We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Italian Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capriccio

Capriccio
Ranked #17 of 423 Restaurants in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I loved that there was olive oil and vinegar at the table ready with excellent bread upon being seated. The food was rich and full of amazing flavor. I had the classic lasagna with a creamy tomato sauce. So good! The portion size was great too. Not to much and not to little. Our server was great as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jonatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    31
    7
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“What a surprise - a lucky find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

So we are driving around Main St Ventura, CA looking for a place to get dinner and stumbled by luck into Capriccio. We had spent the day in Ojai and we were headed back to LA. What a great find! Super food, enjoyable atmosphere and excellent service. We will definitely jump off the freeway on our way up or down the coast next time we are in the area and grab dinner here again. All around excellent dining experience that is not to miss.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always and ever consistant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I can always know what I'm going to get at this restaurant. The Caesar salad is crispy, the chiopino fantastic and the other food great. It gets so noisy after six that you cannot hear the person on the other side of the table. Look before you enter or have a wordless lunch or dinner.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Consistently the best in Ventura”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Restaurants in downtown Ventura come and go - pretty fast. But Capriccio's is here to stay! I dined there when it first opened (when I lived there) and I continue to make sure I dine there when I visit from out of state. I have family there that frequents this place a lot as well. The owner is great and treats her staff and customers well. The food is always good and it continues to be a good price as well. This place is always busy and stands the test of time - a hard thing to do in Ventura!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cramsekaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The BEST dining experience in Ventura!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Okay, I rarely ever go on about a restaurant. We stumbled upon this place by accident and so glad we did! The atmosphere is wonderful. The staff is always friendly and happy to see you. I have been to this restaurant several times now and each time is a little bit of heaven. Their Irwin salad is to die for people! Everything I have ordered has always been a wonderful. If your passing through or staying in Ventura, find this restaurant and eat there! You will not be sorry you did!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DADuv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capriccio also viewed

 

Been to Capriccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing