We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishing at the pier”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I loved my stay at the best western plus in Ventura. Since the family was all going fishing the location couldn't have been better. Cyndy was awesome and she even helped me out with finding the right rooms with the right amount of beds. Breakfast was good with eggs, sausages, potatoes, beans, waffles, cereal, yogurt and more!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ascreename
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Ascreename-
Glad to hear you had a great stay and that Cyndy at the front desk was so helpful. We look forward to seeing you again and hope you caught lots of fish!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

626 - 632 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

Really I should give this place an excellent. We are enjoying what we call our "Best Western Tour of Coastal California" with four nights in four separate coastal BWesterns all at 20% off the cheapest (AAA) rate all thanks to our good buddies here at Tripadvisor (an October promotion we were thrilled to snag). Ventura, Santa Barbara, Cambria (San Simeon) and Carmel. This is the least expensive with a rate of under $90 a night. The room is newly refurbished with a great bed, clean carpeting, stone vanity and really nice bathroom. There is great lighting, excellent air and the room is extremely well soundproofed. Pool and hot tub, although I forgot my swimsuit (but its cool and foggy, so who am I kidding?).

And, yes, if you are familiar with my Larkspur Landing rant, there were FABulous waffles this morning at the FREE breakfast buffet. Scrambled eggs, sausages, potatoes, yogurt, breads and bagels and cream cheese and NOT ONE, but TWO waffle makers, one which made BIG waffles and one which made for MINI waffles. Really folks, these were the very best waffles I've had in ages. THANK YOU Best Western.

I am wondering what defines the new "Plus" and "Premium" categories, so hopefully I'll learn more as we progress north along this beautiful coastline and go from $88 to $220 per night (yes, Carmel....).

This BW is well located to the SoCal car culture just off the 101, there's a cute little diner in the motel next door (Vagabond) if you want to catch dinner, but really the best thing is that Cafe Zach is only three blocks down the street -- we walked and were the ONLY pedestrians in sight. How San Francisco of us!

BW Ventura -- I was impressed!

(small note - the only thing penetrating what appear to be very well sound insulated rooms is the train track directly behind the motel. not sure you can escape that one but try for the rooms closer to the pool. also, the 2nd floor rooms would offer better visual privacy as all windows open onto the car court)

Room Tip: see the review. 2nd floor away from stairs will give you more privacy but you'll walk more. fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Hey Mark B!
From the entire staff Id like to thank you for your awesome review and your gracious words. This is why we do what we do, and strive to do our best. The satisfaction we receive from knowing our guests had a comfortable stay and enjoyed visiting Ventura and all it has to offer. It was a pleasure to chat with your briefly at check out and we absolutely look forward to seeing you on your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel was ok: the room was nice and clean and big enough. To be honest, we did expect more of a best western plus. The plus really did not add anything extra (except for the outdoor jacuzzi). The breakfast was ok and it is possible to sit outside.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marijke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Greeting's Marijke S!
We sure are grateful for your time in dropping us a line regarding your recent stay. We hope you to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Wasn't expecting that much from this motel, but was very pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The location is perfect! Close to the beach and downtown, restaurants and antique shops; whatever your interested in, is close by. AND it's super clean and the staff is friendly and helpful, and the price is right and besides all of that, you get breakfast! A very nice breakfast. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Hey Joanna L-
Well it sounds like you had a great time and comfy stay and we sure are pleased to know so! We appreciate you and your business and thank you for the kind review. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

You have some very good employees at this hotel! Cindy made our stay ...outstanding! We did enjoy the spa, a bit small but for us extremely intimate! Which we so enjoyed! Clean rooms. Great location to the freeways. Walking distance to downtown (so fun) and the beach! The breakfast my husband said was very good, the coffee hot and available. The rooms are equipped with everything one would need to make the stay relaxing!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Paula Rae M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Valued Guest-
Downtown Ventura is a gem. We think so and were glad you enjoyed it as well. We sure do hope to welcome you again in the future. Thank you so very much for your time and review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This hotel is in a really great location - close to the fairgrounds, to the beach and pier, and has a beautiful little park across the street. The breakfast offerings are wonderful. The weather in Ventura is usually beautiful, and we really enjoyed the pool and hot tub during our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Linda M-
Thank you for your wonderful review. It sounds like you had an enjoyable stay and we sure do appreciate you taking the time to share it with us. We look forward to seeing ya again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This motel is close to the ocean and it is a short easy walk to see it. There are great walking trails close by along the beach, and some nice places to eat while taking in the view.This is a great place to stay if you enjoy the ocean and beaches.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Lee C-
We sure do pride ourselves on being close to the ocean and two blocks from downtown. Were just walking distance from everything you need. Beautiful beaches, fun night life and during the day you can grab a bite to eat and do some shopping just a hop, skip and a jump from the hotel! We appreciate you and your business and sure do hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amanzi Hotel
Amanzi Hotel
#8 of 23 in Ventura
671 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura

Address: 708 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-2916 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range: £74 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to pier and beaches. 100 % smoking-free. Heated pool, friendly staff, and deluxe continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura Hotel Ventura
Best Western Hotel Ventura
Best Western Ventura
Ventura Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing