We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Warm and Friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victorian Rose

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ventura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victorian Rose
Ranked #2 of 9 Ventura B&B and Inns
California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very Warm and Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

I've stayed at many B&Bs over the years, and the Victorian Rose certainly stands out. For starters, it is the only B&B I've ever stayed in that used to be a church. The owners have done a wonderful job of renovating certain rooms into guest rooms, while keeping the main sanctuary areas nice and open. That space is filled with an eclectic collection of antiques (think statues, votive light stands, the church's original pulpit), and old Bibles in many different languages. There is also a Torah scroll and vestments. The original stained-glass windows are in excellent shape, and you could find yourself easily spending a great deal of time walking around just to take it all in.

Our room (Victorian Rose) was beautifully decorated, too, and the bathroom had an original stained glass window. I appreciated the gas fire place, as it was chilly in January.

But I think will also forever stand out from this experience is the warmth of the owners, particularly Nona, the hostess. Nona is a very talented cook who serves decadent, homemade desserts with tea and wine every afternoon at 5 p.m. Nona also sits down and visits with her guests, making them feel very welcome and the visit quite anticipated. She's happy to talk about the property, make recommendations for dinner and places to see. Nona's also quite knowledgeable about Ventura history, and she has some great stories to tell.

So, don't miss the 5 p.m. tea — be sure to plan your arrival accordingly.

For breakfast, we were further spoiled with Nona's cooking. One morning we had scrambled eggs with twice-baked potatoes and broccoli in cheese sauce. The second, we had Swedish pancakes — which were amazing.

When we left, Nona also had a hug for each of us.

Room Tip: This is a historic structure, and there are some stairs involved. Not a lot, unless you choose "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PWestcomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    14
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
47
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

This is a nice little B & B in Ventura. The only draw back is it's location, there are some pretty shady characters in the neighborhood. The B & B still feels safe. Breakfast was great and the hosts take food allergies into consideration!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 13_Tink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

You can't help but feeling at home at Nona's & Richard's beautiful B&B, they are so caring and their B&B it's beautiful with so much history and architectural details and those breakfasts are amazing; they also have a wine, cheese and homemade desserts in the evenings that if you are not careful they will spoil your appetite; we stayed in the Victorian Rose room and it was just perfect with access to the patio and a private remodeled bathroom (tub & shower) with plently of storage space for all your toiletries. We were welcomed with a big hug and left with another big hug and much love and caring words. Thank you so much for an amazing weekend!
Don't forget the location (walking distance to downtown and amazing shops and restaurants); we took the Ventura Foods Tour and it was just the perfect location for this attraction.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

My hubby and I stayed here while attending a marriage refresher! We've stayed a various B&B's in CA and in New England. This is one of the west coast B&Bs that offers a full on custom breakfast.
Richard and Nona are gracious hosts, and Nona is quiet the baker!
They poured a lot of energy into renovating and redesigning this amazing structure. It is showing some wear; must be very costly to keep up with all the historical features of the building. One of my favorite spots is in the lobby, looking up into the steeple. The sanctuary is pretty amazing as well, especially at dawn and dusk.
We like to eat dinner around 5-6PM, so the evening reception is a bit late for us. But it was nice to hear the story about the renovation and to meet another couple on a weekend getaway.
We stayed in the Timeless Treasure room, downstairs, near the lobby and the radio. The room is spacious and has a window full of stained glass. The jetted tub was a nice touch as well. The decor is too "victorian" for our tastes, but in the context it makes sense.
I was not feeling too great our second night, so we called it a day early, getting into our room around 6-7 PM. The music from the radio was still playing rather loudly, and then a bar down on Main Street starting some loud band music till about 10 PM. Unfortunately the loud music made it hard to relax.
The mattress was very springy and squeaky....very, very squeaky. Had the feeling of what an old mattress must have been like!
If you like B&Bs and want to experience of staying in an old church building, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaLovesPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

From the moment I booked my stay at this unique B&B to the moment we left, Nona went above and beyond to accommodate us. If you are looking for a personal touch, you must stay here!

Our time at Victorian Rose was incredibly short. We arrived very late on a Tuesday night (10pm); the owners live next door to the B&B, so Nona came over to let us in. We had missed the evening reception, but there were some desserts left over, which Nona packed for us to take on our kayaking excursion the next day. (The apple cake was delicious!) We were departing the next morning at 8am, which meant we were going to miss the fabulous breakfast. Well, Nona would not let us leave without ensuring we were fed! She prepared two frittatas that evening, and put them in the fridge so we could warm them up in the morning. (Try getting that kind of service at a chain hotel.) I can't thank her enough for all the wonderful food.

The Inn is incredibly unique. We stayed in Timeless Treasures, which is one of the largest rooms and very private, being on the opposite side of the inn from most of the other rooms. The bed was large and comfortable, and there was a couch, fireplace and washroom with a shower/tub combo. We slept very well, and the shower pressure was excellent! The decor is very eclectic, with a definite "church" theme. Myself, I am a minimalist so I found it a little bit overwhelming, but they have certainly done a great job in creating an interesting space.

Overall, if you are looking for a unique place to stay with incredible hospitality, I can't say enough good things about Victorian Rose. You will leave with a smile on your face!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed here for one night as part of a honeymoon trip.

Pros:
- Very friendly owner. Made us a cake to welcome us.
- Excellent breakfast. Also has a nice wine and cake afternoon spread. You dine with other guests so be prepered for conversation. We liked it.
- Amazing charachter to the place. You can see that a lot of heart went into renovating and the design.
- We had the room with the seperate bathroom in the hall. We found it perfectly convinient and good value.
- Our room had access to a nice roof terrace (communal).

Cons:
- We didn't really have much to complain about. The only slightly less than perfect aspect was the cleanliness of the bathroom. We had used soap in our shower and some cobwebs over the door.

To sum it up, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this b&b.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tgolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mesa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Victorian Rose for two nights in the Victorian Rose room while celebrating my 30th birthday. It was a great experience for us. Nona and Richard are very warm and inviting. Nona made me a special birthday dessert. They provide wine and cheese and dessert nightly allowing the guests to socialize. The old church is amazing. It is such a different experience from anywhere else that you might stay. The breakfast was delicious. I would go back in a heartbeat. We went on the sea cave kayaking tour in the Channel Islands one day. The whole trip was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaofLaMesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Rose

Property: Victorian Rose
Address: 896 E Main St, Ventura, CA 93001-2908
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ventura
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Victorian Rose Hotel Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing