We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Cincinnati, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved our stay!”
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We were a bit leery about having booked our room at this hotel after reading some of the reviews on here, but I was very pleasantly surprised! We got a great rate on a suite, which was nice to have that second room for our toddler to sleep in. The view from our balcony was beautiful, and it was fun to watch the surfers every morning. And, we LOVED the fact that there was a playground for our son to play at every day just outside the hotel on the beach.

I've read the reviews by people who complained about the train noise...I'm telling you: I'm one of the lightest sleepers in the world, and I didn't wake up once at night. Can you hear them during the day? You bet. But honestly, how much time will you be in the room during the day with the balcony door open?

Yes, the bed is a bit firm for my taste, but I slept great. There isn't much counter space in the main bathroom, but if you have a suite, the 2nd bath is larger and has more counter space. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating, and we also enjoyed the restaurant. I don't understand people who complain about the price of hotel food: It's ALWAYS going to be expensive! There are a ton of restaurants to choose from, either in walking distance, or a short drive away.

Now, about the homeless: Yes, there are lots of them around...but it IS California. They're pretty much everywhere due to the warm climate. But I never felt threatened, and I even went for two jogs down the boardwalk by myself, as well as taking our son for walks without my husband there.

The location of this hotel is great! And if you're going to explore other areas like we did (Santa Barbara or Santa Monica), this is a great central area to stay!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TigerFamily_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    390
    234
    164
    117
See reviews for
286
428
56
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

A true gem. But, not for all the obvious reasons.
Yes, the Crowne Plaza Hotel at the Ventura Promenade (previously the Holiday Inn) has recently been updated inside. However, the true metamorphasis was for it's staff. Crowne's staff and management have combined to embrace a philosophy of CARE that is both refreshing and unique. Current corporate Hotel & Restaurant Management cultures love to market their nuturing atmosphere, while few actually exude it. Bravo Dave, Gabby, Aaron, Mr. McCormick (late night security), Rueben and Danny!
You live and breathe it - Thanks for the smiles!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Talldrinkowater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENTURA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2010

We really enjoyed our stay, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The beds were very comfortable and soft. The food at the C - Street cafe was awesome. From what I understand is that they have the biggest art gallery in Ventura county which is very appealing to the eye as you walk in. With the hotel being 15 feet from the sand of the beach the view from our room was amazing. We highly recommend the Crowne Plaza for your next stay in Ventura.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOWNCHAMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GKCMP, Director of Marketing at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, 12 February 2010
Thank you so much for your review of your stay at the Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel.

We truly appreciate your kind comments and we ae pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much.

We look forward to hosting you and your friends, family, and professional colleagues throughout the year.

Enjoy the rest of your travels through the beautiful Southern California coastline. We hope you get time to savor the great sunny days we are enjoying in February and that you get a chance to revel in the view of the Santa Barbara Channel Islands.

Please keep writing reviews as you travel, as it is a great service for travelers and venues alike.

Safe Travels,

The Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forestville, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

As a Platinum Priority Club Member - that means I've stayed at 100's of their hotels, I was "amazed" at the "perks" of staying at this Crown Plaza hotel - read on and hold on!!!

As a THANK YOU for my patronage I got:
1. To pay $10/night for parking.
2. To pay $7/day for internet.
3. To buy breakfast at Denny's/McDonalds since they did not provide it for free as all the Crowne's I've stayed at do.
4. To hear the heat/air conditioning loudly wake me up in the middle of the night although I wear ear plugs.
5. To work out in a workout room where the garbage was over spilling, they had no water and forget the pop up cleansing cloths that every other hotel has. Why would we need it. I like to touch other people's sweaty machines.
6.To hear my phone continuously ring at all hours for some strange reason.
7. Coupons to the bar - for alcoholic drinks that I don't drink.
8. A ho-hum room that looks like anything you would get a regular hotel - some upgrade.

And I won't even get on about the meeting room I had.

I guess that they don't realize that there is a recession on or that there is a cheaper Country Inn and Suites close by that has free parking, internet and breakfast.
Walk to their view and stay elsewhere because the only thing this hotel has going for it is it's view. If I could have changed I would, but I was STUCK here on business.
I would talk about it's excellent customer service and cleanliness of the rooms. But shouldn't you be getting that at hotel anyway - no matter what you rank!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank spachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ventura hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,430 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 743 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2010

This hotel is a bit of a landmark on the drive from LA to Santa Barbara. It's a solo highrise along a flat drive along the beach.
I was taking my son to look at schools in Ojai and we decided to stay at the beach, rather than in land.
The hotel is a highrise, right on the beach and a short walk from downtown Ventura. The lobby is busy with a popular lobby bar. The hotel has been redone not too long ago and has some bright modern colors. Check-in was painless and fine.
Our room was on the 7th floor and had a partial oceanview. Although you had to look across all the hotel's air conditioning units on the roof under our window. But if you look past the roof clutter the view impressive.
There was nothing offensive about the room. But it was plain. There is nothing that jumps out to you as special. Two beds, a desk and small bathroom. It was fine and clean.
The one complaint I had was that our pre-ordered room service breakfast never showed up. We had to reorder our breakfast and that made our day start late. There was never an apology about it.
Also I agree with other reviews that say $10.00 a day to park is crazy. This hotel is in Ventura - not New York or San Francisco. The lot was almost empty when we were there and I have to say to pay $10.00 a day for parking at a hotel in Ventura is a rip off.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2009

We stayed 3 nights in adjoining rooms with our adult children. We seemed to have gotten a 50% discount because it was the off season. If you are looking for a comfy beachfront hotel with a friendly attentive staff, this hotel is for you. The lounge, lobby and other common areas have been renovated and are very attractive. I think the it would be excellent if they were to invest in double paned windows to drown out some of the highway and train whistle noise. The beds were not as comfy as we would have hoped, but when all was said and done, we had a lovely time connecting with family. It seemed that other families were enjoying themselves as well.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calidreamgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GKCMP, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, 26 January 2010
We appreciate the positive feedback. We work hard to please every guest that comes to visit us here on Ventura Beach. We are excited about some recent improvements to our products and services based on recommendations from our customers. Your collective feedback is behind a number of new upgrades and enhancements being implemented during the first quarter of 2010.
Thank you all for your input and continued support. You are the reason that we continue our daily mission to be the hotel guests love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cali
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2009

I stayed 1 night in the Ventura location. I was charged for a newspaper I stated I didnt want, I paid to park in the hotel lot, as a guest there, no validation...10.00 every exit and enter into the lot. Hotel charged my credit card $50.00. When I called to ask what the charges were for, the management told me it was to cover any incidentals. They said it is their policy to pre charge the customer, just in case you order something! Rooms are small, next to the train track, it was clean but over priced. I will never stay there again. Also, there were dogs everywhere, most every guest had a dog in their room. My family is allergic to dogs, so a bummer for us that we were not told this.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
633 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,070 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
2.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Property: Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Address: 450 Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001-2708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ventura
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach between Santa Barbara and Malibu. Near downtown Ventura Beach wine tasting, boutiques, outdoor cafes, and nightlife, Seaside Park, Ventura County Fairgrounds. Outdoor dining with firepits at Aqua Beachfront Bar and C-Street Restaurant. Walk along the Promenade Boardwalk to Amtrak and the historic Ventura Pier. 19,000 square feet of function space including the 6660 sf "Top of the Harbor" Ballroom with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Santa Barbara Channel and the Channel Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel Ventura
Ventura Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing