quite fondly and we are delighted to see you return and enjoy our accommodations again. Thank you for mentioning the double paned windows in our rooms as this is one of our most essential amenities. Upon arrival, many travelers are concerned about noise from the neighboring freeway or restaurants but by use of these windows all outside noise is completely blocked. As a result, guest’s can utilize our prime location and also enjoy a quiet night of sleep! We hope you will return for a third time and provide the opportunity to serve you even better.

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
647 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amanzi Hotel
Amanzi Hotel
#7 of 23 in Ventura
652 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 2094 Harbor Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-3708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ventura
#2 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is centrally located between the Ventura Harbor Village where you'll find many unique shopping and dinning options and Downtown San Buenaventura where you can experience the vibrant cultural environment and nightlife known to this beautiful coastal gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Ventura
Comfort Inn Ventura
Ventura Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing