We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My husband and I were going to be running the Mountain2Beach marathon/half marathon, and this was a less expensive option than staying in the host hotel. Our room was spacious and clean. Patty, the night clerk who checked us in, was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area; she looked up some local info for my husband and left it at the desk for him in the morning. Free local paper and decent free breakfast with a large seating area on a Saturday (we didn't eat there on Sunday due to the race). Pancakes, sausage patties, omelets, a small variety of cereal options, banannas, and breakfast rolls were the main offerings--a step above the usual free continental breakfast. Only downsides: $10/night for parking and spotty wifi.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WClark1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Hi WClark1313!

First of all thank you for taking the time to comment about our hotel. We love to get comments but definately love when they are as positive as yours. I was delighted to see that we were able to take good care of you and that you had a pleasant expereince. I will gladly let Patty know what a great job she did. I too love the breakfast here and look forward to seeing all the happy faces enjoying it.

I also want to take this time to apologize for the WiFi connection we are currently trying to upgrade our system so that we will not have this problem again. Please accept my sincerest apologizes for any inconvenience this might have caused you.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    128
    45
    28
    14
See reviews for
67
114
27
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Overall, the hotel was okay.

Cons: No in-room safe. Our door key only worked after the 4th or 5th time even after getting new cards. It feels very much like an old motel that was given a partial renovation. The room could have been cleaner but were not filthy.

Pros: Great location if going to the Channel Islands. Staff was very good. Room was large. Room with sliding glass door and patio was really nice with nice view. Breakfast was good with yogurt, several kinds of cereal, juices, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YesTravelNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Hi YesTravelNow!

Thank you for letting us know how your recent stay with us went. I was disappointed to hear that you had such a hard time with your keys. We definately should have sent up an engineer to check the door lock and make sure the battery wasn't dying out. We also should have mentioned to you that while we don't have safes in the rooms, we do offer them at the front desk.

I apologize for any frustration or inconvenience we may have caused you. Your business is very important to us. I hope that you will consider trying us again.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

While visiting a friend recently staying w/ this property, I was astonished at the un-kept conditions of this Chain hotel which repeated themselves next door at the adjoining 'Four Points', likewise. While the exterior of the bldng. was good enough, it was the corridors and some rooms which suffered obvious neglect. While walking down the carpeted hallways, there were obvious signs of water damage & unsightly stains everywheres. Don't know if there had been a leak from the roof or just cumulative rain damage but whatever, it was ugly and nasty looking. My friend's room was unbelievable. While the furnishings have been recently upgraded to a more 'corporate' look, other details were badly worn. We went to open the screen door to see outside balcony/view and the whole screen fell down! Right out of the tract - bang to the ground. Unreal. The balcony itself was dirty and appeared as if it hadn't been swept in weeks.
The prices for that room, were not cheap (125.00 - average) and considering how poorly maintained the property looked, was worth no more than half that amount. I would never recommend the place - felt like an oversized Motel & the bldng. badly needs attention and new carpeting throughout. Was a disgrace to the Holiday Inn chain, frankly. Bad managment.

Room Tip: Make sure before you check into the room that Screen sliders are in working condition and patio area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewportBeachWords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Hi NewportBeachWords!

I really appreciate you letting us know how your visit with us went. Needless to say I was disappointed to hear that it didn't go better. When you arrive at a hotel one of the basic expectations you have is that the hotel is clean and updated. I completely understand your frustration and I sincerely apologize for any disruption and frustration we caused.

We are currently going through some cosmetic changes throughout the hotel as well as in the guest rooms. We recently put in some new wallpaper and are egarly awaiting our new carpet.

Your business is very important to us. I hope you'll consider trying us again.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This hotel has access to the harbour- wonderful view from our room balcony on the thrid floor. I highly reccomend staying on the thrid floor. Dinner at the Harbour was great - kids walked around and enjoyed the atmosphere. Morning time we went to downtown and had a wonderful breakfast and shopped all the quaint shops. Best trip in awhile and hotel was wonderful!
BTW ask for a King room if you have kids - the couch folds out to a bed.

Room Tip: Ask for King room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chericruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Hi CheriCruz!

I want to first start off by thanking you for your review of the hotel. We appreciate all comments but definately love when we get something positive. I will make sure to share this great comment with the hotel staff. Thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

After checking in, this seemed to be a basic hotel with a tiny lobby and no extra services like a pool, fitness center, and hot tub. We only discovered on the second and last day,that we had privileges at the adjoining Four Points by Sheraton.
We have stayed at other Holiday Inn Expresses and this location seemed lacking. I would have rated this hotel much higher if the front desk person at check in had only mentioned the other hotel and the convenient skyway on the second floor. I am an early bird don't like to wait until 8:00 for a cup of coffee. I don't expect the breakfast room to be open, but how about putting a pot in the lobby?
The king room was spacious, clean and quiet, with a balcony to view the harbor. The location was perfect for our stay, but I would recommend the Four Points by Sheraton if the price is right.

Room Tip: There is a walking path behind the hotel that goes all around the harbor, but be careful at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear David S,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at our property. We apologize for not making you aware of all the amenities available to you. It is so important that we inform our guests of amenties as well as local attractions. We are currently in the final stages of an expansion of our property that will include all the many services you mentioned. I will speak to our staff. We do listen to suggestions and comments of our guests. Happy Traveling, Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager, Holiday Inn Express and Suites Ventura Harbor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
177 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights and extended by another night as we enjoyed the location very much. Our room was on the second floor, very large, with a balcony overlooking the marina. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows too. The bathroom was also large with plenty of space to keep toilet bags handy. Breakfast was really not bad, cereals, eggs etc and the ladies looking after the breakfast room were so pleasant and helpful. Alexander's restaurant at the Four Points next door was really good, brilliant service, thanks Alicia! Extensive menu, moderate prices.
There was a rather exuberant wedding party there at the same time and perhaps a room on the top floor might have been quieter. We enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peripatetic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Dear Peripatetic2,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us how much you liked your stay at our property. I will tell the staff, especially in the breakfast area and Alicia in the restaurant. We love it that you were comfortable and taken care of. Please come to see us again. Happy Traveling, Catherine Stevens, Holiday Inn Express and Suites Ventura Harbor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I have come here for a research conference but can certainy recommend this hotel also for leisure travellers. My room was facing the harbor and you can experience a great sunset on the balcony if you are in the room at that our. Rooms are spacious and clean. They have a refrigerator but no safe.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Alex M,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We look forward to our conferences all year long. It is very nice to know you felt relaxed and enjoyed the Ventura Harbor. We hope you will return in the future. Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager, Holiday Inn Express and Suites Ventura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
1.8 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Address: 1080 Navigator Dr, Ventura, CA 93001-4365
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly designed Holiday Inn Express Hotels & Suites Ventura Harbor. Once you visit you'll dream of coming back! Rejuvenate yourself on our breathtaking coastline views, attentive staff with an 'at your service' attitude & wide array of amenities for your comfort and enjoyment. Nestled between Majestic Mountain Ranges and the Sparkling Blue Pacific Ocean we are the destination you have been searching for! We are located at 1080 Navigator Drive Ventura, CA 93001. Just an hour up the coast from Los Angeles, (halfway between Malibu & Santa Barbara). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Ventura Harbor
Ventura Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing