We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location + Value = Pretty Good!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Ventura
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Location + Value = Pretty Good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for the first days of the Ventura County Fair. Requested an upstairs room with view of beach, well aware of the proximity to the freeway and train tracks. We were very satisfied with our room, even though our "view of the beach" was through a small window next to the bathroom. We were apprehensive about the noise from the adjacent freeway and train tracks but were impressed with the soundproofing... we're very light sleepers, and we were not bothered at all by noise. YMMV, but if you leave the windows closed you probably will not be bothered.

Location of hotel is perfect, across the street from a park and next to a pathway to the beach, pier and fairgrounds. Five minutes to the quaint(and happening) downtown and a great option for a post-concert stay after a show at the Ventura theatre. Breakfast is very good also, adding to the value. Water pressure is poor, however.

For the price we found it hard to beat. We will be back as Ventura is a great quick beach getaway from LA and the Best Western Plus Ventura makes the trip very cost effective!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have at least some views of water, others only the parking lot or nearby businesses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cattmandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hey you cattmandu!
We are certainly pleased and appreciative of your awesome review. Thank you for taking the time to leave us one. We are glad to hear the location was very appealing and that the train was not a hindrance. We cant wait to welcome you back to Ventura on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    344
    129
    52
    34
See reviews for
225
329
51
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California Desert, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed one night in a 2 Queen bed room. The room was spacious, newly renovated, lots of pillows, comfy bed, and well layed out with a dressing/food prep area. The pool looked lovely and we walked to both the beach and downtown. We would happily stay here again! Be aware the walls are thin; wasn't a problem this trip as all neighbors kept the same hours.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank MoH280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
MoH280-
Its lovely to hear you and your daughter had a good visit to Ventura! Thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I always have good luck with Best Western, and the Ventura Inn was no exception. The rooms were clean, it looked like it was just remodeled! The free breakfast was very good! We were in walking distance of everything, beach, walking trail, downtown, and restaurants My sisters and I ate, drank, and were merry, and got our exercise in too!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Vicki G-
Thank you for your great review. Sounds like you and your sisters had a blast and this is so awesome to hear. We are glad that we played a part in a good trip! We appreciate you sharing your stay with us and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a very nice property, 5 minutes walking to the beach. The pool and the room were clean, and the bed was comfortable. It would have been nice to know ahead of time that the property is right next to the railroad tracks. Trains go through at all hours of the day and night. It wouldn't detour us from staying again, but it's not disclosed on the website.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Madge98503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Madge98503-
Thank you for telling us about your stay! Next time you call to make a reservation ask for a quiet room away from back and well do our best to accommodate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Always stay at this hotel when in Ventura. About two blocks to Main St., bars and food. Filling in characters because I must have 200 minimum. Filling in characters because I must have 200 minimum. Filling in characters because I must have 200 minimum.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank roscoeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
roscoeman!
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you and your loyalty. See ya soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

If possible, i would prolly rate it at 3.5. It really isn't bad. You can't beat it for the price. Conveniently located within walking distance to the beach (although the views could be better.) The pool is nothing to write home about. But the rooms are nice, decent bathrooms and comfortable beds. Always well cleaned. The staff is friendly. My main complaint is that it is right near the train tracks and this train runs by (loudly blowing it's horn) at all hours of the night. Ear buds help.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Mills2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
A_Mills2014-
We appreciate your review, thank you! We are always so thankful when our guests share their stay experience with us. The train has been here way before us and is part of our life as well as the other hotels, businesses and residence in this area. We do our very best to accommodate guests who would like to be closer to the front and we do provide ear plugs for whatever reason here at the front desk. We hope that you might visit us again in the future, thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Don't judge a Hotel by it's cover. The outside of this hotel looks a bit rundown. Since we made the reservation on line, My wife and I were a little apprehensive when we saw the the outside. The inside of the place was clean. The bathroom as newly renovated with tile shower/bath with granite tops, and microwave, and refrigerator in the room. The breakfast was hot, fresh, good, and provided a variety of choices that would satisfy almost anyone. More attention should be given to the outside of the place including the pool and hot tub. All in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank richardfP1649TP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
richardfP1649TP-
Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay. We will be updating the property some in the next year so stay tuned! Thank you for your review and business. =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
Address: 708 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-2916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to pier and beaches. 100 % smoking-free. Heated pool, friendly staff, and deluxe continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura Hotel Ventura
Best Western Hotel Ventura
Best Western Ventura
Ventura Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing