We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were doing a road trip and were only passing though Ventura. All of our hotels had been pre booked before we left. When we checked in, we asked the gentleman checking us in what there was to do for the evening in terms of restaurants and shopping. He said there was absolutely nothing to do. We explained that we had done research prior to coming here and he said that we were wrong and that there was nothing to do in the local area. He was not helpful at all. When we got up to our room we were right on the railway track and at the tiome our whole room shook with a train going past. We knew then and there that neither of us could sleep through that so we went back downstairs and asked if there was any way we could be moved to the opposite side of the hotel. We were told absolutely not which we understaood as they were full. We were woken up at 5am though by a train going through and sounding its horn. Was not the nicest of wake up calls. The service definitely needs to be improved. Very disappointing!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandiceMendesdaCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex T, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback and we apologize that you were not given more information in regards to what our wonderful city of Ventura offers. There are plenty of dining & shopping choices nearby. Besides having C-Street restaurant located in the hotel where we offer a wonderful Braised Beef Short Ribs plate and our Aqua Lounge where you will find the best Blood Mary in town there are also great dining options just a few blocks from the hotel that offer great seafood, Italian, burgers as well as vegan options. Ventura also offers great shopping. The Camarillo Outlets is just a short drive from the hotel or downtown Ventura itself where you will find antique and boutique shops. We will absolutely address these options to all our staff and ensure they are all well informed and helpful.
Although we do have some guests that use the train to travel up and down the California coast to reach our property and do not mind the train we also understand that it causes frustrations for some of our guests and we do our absolute best to accommodate everyone's needs. We will exhaust every option to ensure a wonderful stay for all.
Once again we value your feedback. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

738 - 744 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

This hotel was perfect. Situated on the beach, the view was amazing. You literally walk out of your hotel room and your steps away from the sand. The front desk was very helpful and friendly and we received a quick check-in. We did book with the Government rate so we received free parking and breakfast. The breakfast was very bland but it was free so I couldn’t complain much. There was a game room, you can bring your pets, and if you wanted to hold a special event, this is the hotel for you. The room was pretty basic. Two beds, a tv with 40 channels, and a restroom. The wallpaper was peeling in the restroom and I had to flush the toilet twice each time I used it for the toilet paper to actually go down. I’m not too sure how “green” that is but that’s what we had to do.

Room Tip: I would recommend requesting a room away from the main street. It is situated right next to AMTRAK b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syteseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

One day was not even enough time to enjoy this great property. This beautiful tower in the sky offers amazing views and a nostalgic city life that I could certainly get used to.
Very clean rooms with a private balcony to watch the sunrise. I walked out to the quaint community up the street and found great vintage shops, boutique clothing stores, and cool pubs with live music. But I couldn't wait to get back to my hotel to sit out on the best beach front patio anywhere. Great luxury furniture to lounge on and fire pits to hang around. It was only Monday night and it was very lively with lots of local just hanging out.
I also have to mention the great staff. Everyone was so friendly and happy. My hands were full in the morning and someone ran over and got me coffee and made my oatmeal. Turns out he was the GM of the hotel, talk about service! I can't wait to come back here for leisure and enjoy the place even longer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Avs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Perfect hotel for my business at hand and my SUP boarding! Hotel is ideally located in Ventura and the BEST location to launch my SUP paddleboard...directly in front of hotel!! The Coconut Crusted Calamari Strips in the Aqua Beachfront Bar are the BOMB!! Totally loved the Ahi Tartar as well!

Room Tip: Higher the better...the hotel is on the beach!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToddT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda N, Front Desk Supervisor at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you so much we appreciate appreciate your feed back.

Im so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and you were able to enjoy our beautiful Ventura Beach. We look forward to your next stay with us and like to recomend for your next stay with us that you try our Hang Ten Surf Package.

Hang Ten Surf Package includes:
•One night accommodation & Free Parking at our hotel
•Two hours of Private Surfing Lessons
•$10 coupon per room or dining at C-Street Restaurant located inside our Hotel

We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Spent only 2 days at the beach in Ventura awesome old hotel . Rooms very nice and clean. Ocean view (maybe I can see the Ocean from my room! Staff every nice! Location couldn't have been better. Walking distance to downtown restaurants and shops. Great night life area. The Santa Ana winds kept it very warm for October.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smarshallaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

C Street beach (California St. Beach), Ventura is where the Crowne Plaza is located. Nice pool, Aqua Bar and Resturant and has miles of beautiful beach out front. Very pleasant atmosphere, very friendly employees, internet, & parking. I was referred here by RCI travel, and I am happy I chose this hotel. Very reasonable, for ocean front hotel.

Room Tip: South side of the building, closest to the beach, on the 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeLa2pups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda N, Front Desk Supervisor at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank You so much for staying with us. So delighted to hear that the recommendation was a great one. Hope you were able to enjoy everything that Ventura has to offer and look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We had a very bad experience at this "older and not very updated" hotel.
Location was its only plus during our stressful 2 day stay in Sept.... Right on water and boardwalk and close walk to restored downtown restaurants.
Room was small and dirty on arrival and in bad need of repair. Security locks broken, balcony filthy and needing paint.
Kept up until 4 AM first night by unruly Comicom guests that Hotel management and security could not control. Management comped the night but should have done more.

Room Tip: Higher is better for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rllbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear rllbol,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. It is great to know you liked the location of our hotel. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with your room accommodation and the service you received. Though this matter has been resolved in a timely manner, I regret this has negatively impacted your stay with us. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.2 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,125 reviews
2.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
166.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Address: 450 Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001-2708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ventura
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range: £102 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach between Santa Barbara and Malibu. Near downtown Ventura Beach wine tasting, boutiques, outdoor cafes, and nightlife, Seaside Park, Ventura County Fairgrounds. Outdoor dining with firepits at Aqua Beachfront Bar and C-Street Restaurant. Walk along the Promenade Boardwalk to Amtrak and the historic Ventura Pier. 19,000 square feet of function space including the 6660 sf "Top of the Harbor" Ballroom with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Santa Barbara Channel and the Channel Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel Ventura
Ventura Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing