We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mornin'!”

Allison's Country Cafe
Ranked #48 of 427 Restaurants in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pensacola
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Mornin'!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Me and my Buddy went to Allison's for breakfast and it lived up to the hype. This place has got it going on early in the day. My Buddy ate Pumpkin Bread French Toast. The bread was home made by granny... I had a breakfast burrito and it could barely fit on the plate. If you're in Ventura and hungry for breakfast, this is THE place to go!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    25
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Stellar breakfast and service”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

When travelling in Ventura, we usually eat breakfast at the other highly rated and delicious breakfast spot. We decided to branch out and see if there might be a second equally good spot. We were not disappointed in Allison's.
Our spinach and mushroom omelets were perfectly cooked. The absolute best biscuits in the world are served here along with house made raspberry jam. The biscuits are light and fluffy and about 4" square.
There is a biscuit dish that is biscuits covered in gravy and bacon and sausage crumbles. OMG I'm having that on my next trip.
The food and service were excellent. I must say that the servers are all beautiful people which certainly added to the enjoyment of our meal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank salesmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I have only had great meals here - service is quick, the servers are funny and the atmosphere is old school homey feel like grandma's! You can't go wrong with anything on the menu. Recommend for anyone!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClintGarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Vacation Breakfast”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were strangers in Ventura on a weekend getaway. The was recommended for breakfast by our hotel and we were delighted. The menu was large and diverse. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The portions are huge so if you haven't a way to save leftovers, consider asking for smaller portions or splitting with your sweetie (we did both). The place was very busy on a Tuesday, so go earlier and leave time. The other patrons were friendly and companionable too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank padiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff and raspberry jam!”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

this is an awesome breakfast place! the place is very small and there is always a wait but the staff is great about keeping the pace moving and seating tables the minute there vacated and cleaned . they have a great menu with alot of california ingredients thrown into the mix. The biscuits and homemade raspberry jam is the best! i dont usually eat biscuits but my boyfriend swears by the biscuits and gravy its a huge portion and really good with bacon. I like to put the jam on my rye toast and its awesome! its moderatly priced but be prepared for a wait its worth it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brittany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Allison's Country Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Allison's Country Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing