We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average is the word that comes to mind....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Ventura
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,288 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 691 helpful votes
“Average is the word that comes to mind....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2010

This hotel is a bit of a landmark on the drive from LA to Santa Barbara. It's a solo highrise along a flat drive along the beach.
I was taking my son to look at schools in Ojai and we decided to stay at the beach, rather than in land.
The hotel is a highrise, right on the beach and a short walk from downtown Ventura. The lobby is busy with a popular lobby bar. The hotel has been redone not too long ago and has some bright modern colors. Check-in was painless and fine.
Our room was on the 7th floor and had a partial oceanview. Although you had to look across all the hotel's air conditioning units on the roof under our window. But if you look past the roof clutter the view impressive.
There was nothing offensive about the room. But it was plain. There is nothing that jumps out to you as special. Two beds, a desk and small bathroom. It was fine and clean.
The one complaint I had was that our pre-ordered room service breakfast never showed up. We had to reorder our breakfast and that made our day start late. There was never an apology about it.
Also I agree with other reviews that say $10.00 a day to park is crazy. This hotel is in Ventura - not New York or San Francisco. The lot was almost empty when we were there and I have to say to pay $10.00 a day for parking at a hotel in Ventura is a rip off.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    360
    226
    163
    115
See reviews for
270
407
52
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2009

We stayed 3 nights in adjoining rooms with our adult children. We seemed to have gotten a 50% discount because it was the off season. If you are looking for a comfy beachfront hotel with a friendly attentive staff, this hotel is for you. The lounge, lobby and other common areas have been renovated and are very attractive. I think the it would be excellent if they were to invest in double paned windows to drown out some of the highway and train whistle noise. The beds were not as comfy as we would have hoped, but when all was said and done, we had a lovely time connecting with family. It seemed that other families were enjoying themselves as well.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calidreamgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GKCMP, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, 26 January 2010
We appreciate the positive feedback. We work hard to please every guest that comes to visit us here on Ventura Beach. We are excited about some recent improvements to our products and services based on recommendations from our customers. Your collective feedback is behind a number of new upgrades and enhancements being implemented during the first quarter of 2010.
Thank you all for your input and continued support. You are the reason that we continue our daily mission to be the hotel guests love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cali
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

I stayed 1 night in the Ventura location. I was charged for a newspaper I stated I didnt want, I paid to park in the hotel lot, as a guest there, no validation...10.00 every exit and enter into the lot. Hotel charged my credit card $50.00. When I called to ask what the charges were for, the management told me it was to cover any incidentals. They said it is their policy to pre charge the customer, just in case you order something! Rooms are small, next to the train track, it was clean but over priced. I will never stay there again. Also, there were dogs everywhere, most every guest had a dog in their room. My family is allergic to dogs, so a bummer for us that we were not told this.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

Overall this is a very nice hotel. Not elegant... just nice. Staff is very friendly and did their best to give us a good view of the ocean. Even though the building itself is old, you can tell that the rooms have been updated somewhat recently. One thing they should have updated but didn't was the sliding glass windows to the outside balcony. You really had to fight with the door to get it to slide open. That was irritating. The balcony is a nice size but they do not provide any chairs to sit down. Even though the hotel is right on the beach, its not the best location because the highway and train tracks run right past the other side of the hotel. The sound of rushing cars takes away from the pleasant ocean sounds. The noise is enough to force you to keep the window closed. And the when the train goes by, it will likely wake you from your sleep. There is also a few homeless individuals that hang out on the benches between the beach and the hotel. I was here over a year ago and they were there then too which tells me its a permanent situation. The bed was very comfortable with a couple of pillow choices. The bathroom was nice and clean. The TV was a nice size but had only a small selection of channels. HBO is one of them. The hotel is located within walking distance of lots of great looking restaurants along main street. My biggest gripe of all is the $10 the hotel charges to park your car. I'm used to paying that for hotels in large downtown locations with space constraints like San Francisco or Los Angeles but this is Ventura... the parking should be free here. All in all, its a fine hotel and if you are a movie buff, you might enjoy knowing that the final scenes of the Movie, Little Miss Sunshine, were filmed at the hotel. Rent it before to go.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Almaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

In my opinion this hotel is poor value for money. We asked for an Ocean View and at best was given a Bay view. Whilst well apportioned the room decor was shabby with stains on the carpet.
Extra fee of $6.99 was charged for use of the Internet from the room and a $10 fee was also added to the bill without prior notification for parking the car. Breakfast was not included in the room rate at $128 and the 'heated' swimming pool was very cold, yet the fan in the room could not be controlled (discovered halfway during the night!!)
Overall a very disappointing and expensive stay for what was offerred.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wynnsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
412 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2009

Stayed here in Sep 09 for a week. Located close to Ventura Beach pubs/clubs/restaurants.

Very very poor service generally overall except for Rosie at the front desk who was fantastic.

Inclusive breakfast was terrible and almost uneatable. Then they charge $5 for orange juice (they don't tell you that you can only have one beverage for breakfast anywhere) on top. Amazingly enough I didn't tip the breakfast staff at all on the first day as the service was atrocious.

Rooms themselves fine - usual Crowne Plaza standard for US. Clean and neat, big TV etc.

The gym was lacking, equipment old and half not working.

Did have inclusive internet (depending on which rate you are on) which was good.

Has a very good bar (the best part of the hotel!)

All in all an average experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

I stayed at this hotel because of a friend that recommened it, Wow. The service is amazing and the view was beautiful. i had a view of surfers which was just what i was looking for. the staff is freindly and made me feel as if i have been going there for years. San diego has many people so staying here really gave me the "mini" vacation i needed with everything walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBabe65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.2 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Property: Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Address: 450 Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001-2708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ventura
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach between Santa Barbara and Malibu. Near downtown Ventura Beach wine tasting, boutiques, outdoor cafes, and nightlife, Seaside Park, Ventura County Fairgrounds. Outdoor dining with firepits at Aqua Beachfront Bar and C-Street Restaurant. Walk along the Promenade Boardwalk to Amtrak and the historic Ventura Pier. 19,000 square feet of function space including the 6660 sf "Top of the Harbor" Ballroom with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Santa Barbara Channel and the Channel Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel Ventura
Ventura Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing