We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded Rose”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Victorian Rose

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ventura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victorian Rose
Ranked #2 of 9 Ventura B&B and Inns
San Diego
Level Contributor
127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Faded Rose”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is a difficult review for me to write. I have even considered not writing it, but I depend on others to give me honest evaluations and I can do no less. First, the whole place could be cleaner. Our room had hair on the bathroom floor and the toilet was not clean. The deck, which could be charming, was scattered with mostly dead plants and we had to clean the table and chairs before we could use them. At breakfast, several of the coffee cups were not clean and there were very dead flowers on the sideboard. With lots of nic-nacs it's hard to keep up with the dust. Also there is a lack of maintenance and finish in some of the details. The finials on our bed were held on with duct tape. Second, the food was only so-so. The evening snacks that were homemade were very good but the rest, like the microwaved breaded cheese sticks, were not. There was only red wine; no water, juice or any other beverage was offered. The first breakfast the table was nicely set. We had fruit, eggs w/cheese, bacon and oily hash-browns. OK, but I can do that at home. The next day was fruit with "Swedish" pancakes which were crepes w/strawberry jam; very sweet and not a complete meal. That day the table had extra dishes stacked on it in a pile so that neither we nor the other couple knew where to sit. At both meals only coffee and OJ were offered; we had to ask for hot water for tea and no fresh water was served. Nona was very friendly and charming and the space is fabulous. There are some beautiful antiques, and Richard's collection of bibles is wonderful. But it seems they have lost their passion for the place and, sadly, it shows.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Albizia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    14
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
47
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boyertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the Wisteria Gardens room as our base of operations for exploring the nearby Channel Islands. Nona and Richard were welcoming and attentive from the moment we arrived. Our room, as well as the rest of the B&B, was wonderfully appointed with period Victorian pieces, the bed was comfortable, and the room and bathroom were very clean. Our room was the smallest and our bathroom was across the hall, but private. We did not mind this at all. In fact, we really enjoyed our bathroom's shower, which has 2 shower heads and is tiled in all natural rock! Truly a treat!

Nona's cooking is top of the line. Every evening at 5, there is a wine & snacks hour. Nona goes out of her way to create delicious appetizers and desserts for this hour - do not miss it! The earliest Nona serves a sit-down breakfast is 8:30, and for 2 of our mornings, we had to be at the Ventura Harbor earlier than that for check in to the Channel Islands ferry. She was wonderfully accommodating to our schedule and made frittatas and quiche for us the night before and stored them in a mini-fridge, which all guests have access to. We were able to warm them up in the microwave on top of the mini-fridge the next morning and leave when we needed to. Our last morning, we enjoyed a sit-down breakfast of Swedish pancakes with warm berry sauce. All of our breakfasts were delicious! And while we didn't have any dietary concerns, other guests did (vegetarian, vegan, etc), and Nona accommodated them all.

I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Ventura. It was only a 10 minute drive to the Ventura harbor and within walking distance to the many restaurants in the downtown area. It is beautifully decorated, very comfortable, the food is great, and Richard and Nona are superb hosts!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

This was our first bed & breakfast ever. It was a wonderful experience but I didn't realize how wonderful until we stayed in another "highly rated" B & B.
The Victorian Rose is located in a former church located right on Main St in Ventura. The owners have done a fabulous job with the conversion and have filled the place with a truly eclectic collection of wonderful antiques and religious collectable items.
The main Hall is what they serve breakfast and have snacks at about 5:00 on each evening. It is the common area between the guest rooms.
The rooms also have very interesting furnishings showing the owners almost OCD collecting skills. Several have doors leading to a communal roof deck with tables and chairs where is great to sit out with coffee and enjoy the sea breezes.
Service is very personal and attentive. They even asked if we were vegetarian when we made the reservation.
The food is another area of this place's excellence. Nona lives to cook and it is reflected in the breakage offerings. One morning was chicken enchiritos & fruit. Another was some fabulous Swedish pancakes and another was a Brioche French Toast with homemade camel sauce. Fresh squeezed OJ and fruit was on the table each morning.
We will be coming back for another visit for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee_Rose818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Richard and Nona were perfect hosts for our three night stay at the Victorian Rose B & B. We wanted a place that was close to the Channel Islands and this one fit the bill. Our room was clean the bed was comfortable and breakfast was great. Nona gave us great advice for dining and getting around Ventura. By the way, Ventura is a lovely town. A real jewel to be only an hour from LA.Thanks Nona for making us feel like family and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disney1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Although Ventura may not be the first on most people's list of places to visit, the Victorian Rose should be. The unique decor and wonderful hospitality make it a place we will return to over and over. Our hosts were very flexible in taking special requests for breakfast and more than willing to share their adventure of renovating the old church during the afternoon get together in the parlor. Everything was made from scratch and they even made special cake for us as we were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary. Located at the top of Main Street, the quaint shops and restaurants of Ventura are just a short walk. We would suggest you rent a bicycle for your stay and cruise the beach promenade or take the bike trail into Ojai if you want a bigger challenge. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank We3dkmTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

The Victorian Rose added to our anniversary by having a special cake prepared for us upon arrival. Check in between 4:00 - 6:00 and you will have Wine & Cheese. We stayed in the Wisteria Room with a very comfortable Queen bed. Nona asks your likes and desires for breakfast and it was wonderful. Stay here and enjoy what Ventura has to offer.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Nona and Richard have worked tirelessly to convert this 1880's church into a notable Bed and Breakfast. From my viewpoint, they have been successful. There are five rooms, each with it's own theme. The original church stained glass windows are either within the bedrooms, or the bathrooms. or the main areas. We stayed a King bed room, that was once part of the church social hall; A Queen bed room was on the other side. The original Pastor's study has been converted into a small bedroom, and the front upper and lower larger rooms originate from the choir loft and what could have been the narthex of the church. A main seating area is within the sanctuary, and the eating area is behind the original altar rail. Nona and Richard are avid collectors and their wares are on display throughout the structure. The food for the evening wine hour and for breakfast is exquisitely prepared with love by Nona. The couple are attentive to their guests and are eager to assist in making the entire experience in Ventura and the surrounding environs a memorable one.

Room Tip: All rooms have a bath within the room, with the exception of the smallest room; the bath is a privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravlinSpeecher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Rose

Property: Victorian Rose
Address: 896 E Main St, Ventura, CA 93001-2908
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ventura
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Victorian Rose Hotel Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing