We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome beach views, excellent location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Oakland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome beach views, excellent location!”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We booked this room through a Priceline bid and were delighted to find that its location was right on the beach. Each room has a balcony, ours was overlooking the beach with a beautiful view. We had brought our bicycles along on this trip and were pleased to find that the beach side bike path ran right outside the front door of the hotel. We took a lovely sunset bike ride and another one the next morning.

Each room has a small fridge and a microwave, and while we didn't avail ourselves of it (opting for a bike ride instead) the bar/restaurant had a happy hour with tempting sounding tapas at very reasonable prices - if we are too lazy to exercise next time we will try out the cocktails and calamari!

One thing to mention, they charge $12 extra for parking, but we found out too late that there is a free public parking facility right next door - so if you want to save money, it is only a few steps further than the hotel's parking lot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the beach and as high up as possible, for the most sweeping views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2worldcitizens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda N, Front Desk Supervisor at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to express your experiance and choosing our hotel for your mini getaway. Im so happy to hear you were able to enjoy the beautiful bike path we have located right outside our hotel. Its absolutely the most enjoyable path that offers a beautiful view of the ocean and sunset. I apologize for the confusion with the parking the parking next door is a city structure and they do have a $8 parking charge so it does help guest to save a bit. We hope see you soon and thank you for taking the time IN expressing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    394
    239
    167
    117
See reviews for
293
436
57
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Having driven from Barstow, CA to here via LA, Hollywood, Beverley Hills, then finding Santa Barbara was FULL, we settled for the first decent place up Pacific Coast Highway that had Rooms (238 miles that day & 3,000 so far in this trip alone). Hotel is Ocean-side of the Highway & railway line, both of which you cross from Ventura, the town, which looked quite quaint, by local standards.

Nice Room on 8th Floor (805), as it had a small balcony (too windy that evening to really get the benefit) and a view of the Pier.

We had a beer in the Lounge/bar, but it was quite rowdy as there was a 'live' Soccer game (English Premier League) being shown.

Dinner at 'Aloha' opposite Hotel. We did not go into Ventura due to our being knackered and the weather was pants.

Breakfast was good/very good; lots of choice, good Service/coffee, and quite prompt, which for us, as we needed to get back on the road, was important.

Checking-out took a while & the Car Parking arrangements are a bit of a palaver - over engineered.

We did fit in a stroll along the promenade in the morning (headed North) & very pleasant it was too

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safariholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda N, Front Office Supervisor at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank You for sharing your time with us.

We are delighted you choose to stay with us after a long trip and glad you had a a good experince.

I will be sharing your review with the staff and will work on making our check out process a more easy and less time consuming one. We look forward to your next stay with us and we appreciate your feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I was expecting a bad stay when we got there, but the room was lovely, with stunning views. In the evening we wanted to sit outside but the fire pit. It took them a while to get it lit, but the restaurant manager came to personally light it for us. We ordered a drink outside and then moved inside when it got too cold. Overall the service was great, the room was clean, and I'd definitely go back again! Also very close to really great restaurants!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda N, Front Desk Supervisor at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Good Evening

Thank You so much for taking the time and sharing with us your experiance. We are delighted to hear that it was a good time with the exception of one. We are glad you selected our hotel and we look forward to your next girls night out.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

IHG Gold member having stayed in associated hotels across the world, this was the poorest example of service we have experienced at a Crowne Plaza Hotel. It started off poorly at check-in and got worse. We headed to our room on 7th floor with three key cards. None worked so back to reception where they reprogrammed with no apology but the sort of look to suggest you clearly have no idea how to use the room key! None of them still worked so this time I returned. At least there was an apology forthcoming but no offer to send someone up to check the door. A further reprogram of the cards so said perhaps third time lucky. Luckily I met a maintenance chap on the way back up and explained that I thought the lock was faulty. So I tried all three cards yet again and still no luck. He tried and got the same result unsurprisingly to me. He tried his master key card and still no luck. He then used a mechanical key to let us in the room. He removed the faulty lock and carried out some maintenance over the next 30 minutes. At no time were we offered an alternative room. Eventually he repaired the lock and all was well for a couple of days on that score.
Our next issue was with the breakfast vouchers we had been given on check in. We had only been given two vouchers despite there being three of us. I did not spot this until the following morning. We were checked in for 4 nights and that was clearly written on the two vouchers we had been given. At breakfast we were asked for our vouchers and they were taken despite me saying that we still had 3 more days. The breakfast waitress was very curt with us and insisted that we needed a voucher for each day and for each person.
So I went back to the check-in desk to explain and was then told that we were only entitled to one breakfast each but could take it on any of the days. None of this was explained and seems odd to have a separate Rewards breakfast area for club members if it is only for one day's use. To add insult the selection was exceedingly poor to almost non existent. Suffice to say we did not eat at the hotel on any other occasion. The reception staff were hardly helpful though just about civil. We were treated as inexperienced travellers whereas quite the opposite is true.
The room itself was tired. The bathroom shower curtain was only just held at one end where the tile had come away from the wall. The hair dryer was only just held by a very loose screw in the wall. Bathroom itself was very small. TV was a very old CRT monitor.
I chose an ocean view, presumably at extra cost, although in fact from what we could tell all rooms had an ocean view of sorts. Our room could not have been further from the ocean unless you count the three floors immediately above us. We were right next to the road, the level crossing gates and the rail track and consequent loud trains.
Overall the staff were mostly surly and the hotel survives by its ideal location for downtown Ventura and had been recommended by family locally. They were embarrassed. Would I recommend this hotel? Yes but only if you needed the location and were only staying one night otherwise absolutely not until some serious improvements take place in both attitude and replenishment. We were told that parts have been upgraded - it would be helpful to know which parts. As a gold member I expected better.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on lower floors especially roadside and rail side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenaspell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear lenaspell,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the to see the service and accommodations received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were pleased to see that you have been in contact with our IHGCare department regarding this experience and they have been able to fully address your issues. We have shared your additional comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ventura hotels

Salzburg, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel. The first one was with my girlfriend (we received a nice upgrade to a suite at that time).
This time I was there with 4 buddies of mine. We booked two rooms with two queen beds. Our two rooms were right next door to each other, located on one of the higher floors (we booked the shop and stay package - 50$ gift certificate per room for the outlet mall in Camarillo).
The view was quite nice (beach and pier). Everything was clean and each room had its own small balcony.
We received 4 free drink vouchers for the bar for being an ihg-member - free drinks are always appreciated :)
We enjoyed the night life of Ventura for quite some time. Therefore we asked for a late check-out and it was no problem to stay in our rooms until 2pm - thanks again.
I would certainly stay at this property again !!
Try a burger at the Habit Burger Grill - delicious !!

Room Tip: Be aware that all of their rooms do not face the ocean directly. Request a room on one of their hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda N, Front Desk Supervisor at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Im delighted to hear that not only was your stay a memorable one but we were able to provide great service.

We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

You have to wonder if the folks at IHG realize that there is a hotel in Ventura that is masquerading as a Crowne Plaza. This is really like a Holiday Inn (before the make over) and, according to sources, it was indeed a former Holiday Inn. Paid for an ocean view, which I got, located close to the street (furthest away from the ocean) so got to enjoy the street and train noise. I'm a "Club Level" IHG customer but there was no offer of the club level for me--just a coupon for one free drink in the bar. When I asked if I could get another because my wife was along, the answer was "No." The cocktails were nothing to write home about. I ordered a rum gimlet which arrived with no stir stick and "raw" lime juice--no simple syrup to take the edge off. My wife had a Jameson & Ginger that was "flat," little to no carbonation. Except for the location, I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go high and near the ocean, NOT over-looking the pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex T, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
We want to sincerely apologize that your stay was anywhere less that satisfactory. Anytime a guest checks in we always find the best available room for them upon check in. The rooms higher up and closest to the ocean are "high demand" rooms and those go rather quickly. If at anytime during your stay you feel that the room wasn't adequate please inform the front desk and we will do our best to accommodate your needs.
As a IHG member our Gold and Platinum members always receive one welcome drink coupon upon check in. All members receive complimentary Wi-Fi. We always accommodate every guests needs as much as possible we are sorry this was not the case.
When we prepare any drinks or meals we always try to support the local economy by getting fresh produce from local farmers, this is the reason you received fresh lime juice with your drink. We also try to minimize waste by serving all our drinks with only cocktail straws.
Once again we want to express a sincere apology that your stay did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night hotel room was so so if you wanted to use the water provided it would cost you 5 dollars, the carpets were dirty in the lobby and the place was dated, the front desk were ok but did not encourage you to use the hotels facilities and it was more of this is it find everything yourself.

We had to pay 12 dollars to park shame on the crowne plaza for charging hotel guests a parking fee.

We did however find a very nice Italian restaurant in town called fiore the food was good and reasonably priced and the staff locked after us very well I would recommend this as a very good place to eat unlike the crowne plaza

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jellyfaceuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda N, Front Desk Supervisor at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experiance.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience and the expectations that were not met during your stay. We are currently updating our hotel and hope to have all of these outstanding issues fixed and in good conditions for all of our guest.

I do apologize for the inconveniance with parking but given that our location is withen walking distance of Down Town Ventura and a few steps from the water, we do inform guest of additional city parking next door. Parking is a high demand given our location, Im glad you injoyed Cafe Fiore such a great restaurant and high attraction to Ventura County.

Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventura
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.2 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,088 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
7.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Property: Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Address: 450 Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001-2708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ventura
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach between Santa Barbara and Malibu. Near downtown Ventura Beach wine tasting, boutiques, outdoor cafes, and nightlife, Seaside Park, Ventura County Fairgrounds. Outdoor dining with firepits at Aqua Beachfront Bar and C-Street Restaurant. Walk along the Promenade Boardwalk to Amtrak and the historic Ventura Pier. 19,000 square feet of function space including the 6660 sf "Top of the Harbor" Ballroom with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Santa Barbara Channel and the Channel Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel Ventura
Ventura Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing