We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip - May 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Sacramento, United States
1 review
“Business Trip - May 2014”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The overall exterior appearance of this facility is average, but I was pleasantly surprised at the interior of the room. Look to be recently remodeled and very comfortable. Smaller room than I would normally stay in and the adjustability of the shower head was not available, but for the value I was satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello Steven L -
Thank you or taking the time to leave us a review. We hope that you may stay with us again one day and we will look forward to welcoming you! ;0)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    364
    137
    54
    35
See reviews for
244
348
58
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
255 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Easy to find property, & crappy location for parking larger vehicles. Rates are competitive for the (kind of depressed) area. There are a few okay places within walking distance for food.
There were a large number of rooms going thru some remodeling or reconstruction so there was a lot of trash and stuff blowing around the parking lot and the landscaping looked un-kept.

If your going to Ventura for a beach experience you will love this location. There's a footbridge very nearby to get you over the highway and onto the beach.

There's also a TRAIN TRACK right behind the hotel that carries a southbound freight train every 40 minutes or so starting at around 5am. The whole place vibrates which I found pretty funny at first, then I heard the train whistle. Believe me, you won't need a wake-up call at this place. If you want to sleep in at all,,, better bring earplugs and a football helmet!

The room was furnished with typical Best Western stuff. No elevator to the second floor.

Room Tip: Caution for travelers with larger than standard size. You will be parking far away in a sketchy publ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny_OI812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hey Danny_OI812-
Let me start by thanking you for sharing your stay experience with us. Yes its true, the train runs behind the hotel! The railroad was here long before us and is a part of our life, neighboring businesses and hotels as well a residence in this area. We do our very best to try and communicate this to guests and accommodate those who ask to be at the front of the hotel. Believe it or not the rooms in the back are our most popular because of the ocean view. Some people tell me they don't even hear the train their entire stay. I think everyone is different and we provide ear plugs at the front desk not because of the train but for light sleepers. But no football helmets! "LOL" good one! We truly do appreciate and enjoy hearing about all of our guest stays. So thank you again for your feedback! =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We spent three nights here, waiting for good weather conditions so we could kayak the Channel Islands
While the room was clean it was right next to the freeway and a busy train line - each train sounded its horn directly under our window. Both trains and cars ran all night so sleep was very hard to come by
Would not return

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elfinlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Elfinlouise-
I'm sorry the train was a hindrance for you. These are some of our most popular rooms because of the ocean view and guests request them often. Being here three nights I sure wish we would have know. We gladly would have moved you to a room that was more to your satisfaction and closer to the front of the hotel. We surly appreciate your feedback and we will use it as a reminder to continue to do our best to communicate the location of the train in this area. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogersville, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Lived in Ventura growing up and graduated from high school there so we were familiar with the city. This hotel has been there a long time. Not bad rooms, they have been upgraded with new countertops in the bathroom. The room was small but for one person it was okay. The breakfast was nice with scrambled eggs and sausage, waffles and all the other staples of a hotel breakfast. The biggest problem in Ventura is the number of hotels to choose from. Especially if you are looking for one of moderate price. They are currently renovating about 8 rooms so it wasn't as full as it could have been. I didn't hear the train or any other noise when inside the room. I would stay here again if I could get it at the price we paid.

Room Tip: If someone in your party has trouble with stairs, be sure to call the hotel directly to request a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Jan K-
Loved hearing about your stay! We are glad that we could be your home away from home while visiting your hometown ;0) We are putting in an elevator sometime in the next year. So yes for the time being if you prefer to be downstairs we recommend you request it or input that into the comment field when making your reservation. Thank you again for sharing your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I really enjoyed the atmosphere of the region - I was able to walk to the historic Mission and court house while soaking up the ocean breeze. The staff was great and the rooms clean. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Howard-Clark-Jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Mr. Howard-Clark-Jr!
Why thank you kindly for your review! We are glad to hear you got to enjoy plenty of our ocean breeze and our even visited our Beautiful mission! We sure hope if your future travels find you our way again, you will allow us to welcome you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The best thing about this motel is the location. You can walk to any of the restaurants and shops or to the beach. It has been refurbished so the rooms are clean, but nothing fancy. The view out of our window was of large containers in an adjacent parking lot. Most views are of the Best Western's parking lot.
If you are looking for a clean, reasonably priced place to stay, basically to sleep and have a free breakfast, this is an excellent choice. If you are going to be hanging around your room for any amount of time, you probably would be happier elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greeneyes7449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
greeneyes7449-
Why thank you for your review. We do find ourselves very fortunate because of our location. I mean between the gorgeous beach and many shops and yummy restaurants what more can you ask for?? =) We thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammoth Lakes, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The room air conditioner was broken and blew warm air only. There was a dog in the next room that barked and howled for two days and nights. Front desk staff said they couldn't help with either problem. They told me the manager was allowing the dog to stay so I would have to live with the noise. I hated the stay and won't ever go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
4 Thank Dacia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dacia C-
I am extremely sorry that you had a bad experience. We are a no pet hotel and this is actually the reason why so many people stay with us. All though by California state law we are required to accommodate guests with service animals. Guests sometimes do not know how to work an unfamiliar air conditioning unit and much too often do we trouble shoot it and it works just fine. Never hesitate to give the front desk a call. That's what were here for!! =) I apologize that you were not entirely pleased with your stay and hope you might give us another chance one day. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,072 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amanzi Hotel
Amanzi Hotel
#8 of 23 in Ventura
640 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura

Property: Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Address: 708 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-2916 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to pier and beaches. 100 % smoking-free. Heated pool, friendly staff, and deluxe continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura Hotel Ventura
Best Western Hotel Ventura
Best Western Ventura
Ventura Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing