We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for warped tour this year, best location possible just a short walk away! Checking in was smooth they were just super busy though with everyone staying for warped tour and there was also a lacrosse tournament going on. Booked the 2 double beds ocean view and the view was great I see other reviews saying it's not an ocean view it was "a roof" but all you have to do is turn you head to the right and there it is! I think some people expect something else, but I thought it was really nice. 4 people stayed in the room and I never felt cramped. Just wish there was a refrigerator. Parking for 2 cars for 2 nights was $24 all together which is a lot cheaper than I thought it was going to be I've stayed in hotels that we 35 each a night!! so that was a nice surprise. Definitely staying here again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tes1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dquintana, Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear. Tes1989,

Thank you for the very awesome score of 5 and we are glad to hear that were able to provide a great stay while you attended the Warp tour. This concert has been at the Ventura County fairgrounds which is only a short walk along the beach or boardwalk from us for years and we look forward to having you stay with us again next year. Thank you again we hope you have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

689 - 695 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Drove down from San Francisco, along the coast road, took all day, so wanted our next hotel to be quiet and comfortable. Rocked up at this joint as per our schedule, and wow, lobby full of surf dudes, boards etc, check in was ok, and free wifi along with parking. Room was basic and clean. Shame we weren't told about the train line alongside the hotel and every hour upto 11pm the train driver hoots his horn, then that restarts at 0600!
It's a poor hotel, mainly used by surfers and beach bum types. The steakhouse next door is fantastic. The beach is overrun with furry critters darting in and out of the rocks by the walk way.
We couldn't pack our bags the next morning fast enough and get back to LA.....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zugara01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dquintana, Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear. Zugara01,

Thank you for the review we appreciate the feedback and we are very sorry to hear that we were not what you were seeking. We do cater to all types of guests and surfers are just one of the many guests we have the privilege of serving. We hope we get another chance to show you all that the hotel has to offer from the great views to the terrific food we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We live in Ventura and had a college roommate visiting for a few days, so we decided to join him at the hotel.The room was large with a nice peek of the ocean. Doug Wood, the General Manager, saw to it that our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. we found the staff friendly and well trained. the food in the bar and restaurant was delicious This is, by far, the best hotel in Ventura!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dquintana, Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear. TonyaM,

Thank you very much for the very kind "5" you offered us and for taking the time to write about your stay. It's always great to hear about the good times people have when staying at our property and we take great pride in doing whatever we can to assure all our guests are satisfied. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel is definitely dated. However, the personnel make up for it. The plumbing in the bathroom sink and tub was sluggish. The furnishing were nice and everything was immaculate. The reception bar area is a pleasant surprise in itself. The family was able to socialize and play card games without being pestered to buy drinks. My only problem, as with our family group, was the train noise right outside the windows. The food was excellent. Love the idea that it is so close to other restaurants and the main drag.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normaredk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dquintana, Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear. Normaredk,

Thank for the 3 star review, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. Our team takes this reviews very seriously and we are able to learn what we are doing well and where we need to improve. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Before I start, may I say, I have travelled the Globe and never come across a bigger dump in my life!
Yes, the location is prime but it isn't really, it's in the middle of a bloody highway (s) and next to a train line. The noise is, well....unbelievable.
We arrived at approx 1700hrs after a 6+ hour drive. The first room was like a time warp to the 1970's and had been informed that we had been upgraded! Within minutes we were told we were changing rooms due to a plumbing issue...fact...there wasn't a plumbing issue we were hoisted out for somebody else.
The next room was just disgraceful and I refused to accept it...the view from the balcony was a sight to behold...and the room was a total and complete dump.
The 3rd room was back on the ocean view...ha ha ha...again it was a dump, check out the photos I took. The bath was disgusting, the decor old, aged and just wrong on all levels.
The noise through the night from the dripping bath tap and the traffic and train was against Human Rights....how is this hole operating ?
The Management offered a complimentary derisory 'Jam on Toast' breakfast.
If you feel this place is acceptable you need to review your own personal standards, because it's a dump...FACT.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mapesworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dquintana, Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear. Sowerby,


Please accept our sincere apology for all that you had to endure. I'm very sorry for the terrible experience we put you through. Please know and I do realize this may be hard to believe in this instance that our goal and intentions are to have all our guests leave satisfied and if there is ever an instance that we do not meet our guests needs we do have a manager on duty 24 hours a day 7 days a week. We are sharing these comments within the hotel in hopes of making ourselves and the process better, thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel is a bit dated on the outside, a bit like Ventura itself. However, the rooms are lovely, clean, comfy beds and excellent views.
2 points against the hotel: the sheets were changed EVERY day. This was a little over the top and wasteful (of water & resources); and the restaurant for breakfast was very gloomy: such unhappy staff & the food was ordinary too.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dquintana, Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear. JTCoffs,

We appreciate the feedback you've provided and we are glad to know you enjoyed our beachfront location. Our hotel team takes these reviews very personally and we always do our best to provide a fun and friendly experience and atmosphere, we apologize for not showing this type of experience during your time with us. Thank you for your time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was an amazing stay. I've haven't been in a hotel the was so complete in a long time. The staff was incredible too. The food was wonderful, my room was fantastic the view was perfect.
Thank you for the great experience.

Room Tip: Just ask anyone who works at the hotel. They are well cross trained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dquintana, Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear. GregR,

Thank you for the very kind 5 star review, your kind words a very much appreciated. These type of comments go a long way in helping us keep up our hotel morale and our ultimate goal of being the best hotel in the City of Ventura. We thank you for your business and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
662 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
2.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Address: 450 Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001-2708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ventura
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range: £109 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach between Santa Barbara and Malibu. Near downtown Ventura Beach wine tasting, boutiques, outdoor cafes, and nightlife, Seaside Park, Ventura County Fairgrounds. Outdoor dining with firepits at Aqua Beachfront Bar and C-Street Restaurant. Walk along the Promenade Boardwalk to Amtrak and the historic Ventura Pier. 19,000 square feet of function space including the 6660 sf "Top of the Harbor" Ballroom with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Santa Barbara Channel and the Channel Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel Ventura
Ventura Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing