We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should of slept outside ” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Ventura
Ventura, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Should of slept outside ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

I was excited looking at the hotel on the site. Looked great for the price. No price would of been best. Patio door is cheap and you can hear everything. We asked for a quite room. The walls are so thin you can here everything. Room looks outdated, bathroom looks like a side job. So disappointed!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Westcoasttraveler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda N, Front Desk Supervisor at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank You for taking the time to share wih us your experience. I am sorry to hear that there were certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your expectations in regards to the rooms we are currently remodeling our hotel and hope to have all these outstanding issues corrected as soon as possible. We appreciate the feedback and hope you give us the oppurtunity to correct them.

Have a great evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    360
    226
    163
    115
See reviews for
270
407
52
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

The first room we were given smelled so bad, including the pillows (the wife said they smelt like a dirty man) we had to request a new room. The door stuck and it was very difficult to get the key card to work. We did request a new room and was given one without argument and the Hotel employees were very helpful and kind. The room we were given in exchange, one floor down was a lot cleaner and did not smell bad, although there was no view, it was better then having a dirty room. The toilet did leak and made an awful noise, so I fixed it by addjusting float and water line. Might be a good thing to have maintenence look at these things before you offer rooms
Over all theHotel employees were great, and it was nice to get away!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jesse J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda N, Front Desk Supervisor at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We disappointed to hear that your standards and expectations were not met and will be sharing this experience with all of our departments. This way can insure every guest receives exceptional service. We are delighted to hear that our Front Desk staff was able to provide good service and take care of the matter, we cannot wait to welcome you next time you visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Have stayed here before, and it is a large comfortable hotel right on the ocean. All rooms have ocean view, which is nice. Room was ample, bathroom very small for two people, barely sufficient for one. Breakfast and dinner were both good. Location is good for walking the boardwalk, but there are quite a lot of homeless people to be seen, which is not a good feeling at night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda N, Front Desk Supervisor at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for you're kind review and we look forward to your next vist with us.

Have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, CA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

First, the positives:
1. great location .. right on the beach, beautiful boardwalk, great views. Also, we got a group deal and the price was very fair.
2. Room service - breakfast was tasty and service was efficient.
3. Desk people were pleasant and helpful at check-in and check-out.

However, there were some areas for improvement:
1. The parking: There is a very small parking lot, that the surfers also use (and evidently have a system, where one leaves, giving the space to another and handing off the ticket). We were directed to a public lot which wasn't far, and the hotel did stamp our ticket. However, our friends found a "lot full" sign there, and were told by the seemingly uninterested desk clerk that there were parking areas further north . .several blocks, it appears! (fortunately, they finally went around the "lot full" sign and found it wasn't full!).
2. Room: typical hotel room, but a small bathroom. Balcony with small table/chairs (and view of the ocean in our room). Nice that there is a small fridge and microwave as well as the 1 cup coffee maker. However, we had the king room, and there was this empty space with a lamp next to it. . .where a chair/ottoman (as shown in hotel photos) should have been. So, there was only the desk chair to sit at. .
3. Internet: we were told there would be free Wi-Fi included with our rate. .but it didn't work well (kept getting "voucher expired" messages). . .front desk wouldn't answer the phones for our queries and the "help" number given didn't call us back until AFTER we were in bed and trying to fall asleep.
4. Preparedness. . .this was a very busy weekend, with sports teams, weddings, etc. and they just didn't seem well prepared for the numbers (or were understaffed).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DrMAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear DrMAG,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, helpful staff and the location of the hotel. It is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I am sorry to hear that there were certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your expectations with regard to parking facility, room accommodation and WIFI connectivity. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and will helps us improve the facilities and services we offer to our guests.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We just returned from a weekend stay at the Crowne Plaza, Ventura Beach. Very disappointed to say the least. I have stayed in many Crowne Plaza properties and have always been beyond satisfied. The room was not clean. The hotel was very loud and parking was tough to say the least. I never saw a valet or bellman. They charged us for a suite and called our room a suite. There is no way I could ever say that was a suite. It was a fair sized room but not a suite! My suggestion is to keep driving and stay in Santa Barbara!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda N, Front Desk Supervisor at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Ms. Georgia

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. On behalf of the Front Office we apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with us. Its disappointing to read that we were not able to meet our hotel standards.

Regarding your room type we offer two types of suits, one being our Parlor Suits witch offers two connecting rooms one containing a living area with a pull out couch, complete restroom and two balconies. The connecting room contains a king size bedroom, complete bathroom and a balcony. From our records it looks like you booked the King Executive suit witch offers a king size bed, full bathroom, pull out couch and two balconies. I apologize if you were expecting a different type of suit.

Unfortunately the weekend that you stayed with us the hotel was at a full capacity and was a host to many sport groups as well as to our honorable troops and their families. I will be sharing your review with my managers and will work on improving these issues and hope that you give us the opportunity to review them.

Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had an opportunity to stay here, it was a nice place, nothing real posh or fancy. Comfortable bed, small 1 cup coffeepot :-( Nice ocean view, saw the sunrise for the 2 days we stayed. Later we were surprised that we were charged $12.00 a day to park. Not that used to pay for parking in Ventura.

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda N, Front Desk Supervisor at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to your next stay with us. We do apologize for the inconvenience and confusion with parking we do inform guest of the city structure next door witch is a little more affordable we do apologize that you weren't informed upon check in in regards to parking and I will touch base with our Front Desk agents. We appreciate your feed back and look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had fun with our friends. Dinner and breakfast were both great. We love the Aqua Bar and enjoyed our appetizers before the party started at 8PM. The room on the top floor was beautifully decorated and the music the first couple of hours was good. But later it got too loud to enjoy. It was nice that we could escape the loud music by hanging out in our room and then come back for the balloon drop and champagne at midnight. Biggest disappointment was the uncomfortable bed and our friends said the same about theirs. None of us slept very well, even though the beds were said to be new. Lots of positives, but the negatives were significant enough that we wouldn't spend $500 to do it again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLEVTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda N, Front Desk Supervisor at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and concerns. We are currently renovating our hotel and I 'am excited to share that by the end of the week all of our rooms will have new brand new mattresses. I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay we hope to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.2 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Property: Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Address: 450 Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001-2708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ventura
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach between Santa Barbara and Malibu. Near downtown Ventura Beach wine tasting, boutiques, outdoor cafes, and nightlife, Seaside Park, Ventura County Fairgrounds. Outdoor dining with firepits at Aqua Beachfront Bar and C-Street Restaurant. Walk along the Promenade Boardwalk to Amtrak and the historic Ventura Pier. 19,000 square feet of function space including the 6660 sf "Top of the Harbor" Ballroom with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Santa Barbara Channel and the Channel Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, IHG and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel Ventura
Ventura Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing