We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine place to stay for the money.”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Unfortunately, the weather in Ventura was not optimal for the "beach day" we had hoped for, but the stay at the Harbor Blvd. Comfort Inn was fine. I got a good rate on the room for our two-day stay (w/AAA discount was the cheapest rate). The bed was fine. Minimal noise, although the second night there was an annoying whine audible in our room (I think from the air conditioning unit in the room next door). The property's double windows really minimized freeway and Harbor Blvd. noise, which I was unnecessarily concerned about, due to the motel's proximity to both. Going to breakfast at Denny's (with vouchers) was also OK; I actually prefer that to the usual Comfort or Quality Inn breakfast rooms, which are crowded and smell too much like that waffle batter all the time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnVentura, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Barbara S,
We are so sorry to hear that the weather was not cooperating with your beach vacation; however, it was very rewarding to hear your thoughts on our facility. Thank you for taking the time to leave such positive feedback. We are glad that you felt you received a real value and got the most out of your stay. Just as you, many other travelers also arrive with concerns about the neighboring freeway. Thank you for sharing a firsthand account of the effectiveness of double paned windows. As you noted, our breakfast arrangement is unique in that we provide a restaurant meal at Denny’s, our neighbor. We are happy to do this for our guest’s and it was nice to hear this was an option that pleased you. Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review. We wish you better weather upon another return to Ventura!

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

743 - 749 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

My stay at the Comfort Inn in Ventura was comfortable and my grandson and I enjoyed it very much. The room was very clean and the mattresses were more than comfortable. Even though the hotel is next to the freeway, it was very quiet. It is very close to the beach and downtown Ventura .
I was treated very kindly and professionally by staff upon my arrival. The hotel representative went out of his way to help me whenever I needed assistance. (needed a can opener and plate). He was very gracious and never "rolled his eyes or seemed frustrated at my requests". As I was traveling with my 5 year old grandson, I want to stay somewhere I feel safe. This hotel met my every need. I highly recommend this hotel for your next stay in Ventura.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Norma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnVentura, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Norma R,
Thank you for your review and taking the time share with travelers about our facility and customer service. We are glad to hear that you felt safe here, especially while having a young child along. Our property is unique in that the entire facility is contained indoors with only one entrance, requiring every individual to pass by the front desk personnel. This provides a great opportunity not only for the agents to ensure safety and proper conduct, but also to provide the best possible service and build relationships with our guests. It was pleasurable to find you felt the benefit of our arrangement. It was our delight to provide you with assistance and supply the extra utensils you found you needed. We’d like to invite you back to Comfort Inn Ventura again soon!

Kindly,
Comfort Inn Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Front desk lady, fabulous and personable. She immediately offered us hot coffee while we waited for check in. Room, large, immaculate and all new. Our room bordered an In n' Out on one side and a major street on the other and we thought we were going to be in for a sleepless night. We had nothing to worry about. Quiet and blissful and the only negative is that we had to get up and out by 9am to catch their free breakfast. Free breakfast was a voucher for a freshly prepared breakfast at a Denny's across the street. We have not been to a Denny's in years and we were surprised at the great service and the good quality of the breakfast. Beat the heck out of the poor breakfast buffets that many of the road warrior hotel chains offer. We drove about five minutes to Ventura Harbor and had a great time exploring and eating some terrific seafood. All around nice stay over for a couple of road warriors!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olyhulagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnVentura, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear olyhulagirl,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and advise the other road warriors out there! We are thrilled to learn that you had a great time while staying at our facilities. We appreciate your emphasis on a couple of our finest attributes: clean rooms, a hot restaurant breakfast, optimal location, and a peaceful night! Guest service is a quality we hold in the highest regard and our guests receive premium service with a warm smile upon every visit. Thank you again for the positive feedback, we will be looking forward to meeting you again soon.

Kindly,
Comfort Inn Ventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Typical comfortable Comfort Inn. Not the best location sandwiched in between a couple of petrol stations and a drive through burger place. However if you walk or drive into the harbour (not town) there are a number of quaint shops. The town Ventura is a good 5 mins drive. Not really walkable but it has a number of nice shops and restaurants and a particularly authentic American diner. The hotel has coffee in the lobby and you get a voucher for Denny's a 2 minute walk away. Other than the coffee and a couple computers in the lobby there is no other public space in the hotel.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a higher floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrWWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnVentura, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear MrWWilson,

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your honest opinion of our property. As noted our hotel is centrally located between several highly desirable establishments for dining and entertainment. Best of all we are located within minutes of the beach. It is gratifying to find that you were able to take advantage of our breakfast options at Dennys during your stay. We have found that providing our guests with hot tea and coffee at all hours, so that they can partake at their convenience as well as access to the internet on our lobby computer is a fantastic option wed we're pleased that you took notice. Your valuable feedback has been shared with our entire staff, thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely.
The Comfort Inn Ventura Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Doesn't get better than this location wise....only it does get better when you walk in and are greeted by the über friendly, attentive, helpful hotel manager and staff member Katherine. Even if the room was not great (it was) I would return for the superior customer service they provided.
Room was clean and modern with a comfy bed and flat screen tv. Bonus: hotel is 100% smoke free!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tacoman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnVentura, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear tacoman13,
Thank you for choosing to review our property, we are pleased that you had an excellent stay with us here in beautiful Ventura. We are touched by your glowing review of our property and staff. Customer service and guest satisfaction is one of our chief concerns, we strive to ensure that each guest has a memorable experience here at our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed the amenities of our facilities; Serta Pillow-Top Mattresses are a great boon when traveling and the importance of a smoke-free environment is unparalleled. We hope that you will visit us in Ventura again soon, thank you once again for your time and patronage.

Best Regards,
Comfort Inn Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

As we neared the end of a long day of driving, I called ahead to this hotel and spoke with Jose, the manager. He was personable and professional and completely accomodating. The hotel is right off the highway exit, which concerned us about noise...but once in our room the noise was not a problem at all. The hotel was neat and clean and our room quite comfortable. The walk to the beach was not overly long and once there we found Dukes to be a nice place to relax for awhile. The breakfast the next morning at Denny's was excellent and compliments of the Comfort Inn. I would not hesitate to stay there again, we enjoyed the hotel and it's surroundings.

Room Tip: We were more towards the center of the hotel, it was comfortable and the noise from the highway was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank DMills19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnVentura, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear DMills19,
Thank you for sharing such kind remarks about our services and amenities! As you noted, our facility has the advantage of a great location being near the freeway, and walking distance to the beach and dining. Many travelers are weary to see a location adjacent to a busy roadway; however, we have taken the action of installing double paned windows in each of our rooms. This installation has been a complete success at quieting outdoor noise and guaranteeing a good night’s rest. Our entire staff is delighted to hear you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We look forward to knowing you better on your next stay!

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

After a long flight and a 2-hour wait at LAX's Avis to pick up our pre-booked car we needed a comfy quiet night - and got it. A smart tidy room and helpful receptionist. But what overseas holidaymakers most want to do is touch base with family and friends back home via emails, Skype etc. no chance as the entire wifi system went down and kept coming back intermittently for seconds before disappearing. We tried all of the Inn's wifi systems with the help of the receptionist but it was beyond her technical abilities. When you advertise something like free wifi you must deliver.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Markodebono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnVentura, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Markodebono,
Thank you for taking the time to share with other travelers about your experience at Comfort Inn Ventura. Our staff puts a great emphasis on providing efficient and friendly service because the majority of our guest’s come to us from a long flight or possibly several hours in traffic, just as you. We understand the value of being able to walk into a room and feel clean, comfortable, and have a relaxing experience from start to finish. We’d like to take a moment to apologize that in this instance we were having technical difficulties with our complimentary wireless internet service. We assure you this is not a reoccurring problem and we are very regretful if your overseas communications were hindered in effect. We hope you will you return to Comfort Inn Ventura the next time you are traveling through our area!

Respectfully,
Comfort Inn Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
662 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
1.2 mi away
Amanzi Hotel
Amanzi Hotel
#7 of 23 in Ventura
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 2094 Harbor Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-3708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
#2 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range: £81 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is centrally located between the Ventura Harbor Village where you'll find many unique shopping and dinning options and Downtown San Buenaventura where you can experience the vibrant cultural environment and nightlife known to this beautiful coastal gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Ventura
Comfort Inn Ventura
Ventura Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing