We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This is an average hotel - not outstanding, not bad. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom and the room were large. The AC worked well. The breakfast was an adequate fast-food type fare - pre-cooked omelets with Velveeta cheese, pancakes made by a machine - that sort of thing. The location is right by the Harbor Village - close to restaurants and the Channel Islands cruise boats. It's a quiet location and I didn't have any problems with the smells that others complained of. However, we kept our balcony door closed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank food_nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Convenient Location,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very glad that you were able to get a good night's sleep and that you loved the bed. A lot of guests love our quick breakfast that we provide, especially our cinnamon buns. I am sorry that it was subpar during your stay. I have passed your comments on to our staff and we are working on trying to fix them. We hope you will try us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Overall, we enjoyed our stay; the staff was excellent. However, we do have some suggestions. Our harbor view that we paid extra for was blocked bya tree. Breakfast room should remain open at all times so that small groups could meet and plan their activities or have pizza dinners together. Spaces in parking lot are small and made for compacts only. The pool is located at the hotel next door and not convenient for families with small children or older adults.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DADouty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear DADouty,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately our breakfast room is open for breakfast only but we do have a large outside patio, with fireplace that anyone may use as long as it's not already occupied by a funtion. We are currently in the final stages of negotiations with the city to expand our property. In the expansion we will have our our pool so our guests don't have to walk to the otherside of the property to swim.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

These are NOT suites with a separate room, though they told us it would be when we booked... they are a normal sized hotel room with one bed and a couch where the second bed usually is. We have a baby and having a separate room was key to getting him a nap. They also told us there would be a crib available in our room and there wasn't. Our family stayed at a nearby hotel for less than half the price that was just as nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hungry11977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Hungry1197,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that the hotel room types were not explained properly to you. We do not have any 2 room suites in our hotel just larger rooms. Cribs are available upon request only and are not in the rooms already. I am very sorry that you were given missinformation upon booking with us. I have spoken to the front desk staff so that a situation of this nature doesn' t occur again.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you'll give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I booked a room for three as we had booked a Channel Island excursion and wanted a hotel that fit our price point and location criteria. I booked a room that slept four- king bed, pull out sofa, shared bathroom- better be good friends! There was an up charge for the extra person( per night) and a $10 dollar a day parking fee. The up charge for the extra person was explained to me upon booking. The parking fee was a surprise. The hotel is located right on the harbor with a large, open parking lot, so I felt this was a "gougie" kind of charge. Breakfast comes with the room. And it is exceptional. Be advised, however, if you are doing an excursion on the weekend, the breakfast room opens at 7am, not 6:30. They let us into the area at 6:30 and we were able to have cold cereal before heading off to the boat. All that said, this is a Holiday Inn and you know what you are booking. The price and location were great and they readily accommodated our need for an earlier breakfast. The staff was very helpful and the room though a bit tired, was clean. My experience was positive and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor harbor view...no noise..great view...small balcony to dry beach stuff
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hipandhopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Hipandhopping,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am glad that you had a great time and that you enjoyed our breakfast. I am very sorry that the parking charge was not explained to you upon booking the hotel. We charge for parking because we have security that patrols our parking lot throughout the night. This review has been gone over with the reservation staff so that we make sure to tell everyone about the parking prior to the guest arriving at the hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The hotel is being renovated. I knew that going into it- I read the reviews. But I wasn't prepared to be awakened at 6 AM by a faulty alarm. It was pretty jarring!!
The carpets in the room were disgusting. Even though they looked clean, they felt very dirty. The room was OK - some little spots where there was no paint or wallpaper- I guess that is why they are renovating.
Breakfast was OK - lots of carbs. Not as good as Hampton Inn.
But they did give me a discount for having to suffer through the renovations.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRR28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear DRR28,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for falling short of your expectations regarding the situation of the hotel. We are under going renovations to make your future stay more comfortable and pleasurable. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

They were remodeling and it was a mess. No attempt to clean away some of the debris in the hallway that we had to walk through. No apology for the mess either. Used foodtray left in the hallway.
The little courtyard was a nice idea, except it had not been cared for. All there was, were weeds.
TV in the room did not work properly.
We were charged $10 for parking and I found a additional $2.50 charge on my credit card without explanation.
The room charge was in the high range for the poorest customer service we have had in any Holiday Inn Express and we have been in quite a few. Member PC 204740405.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Christian K,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that we were under heavy construction while you were staying here. We do charge for parking because we have security that patrols the parking lot throughout the night. As for your $2.50 charge, we looked into it and it was the charge for the large water bottle in the room. We are crediting the charge back to your account.

We do value your loyalty and hope that you'll give us another chance in the future.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We were in a King room with View of Harbor on 2nd floor, and what a view!!! Never heard other guests when the sliding glass door was closed. Bed was comfy and WiFi worked perfectly. AC worked great when we needed it. Location is perfect. Could walk to all of the harbor businesses, including restaurants, shops and ocean excursion/adventures. I think there were at least 6 restaurants in the plaza. It was worth the walk to sister Hotel (Sheraton) to use beautiful Hot Tub. The workout facility was adequate at Sheraton as well. Room had plenty of space for all of our gear (came for triathlon). Only complaints were: the coffee maker, it only made one cup at a time; and fridge had no freezer...no big deal. Linens/towel clean and loved the shampoo/conditioner. Front desk and house keeping were friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swimdesertrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear Swimdesertrat,

Thank you very much for your review! I will let the staff know how much you enjoyed staying with us. I know positive reinforcement always helps. We hope to see you again and thank you for stay at the Holiday Inn Express Ventura Harbor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
166.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
168.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
166.9 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
166.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
166.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
167.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor

Address: 1080 Navigator Dr, Ventura, CA 93001-4365
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range: £109 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly designed Holiday Inn Express Hotels & Suites Ventura Harbor. Once you visit you'll dream of coming back! Rejuvenate yourself on our breathtaking coastline views, attentive staff with an 'at your service' attitude & wide array of amenities for your comfort and enjoyment. Nestled between Majestic Mountain Ranges and the Sparkling Blue Pacific Ocean we are the destination you have been searching for! We are located at 1080 Navigator Drive Ventura, CA 93001. Just an hour up the coast from Los Angeles, (halfway between Malibu & Santa Barbara). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Ventura Harbor
Ventura Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing