We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once was enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Think of a budget quality motel - no in-room fridge, basic cable, single sink & tiny bathroom shelf, rough towels (one quite torn), thin walls w/lots of street noise plus an active freight railroad line running practically right next door - & you've got this place, except it's a large impersonal hotel that's way overpriced even at "special rate" of $122/night. Thank goodness for my "white noise" app, which made sleep possible despite the hubbub. Best note was friendly front desk and housekeeping staffs.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Don L,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to read that you appreciate our friendly hotel staff and housekeeping service. However, I am sorry our room amenities did not meet your expectations and apologize for any inconvenience these items may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback and allowing us the opportunity to address these issues with the appropriate people and departments.

Again, thank you for your review. We hope you will allow us an opportunity to better serve your needs in the near future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

711 - 717 of 1,355 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

I've stayed at the Crowne Plaza Ventura many times on business, but my most recent stay was completely unacceptable. Since my concerns were not addressed by management, I feel compelled to inform others.

First off, the parking situation is poor and if the lot is full you have to walk from a public lot on the other side of the property. All of the parking has to be paid for.

Check in can be arduous if there is a convention or large group.

Most of the rooms are actually very nice with a view of the ocean, so ask for a high floor. But, at all costs avoid Room 200. That room is disabled accessible and isn't frequently used unless they are at maximum capacity. The room is in very poor repair with rust in the bathroom, mold on the ceiling and ants roaming around. (Not kidding.)
The outdoor lounge and foyer is directly below the balcony so cigarette smoke will blow through the sliding door.

I would imagine other low floor rooms could have similar challenges.

This is usually a good place to stay but check capacity before booking.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Mark R,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights last month while visiting friends in Oxnard, Ca. It was a nice,
comfortable room but the location was what sold us. I was a little surprised that it is billed as a "crown plaza", because it was not fancy by any standard. Our room was farthest away from the freeway and we both slept well without any freeway noise disturbance at all.
My husband had his surfboard with him, so he was able to just walk down to the beach and surf
each morning. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant while we were there, however, it looked like
a good crowd was there each morning and evening as we would pass by.

Room Tip: Try to stay as far from the freeway as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We thought a hotel on the beach sounded like a great idea but the Crowne Plaza was horrid. Not only are they next to the freeway but they are also next to the railway lines so you get the ambiance of traffic and trains which block out any sound of the waves. The rooms were dirty and cramped, the wall paper was peeling and the maids forgot to clean our room. When we asked for extra towels (since ours handn't been replaced) the towels they us gave could been used as loofas! The Best Western would have been cleaner and more pleasant.

Room Tip: If you must stay here get as far towards the beach as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear Elizabeth K,

We would love to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

I stay here a few times a month. Not because its nice. It's the only hotel on the beach. Years back this was a holiday inn. They change a few thing in the room and called it a crown plaza. This room bath room is About 7'x5' a joke. This time tub takes 15 minutes to drain and the stopper doesn't work well. I'd expect better from the crown these rooms are run down time for a overhaul.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Tommy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Tommy L,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the bathroom in your room prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here on a business trip. The location is perfect. The room showed it's age. The bathroom looked like it had been refreshed but some trim was coming apart. The bed cover had some sort of stain so I used the other bed. The gym was nice. The restaurant had issues. The food was good but the service was horrible. I waited almost 10 minutes to get seated. I waited almost double that to even get my order taken. The bar was good, good atmosphere. I was able to walk downtown from the hotel so that was nice. All in all it was good but could have been a whole lot better.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank ourdogsarecrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear ourdogsarecrazy,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for the experience you had with the unsatisfactory service you have received in the restaurant. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Room service is very quick, and the food it good, if not great. I ordered the mussels appetizer, among other things, and they were fresh and well-prepared. The staff is friendly and helpful. Front desk was okay, not as well-trained and problem-solving as one might hope. The business center was very problematic.
But the view is great--all rooms apparently have balconies and views, and there's a walkway along the water that is great for walking, running, and cycling. On a stormy day, there were surfers out on the waves. the hotel is just a few short blocks from the quaint downtown with many little shops and restaurants. I enjoyed my stay very much.
The sunsets were stellar.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side closer to the ocean--all rooms have a view of the ocean, but the ones clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kuwait08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
663 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
2.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Address: 450 Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001-2708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ventura
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range: £108 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach between Santa Barbara and Malibu. Near downtown Ventura Beach wine tasting, boutiques, outdoor cafes, and nightlife, Seaside Park, Ventura County Fairgrounds. Outdoor dining with firepits at Aqua Beachfront Bar and C-Street Restaurant. Walk along the Promenade Boardwalk to Amtrak and the historic Ventura Pier. 19,000 square feet of function space including the 6660 sf "Top of the Harbor" Ballroom with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Santa Barbara Channel and the Channel Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel Ventura
Ventura Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing