We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food!”

Dargans Irish Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 431 Restaurants in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
St. John's, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Great Irish pub food. Happy hour also gives you half price apps! Definitely great food and at a good value. And the location in the centre of the downtown area is perfect.

Helpful?
Thank JennLynn1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    66
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best pub and restaurant on Main.”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I think Dargan's is the best for top notch bar pub food. The clams are a favorite of mine. The Shepard's Pie is grubbelicous the pot pies, roast beef dinner, I ate the bangers and mash one time even though I don't like pig. My GF really likes the pear and brie salad. The Guiness is always poured correctly with some good head on top. The wait staff is friendly, food is brought out with adequate promptness etc. It usually has a good mix of music playing from Bob Marley, Sublime etc. There is a bar area and a dinning area. The bar area essentially has the high top tables and of course the bar in nice weather they have screened windows that can be opened. The dinning area has a fire place a nice touch and a view of Main st.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank t t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Glad we had lunch here.”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We decided to come to Dargans during the St. Patrick Day parade in Ventura. We put our name on the list about 10:30. They said it would be abut 2 hours. We had a large party. Exactly at 12:30 our table was ready. The food was good. We had the onion rings, buffalo chickent tenders (a must), and the pastrami sandwich. All was great. The kids hamburger was giant. The place was really busy and we never felt neglected. The waitress was always checking on us and getting refils for the kids. She even colored the kids 7-up green!
Great place to go.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teewolfe26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Seafood Pot Pie”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

My coworkers and I came here while were in town. The atmosphere and decor is pretty cool. We were seated quickly. The service was very good. The drinks were good and reasonably priced. The food was excellent. I had never had seafood pot pie before and it was great. Their chocolate brownie with coffee ice cream was excellent. We stayed after dinner for more drinks and we're treated very well. Next time I'm in Ventura I am returning.

Helpful?
1 Thank ourdogsarecrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic Irish Food”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Very Authentic and Delicious Irish Food. The food is excellent. The atmosphere is rather average....too loud. The seating is uncomfortable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jika2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dargans Irish Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dargans Irish Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing