We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised as we had never stayed at a Comfort Inn before. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and accommodating during our stay as well as at check-in and check-out. The room was nice and large and we were never bothered by freeway noise even though it was so close. The location is very convenient --- no view of the ocean but the park and beach are very easy to walk to, and you can walk all the way down to the pier on a very nice walkway/bike path.

We were happy that both parking and wi-fi were included in our room charge, as we had discovered that the nearby Marriott (across the street) charges for both. The bed was very comfortable and I loved that they provided both firm and soft pillows for each quest. The airconditioning unit worked well and was not too loud. And there were two complimentary bottles of water in the room when we arrived, which we appreciated. The room also included a small fridge which is so helpful, especially when you are staying for several days.

Though we had not eaten at a Denny's in decades -- and frankly probably never would -- we were very impressed with the breakfasts. The restaurant is right across the street so it's not an inconvenience to go there. The staff there always expected us and treated us very cheerfully and professionally. You do actually get four different (substantial) breakfast choices at no charge, or you can use your voucher to apply $5 to ordering off the regular menu. (The french toast option that included eggs and bacon or sausage was wonderful). I think the description that I read online made it sound as if the $5 discount was the only option but that's not the case.

Overall we were very happy and would certainly return.

Room Tip: Beach is VERY nearby. Several fast food restaurants surround the hotel -- Subway, McDonalds, In&...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NSJ_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnVentura, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear NSJ_1,
Thank you for all of your wonderful feedback! It is a delight to hear that you had a pleasant stay. Our entire staff here at Comfort Inn Ventura Beach works dutifully and diligently to make every guest’s stay as comfortable and accommodating as possible, and it was our pleasure to have been able to provide you with an excellent stay. It is a joy to know that our staff service, breakfast option, in room amenities, and central location all exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to being able to accommodate you again on your next trip to beautiful Ventura!
Best Wishes,
Brandy J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    393
    132
    36
    18
See reviews for
336
356
75
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Right off of the freeway, right outside of Santa Barbara, without the SB price! Bed was SUPER comfortable, staff was very friendly and helpful, morning coffee was perfect. The only drawback was the breakfast voucher for Denny's since they don't have on-site breakfast facility.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnVentura, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Jackie C,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It is a joy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and that our staff service and accommodations were exceptional. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered with our breakfast option. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Ventura so that we may provide you with another superior experience.
Best Wishes,
Brandy J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very comfortable accommodations. Even though on a busy street we couldn't hear a thing that was going on outdoors. Everything including Restaurants and down town within short driving distance. My husband and I were alone so we were not in need of a pool or other amenities. We look forward to staying at one of the other comfort inn hotels or their recommended hotels that do have pools, spa, etc. when traveling with our program. Were anxious to work this points program!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salazar-Escalera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnVentura, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Salazar-Escalera
It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our central location and in room amenities are just a few of the many aspects that make our facility an accommodating place to stay. We are overjoyed to know that we were able to make your stay memorable. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Ventura!
Best Wishes,
Brandy J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We knew that a Comfort Inn was a budget hotel so were not expecting much and despite very friendly check in staff the hotel didn't do much more to impress. The room was sparsely furnished and the bathroom was vert spartan, not really top quality although clean and acceptable for the single night we were there. The free Denny's breakfast was OK, but very limited on choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilotsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnVentura, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Pilotsparky,
We appreciate all of your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that our furnishings and breakfast options did not exceed your expectations. But it is a joy to hear that our staff service did. We hope that you will stay with us in the future so that we may be able to provide you with a superior experience.
Best Wishes,
Brandy J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canal Winchester, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

The only thing that I didn't like was the fact that they give you a voucher to eat breakfast at Danny's down the street. We sat at our table there for almost 15 minutes without a server coming to give us a menu or anything, so we left. I don't see why they can't just take $5 off your room rate if you don't want the Denny's voucher. In the future, I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sawblade86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnVentura, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Sawblade86,
We are very sorry to hear that our breakfast option did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will share that information with Denny’s so they are aware. We hope that you will stay with us again so that we may provide you with an excellent experience.
Best Wishes,
Brandy J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Great newly remodeled rooms with new furniture and tasteful decor. Convenient location to many great sites in Ventura and about a 40 minute drive to Santa Barbara.
Staff service is great. Manager Diane was very friendly and gave us some great suggestions for our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rheencorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnVentura, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Rheencorp,
We are excited to hear that our central location and recently renovated rooms were much to your liking. The entire staff at Comfort Inn Ventura Beach strives to make each guest’s experience memorable, and are overjoyed to know that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Ventura Beach!
Best Wishes,
Brandy J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

My reservation an Advance Purchase Rate; manager treated me like a sub class citizen. I arrived at the hotel at 1:45pm the manager said he doesn't allow check-n before 3:30, I asked if he honored the reward status, he then told me if I wanted to check-in early it would cost $25.00 because I had used the online Advance Purchase Rate.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 52ECC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnVentura, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry that you felt discriminated against when you checked in for being a pre-paid reservation. This goes against all of our policies as we want to make each and every guest truly feel welcome and special no matter what they pay. When I read your review it took me by surprise as our staff is normally extremely accommodating and helpful. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you. May I ask that you call me at your convenience?

Sincerely,
Dianne Jereska
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 2094 East Harbor Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ventura
#2 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is centrally located between the Ventura Harbor Village where you'll find many unique shopping and dinning options and Downtown San Buenaventura where you can experience the vibrant cultural environment and nightlife known to this beautiful coastal gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Ventura
Comfort Inn Ventura
Ventura Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing