We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great palce to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Ventura
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
192 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great palce to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is definitely a great place to stay on your travels through California. Perfect center town location. Very nice, clean and very helpful and friendly staff. We loved the breakfast, despite being vegetarian....A+++

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runningdevendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
harmonyrunner-
We try to have a variety of items at breakfast. We are always open to trying different things and appreciate suggestions! Its wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and we hope we will be lucky enough to welcome you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    350
    130
    52
    34
See reviews for
229
333
52
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

this was a really nice place to stay near the beach! the room was very nice and the breakfast was awesome. the best part of this motel was the customer service ~ Sorin, Carlos LLaca and Alfonso were very helpful and kind.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Kelly T,
Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate your review and always love to hear about our guests stays. Without it, we wouldn't be able to improve and be the best we can be! I will be sure to pass on your gracious words to Sorin, Carlos, and Alfonso!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upland, CA, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Pros: room was clean; amenities included a larger than usual refrigerator, Wi-Fi, microwave, coffee maker, etc. Breakfast offerings good, better than the more expensive hotel at which we had stayed two nights before. Cons: southern side of complex overlooks not only the ocean, but the 101 freeway and a train track--very noisy. Room not terribly spacious, so A/C also very noisy for room size. Bed a bit on the soft side, not good for back pain sufferers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Cameron L-
We love hearing about our guest stays. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Ventura was a surprisingly nice place to stay. This hotel, was comfortable and reasonably priced. The staff and front desk we friendly enough and the rooms equipped well and very spacious.

The highlight was that there is a good breakfast, including cooked food, which is excellent for a hotel at this price. I wish I had enough time to use the nice pool there too.

Unfortunately, there was an altercation at the hotel the night we stayed, there was a lot of banging and shouting, and the next morning I found that one of the rooms had its window smashed in, the police had been called. When mentioned to front desk, there wasn't much customer service, no discount etc. We we told that nobody called front desk during the incident, and that was that. Take that as a note for future visits here and elsewhere!

Otherwise, it was a nice place to spend a night.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are close to a frequent railway line, and the train uses it's horn frequent. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xenosapien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Xenosapien
I do apologize about the disturbance. If a noise disturbances occurs and the front desk is notified, we will make sure that it is addressed and if it does not stop we will take appropriate action there after. We really are sorry and encouraged any guest staying at any hotel to always call the front desk. We are here for you and are staffed 24 hours! We thank you fort your review and we appreciate you and your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
105 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel isn't terrible by any means, it just doesn't have much going for it. And for a place that doesn't have much going for it, they sure charge a lot.

The internet wasn't the best, but better than some other places I went after. The hotel has been somewhat refreshed, but only in part. The refreshed parts made the older parts stick out even worse. The room was pretty clean, though.

The check-out experience was very awkward. There were two people at the front desk and one was saying things to me while the other actually did the work to get me checked out. It wasn't the best way to end the experience.

If the price wasn't so high, I would have give them a very middle-of-the-road three stars.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
ralverde-
It is truly disappointing to hear you were less than satisfied with your stay. Our rates are competitive with the surrounding hotels. We offer a full hot breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. Sometimes guests will need assistance with the Wi-Fi and were glad to help. There is also a toll free number in every room that guests can call to have a tech help them connect to Wi-Fi or troubleshoot any issues. I hope you might give us a second chance in the future. Your feedback is appreciated! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

As another reviewer points out, from the outside this property looks like just another average hotel, the exterior in need of a little sprucing up for a BW "Plus". Judging from the inside and the pride of the manager, it's only a matter of time. The rooms are impeccably clean and new. When we checked out we mentioned one minor thing that needed fixing (a bent window frame that created a gap) to the owner or mgr---the fellow on the property who went out of his way to after we arrived to ask us how we liked the room, and gushed about how everything was just renovated. He gave us his card and I wish I had it handy to include his name here.

The official check-out time is late--- 4:00. We arrived around 2:30 and were told the particular room they were holding for us wasn't ready. We had asked for a quiet room so they assigned us one closer to the office, which was indeed quiet. That was a good thing.
The staff was busy cleaning and were working on rooms just a few down from ours. We ended up taking matters into our own hands when the desk didn't offer, and asked a guy who seemed to be supervising some aspect of the property if one of the maids if they could do ours next, since we were right there and waiting. He immediately agreed, and in turn asked a gal who happily complied, and when she finished we gave her a tip, for which she was delighted. My only criticism, therefore, is that this could have been requested at the front. It didn't make sense.

We were there for the same event as another review right here---the Mountains2Beach Marathon/Half Marathon. They write that they were checked in early, so perhaps it was the fact a particular room was being held. Nevertheless, we have no further complaint; rather only praise. I plan to do this event for a 3rd time next year, and like this time, I will make a reservation far in advance. I can see why this hotel is rated above the big name ones around the corner. The value is incomparable. With AAA I paid little above $100. All the hotels in the area were heavily booked at much higher rates because of the race.

I should mention that the beds are very comfy, the little products in the bath are really nice, the TV is good, as is the WiFi, and the race finish is right around the corner. I shouldn't be telling you all this if you are planning to go for this event, because I won't be able to get a room next time! :)

Another location plus is that the cute main street strip is just a couple of blocks away. There are lots of great restaurants there, but that's another subject.

Room Tip: We had no problem with street noise. On the other hand, the rooms in the back are close to the train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiggerflute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Hello tiggerflute!
Well thank you for a wonderful review. We are delighted to hear you will be back next year. Your feedback and loyalty are greatly appreciated. I do apologize that your room was not ready when you arrived. We look forward to welcoming you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed here a couple of times because we were attending events at the Ventura Fairgrounds, and I always had a nice clean room, good service, sheltered parking, and they always have a great breakfast. I would not hesitate to stay there again anytime I go to that area again for any reason. I complement them on running such a nice Best Western!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaz1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Gaz1941-
Well I would just love to say thank you or such a sweet review. We appreciate all feedback and we know life's busy. So when we do get a review we are gracious for the time our guests take to leave one. =) Hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
Address: 708 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-2916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to pier and beaches. 100 % smoking-free. Heated pool, friendly staff, and deluxe continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura Hotel Ventura
Best Western Hotel Ventura
Best Western Ventura
Ventura Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing