We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victorian Rose
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Ventura
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
48
14
3
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
14
3
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold churchb bstained glassswedish pancakesother guestsprivate bathroombed breakfastrooms face the streetenjoy your staydeep cleaningdowntown venturabit wornsitting areaperfect locationfew blocksnonahosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed at the B&B for my birthday - I was greeted with a wonderful miniature birthday cake when we checked in although we could not enjoy the other snacks as we were going out to dinner with friends.
This is a converted church and the stained glass windows in the main sitting area are gorgeous.
We stayed in the Wisteria room - small but perfect for one night - it has a little fireplace and steps out to a patio and has a small stained glass window. Lot's of character.
The hosts - Nona and Richard were very nice .
The only negative is that it is somewhat " dated " and could really use some new mattresses.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank AmericanIxchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Had a very positive experience at the B&B. Nona and Richard were very gracious hosts. The setting was unique and the decor was eclectic. Very warm surroundings. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening get together with other guests. It was a wonderful way to meet other travellers.
Nona provided some delicious appies and varied ever night. Would definitely stay again and will recommend to other travellers.
Channel Island experience was wonderful and the trip was worthwhile.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandN52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I recently stayed 2 nights at this charming bed and breakfast while visiting Ventura for my 40 year high school reunion. It was a unique and wonderful experience! The location to the pier and downtown Ventura was perfect; and our room -- Fleur de leis -- was adorable and had everything we needed. Nona and Richard were the perfect innkeepers. They took care of us without being imposing. When they learned about my husband's passion for rocks they referred us to Art City which was a great experience all in itself so we were grateful for their input. Everything was clean and the decor interesting and inviting. We felt like we had stepped back into a different era. Our room was perfect because we had access to the back door and could come and go easily. The breakfasts that Nona cooked were amazingly delicious and different than what I would cook at home. We will definitely stay here again and will recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: Not all of the bedrooms have a bath in the room so you will want to be aware of that when making your reservation. We chose the Fleur de Leis which had a great shower and tub. We also liked the location. We will definitely choose the same room when we return.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gayle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is a difficult review for me to write. I have even considered not writing it, but I depend on others to give me honest evaluations and I can do no less. First, the whole place could be cleaner. Our room had hair on the bathroom floor and the toilet was not clean. The deck, which could be charming, was scattered with mostly dead plants and we had to clean the table and chairs before we could use them. At breakfast, several of the coffee cups were not clean and there were very dead flowers on the sideboard. With lots of nic-nacs it's hard to keep up with the dust. Also there is a lack of maintenance and finish in some of the details. The finials on our bed were held on with duct tape. Second, the food was only so-so. The evening snacks that were homemade were very good but the rest, like the microwaved breaded cheese sticks, were not. There was only red wine; no water, juice or any other beverage was offered. The first breakfast the table was nicely set. We had fruit, eggs w/cheese, bacon and oily hash-browns. OK, but I can do that at home. The next day was fruit with "Swedish" pancakes which were crepes w/strawberry jam; very sweet and not a complete meal. That day the table had extra dishes stacked on it in a pile so that neither we nor the other couple knew where to sit. At both meals only coffee and OJ were offered; we had to ask for hot water for tea and no fresh water was served. Nona was very friendly and charming and the space is fabulous. There are some beautiful antiques, and Richard's collection of bibles is wonderful. But it seems they have lost their passion for the place and, sadly, it shows.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Albizia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the Wisteria Gardens room as our base of operations for exploring the nearby Channel Islands. Nona and Richard were welcoming and attentive from the moment we arrived. Our room, as well as the rest of the B&B, was wonderfully appointed with period Victorian pieces, the bed was comfortable, and the room and bathroom were very clean. Our room was the smallest and our bathroom was across the hall, but private. We did not mind this at all. In fact, we really enjoyed our bathroom's shower, which has 2 shower heads and is tiled in all natural rock! Truly a treat!

Nona's cooking is top of the line. Every evening at 5, there is a wine & snacks hour. Nona goes out of her way to create delicious appetizers and desserts for this hour - do not miss it! The earliest Nona serves a sit-down breakfast is 8:30, and for 2 of our mornings, we had to be at the Ventura Harbor earlier than that for check in to the Channel Islands ferry. She was wonderfully accommodating to our schedule and made frittatas and quiche for us the night before and stored them in a mini-fridge, which all guests have access to. We were able to warm them up in the microwave on top of the mini-fridge the next morning and leave when we needed to. Our last morning, we enjoyed a sit-down breakfast of Swedish pancakes with warm berry sauce. All of our breakfasts were delicious! And while we didn't have any dietary concerns, other guests did (vegetarian, vegan, etc), and Nona accommodated them all.

I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Ventura. It was only a 10 minute drive to the Ventura harbor and within walking distance to the many restaurants in the downtown area. It is beautifully decorated, very comfortable, the food is great, and Richard and Nona are superb hosts!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews