We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay - Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Great, clean, scenic, and reasonably priced place to stay in Ventura, Channel Islands area. Service and check-in was easy, breezy and my harbor view room was perfect at sunset and sunrise.
Easy stroll to the Harbor Village where there are many shops, restaurants, ice cream and pizza stops, and other local finds. Highly recommend Andria's Seafood Restaurant (casual but outstanding!) and 805 Wine bar where you can sip wine and gaze out on the harbor (especially nice in early evening and during happy hour prices) - best place to find good wine in the harbor. The beach is also at the end of the harbor village road if you want a choice spot to take in the ocean air and snap sunset or sunrise photos. Location is superb; easy access to Hwy. 101, or Harbor Ave towards Channel Islands or McGrath Beach right down the road, or easy drive to Ventura pier and downtown Ventura sights. Island Packers is also close to the hotel and is the best place to go to book boating activities and sightseeing tours around the Channel Islands. Book early to get good rates and just be aware that there is an extra $10 charge for parking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollisJ_dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear hollisJ_dr,

Let me thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very thrilled to hear that your stay went great! Our location is well placed near the harbor with their great food, shops, boating, and the comdy club. We hope to you see you again in the future and thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

We booked a king suite, and were very impressed by the room and view! Pro's: we could see the gorgeous sunset right from our room, super comfy bed and pillows, huge tub with jacuzzi jets, in addition to a separate shower with multi-setting showerhead. It had a kitchenette with mini fridge, microwave, even pots and pans for using on the stovetop. Cons: wished we had bathrobes in the room, or that the couch wasn't such a terribly ugly fabric. Overall, expectations were exceeded. The view was lovely, we got a great night's sleep (no noise), and the staff were nice. Next time we'd probably go out for breakfast - we slept in and missed the complimentary continental breakfast and decided to order room service from Alexanders - the belgian waffles were like cardboard and came with really gross "maple syrup" packets.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Hello Megan W,

Thank you for taking time for reviewing our hotel. I'm glad that you had a great time at our hotel and I am very excited to provide the positive feedback to our staff! I want to apologize about the bathrobes but we do not provide them in the room but are available upon request. Again thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we do hope you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Nice at the harbor location. Older hotel but spacious room, very clesn and the staff is curteous. Five minute walk to a various variety of dining locations. Will stay here again if the need arises. Parking is an additional cost on your hotel bill.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank LDOEMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Hello LDOEMO,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very happy to hear that your stay was great during your stay. I'm also excited to tell the staff about your positive feedback as that will help boost moral! Again thank you for taking the time and we do hope to you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My problem with this hotel began immediately. The check-in form had a box I had to initial requiring a payment of $75 a night for checking out early. It would have been okay had I been told that at the time I made my reservation but I hate these surprises at check-in and check out. This was our vacation and we weren't planning on leaving for 5 days at any rate but this changed the tone. I was looking for more ways in which they were going to gouge me. No, there wasn't a resort fee, an energy surcharge, or a toilet paper usage fee but there was a $250 fine and risk of cancellation for smoking outdoors on the balcony. Again, not being smokers it didn't directly impact us, but why no warning before we actually arrived?
The next morning the elevator broke which provided me an opportunity to master the stairs from my top floor room. The sink was mostly stopped up and repeated requests to have it fixed did not get any results.
So what was good? The room had a beautiful view of the harbor from the balcony and from parts of the room. It was a large room with a good bed. The pillows were exceptional in that there were 2 clearly marked soft and 2 clearly marked firm pillows. The shower pressure was ok.
The breakfast was hot and far better than average for a motel. The hot Danish was a nice surprise.

Room Tip: Harbor view is excellent. Our room had the view from the balcony and parts of the room. Perhaps they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank California9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear California9

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am gald to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, our rooms amenities along with the harbor view. I also want to apologize that the fees where not explained during your check in time but our webpage and third party wepages do explain that our hotel is a non smoking hotel and it is subject to charges. As for the early depature fee it is only applied if you leave a few days or a day early after our normal check out time of 12pm, again sorry for any miscommunication and it's being forwarded to our staff about having it explained and presented clearly for our guests. Again thank you for taking the time as we do appreciate and value all of our guests inputs and comments about our hotel, feel free to contact us again when you do come out again so we can further make your stay comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, Ventura Harbor for two nights recently on business. We have stayed here several times before over the years and have found the hotel to be nicely located right on the harbor with nice views of the boats and the walkways around the harbor. The best rooms have harbor views (not all do) and are quite large and well equipped (all necessary amenities) with sliding doors to a balcony, a separate sink/dressing area and a good-sized bathroom with a large shower/tub. Breakfast was included in the rate and was good, similar to what many chain hotels are offering these days. It included breads, bagels and pastries, cereals, make-them-yourself waffles, eggs, juices and coffees/teas. More than sufficient to start you day. The beach, which is quite nice, is fairly close, being located on the opposite site of the harbor from the hotel and requiring about a 10 minute walk to get there. The hotels location, however, is not in the central part of Ventura, rather it is south of town and therefore requires a car to get to any of the attractions in the City of Ventura (about a 10 minute drive). It does, however make a good base of operations for surrounding areas (Santa Barbara, Ojai, etc.). There are some nice restaurants in the quaint part of downtown Ventura, near the Mission San Buenaventura. Overall the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor is a nice hotel with comfortable rooms in nice location and suits are needs well when we are working in the area.

Room Tip: Harbor view rooms, upper floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TangoTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear TangoTim

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear that your stay with us went well and we do hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Booked online for the first night of a 3 week road trip up the coast. Location looked good and we were hoping for a great night. When we arrived the check in was smooth and fast. As we walked to our room we noticed carpet layers installing carpet in some of the rooms and I was hopeful ours was already done. We opened our door on the second floor and were hit with a horrible sour and dirty smell. I opened the windows and doors to air it out but an hour later it was just as bad. I went to the front desk to ask for another room and was told they were totally booked and they gave us a bottle of air freshener. I was not happy to be paying $200 a night for a horrible room but what are you going to do. I sprayed the room and now it just smelled like dirty deodorizer. I will say the view was nice of the harbor but I would never stay at this hotel again. Was not a good start to a long awaited trip but fortunately all the other hotels we stayed at were very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie2400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Charlie2400,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Needless to say I'm surprised that we did not meet your expectations. We try to provide the highest quality to all our guest and we have fallen short. Our GM would love to talk to you more about your stay, if your willing, please contact the hotel. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

We had a king room harbor view suite, super comfy bed, whirlpool tub with living area and view of the harbor. We were very satisfied with our stay and will definitely return! Great value and courteous staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Hi Michelle O!

Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your recent stay with us. We really appreciate getting feedback and positive feedback can help boost morale. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your suite and the jetted tub. We love those rooms for the view and get a lot of great feedback on them. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
1.8 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
662 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor

Address: 1080 Navigator Dr, Ventura, CA 93001-4365
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range: £104 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly designed Holiday Inn Express Hotels & Suites Ventura Harbor. Once you visit you'll dream of coming back! Rejuvenate yourself on our breathtaking coastline views, attentive staff with an 'at your service' attitude & wide array of amenities for your comfort and enjoyment. Nestled between Majestic Mountain Ranges and the Sparkling Blue Pacific Ocean we are the destination you have been searching for! We are located at 1080 Navigator Drive Ventura, CA 93001. Just an hour up the coast from Los Angeles, (halfway between Malibu & Santa Barbara). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Ventura Harbor
Ventura Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing