We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Pass Pete's”

Pete's Breakfast House Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 431 Restaurants in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Santa Clarita, CA
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Don't Pass Pete's”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Went there for breakfast and we were not disappointed! Service was great - friendly and attentive. The food was so yummy! I had the feta scramble - three eggs, feta cheese, spinach, mushrooms and onions. It was chock full of the veggies and cheese, and cooked just right. You have to have their biscuits along with the homemade strawberry jam, it's worth all the calories!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Islandgirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    102
    20
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A must-go every trip to Ventura”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

A delicious fun local restaurant which we must visit every trip to Ventura.
My husband has tried different menu items and has enjoyed all of them but I always get the strawberry waffle--a delicious waffle with fresh strawberries and bananas, a small amount of chocolate sauce, homemade granola and vanilla ice cream! Pretty and delicious!
It is always crowded so go early if you don't want to wait.
We have nothing had anything but excellent service and the prices are comparable to any similar breakfast house.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melaney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Do lunch instead and avoid the breakfast rush”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I made a point of dropping in here for lunch on a day trip from LA after reading some TripAdvisor reviews. Since I didn't arrive until 1:30-1:45ish even the nooners had moved on, but Pete's was still open, which worked out really well for me since it wasn't crazy busy. Parked in the vacant lot next door.

When I came in I was offered to sit wherever I wanted and was immediately given a coffee. The waiter came and took my omelet order 2 minutes later, then returned shortly afterward to confirm the type of peppers I wanted. About 5 minutes later the omelet arrived, along with some of the best sourdough toast I've ever tasted, which is no small remark because I'm a bit of a sourdough freak. I asked about where i could buy the bread but he told me it came from a non-retail source. I almost cried LOL

Everybody seemed to be a local except me, always a good sign. Lots of yukking it up between the kitchen and wait staff who seemed to be enjoying that the day was winding down.

Washrooms are a bit spartan but they fit the decor and it's an old building. Cost about $10.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank threadhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Breakfast stop”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This quaint restaurant is right along the main road in to Ventura and serves up a good variety of breakfast options at reasonable prices. They make a spicy habanero sauce that is worth a try, hot but not blow your head off hot, which is great. Friendly and efficient service leaves you feeling satisfied.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dbnguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Ridge, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breakfast you wish could last all day.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Waw!!!!!!! This is a quaint diner that does everything right! From the coffee, to the the rest of the meal. Portions are large, and simply delicious. We were able to beat the rush, but there and be up to a 20 minute wait for a table, but it is well worth it!!! Planning the next trip to Ventura, just to have breakfast at Pete's!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KLatka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pete's Breakfast House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pete's Breakfast House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing