We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What a bargain!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Woodburn
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow! What a bargain!”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We are 1950's retro nuts and this place fit the bill to a "T." An older facility that rivals any place at twice the price, the freshly maintained decor is straight out of the past, yet comfortable and efficient. The room, pool and grounds are spotless clean and the staff, especially Juanita at the front desk, are all cheerful, friendly and efficient. The bed was plush and comfortable and the room was quiet despite being next to the office and stairs, with a train running behind the hotel. Within walking distance of a beautiful park, and plenty of unique restaurants, antique stores, and specialty shops the location couldn't have been more convenient. But for good old fashioned, inexpensive, home cooking just try the Vagabond restaurant next door ... inexpensive, yet serving an abundance of delicious food.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review! I will show it to Janita right now. She will be as pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us as I am. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    127
    76
    36
    32
See reviews for
83
122
44
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Remember now we're talking about the Vagabond,not the Ritz Carlton,so here's the deal pedestrian access to the beach and pier,short walk through the park to all the restaurants,pubs,micro brews,not to mention a vast fusion of almost any type of live music you could ask for,Yeah you got your knuckle head Ventura freaks crusin around,but for the price you can't come close,also the staff,Aimee is simply delicious,and Jenny is devine,Juanita the manager does a great job considering the logistic's.Ventura has a throw back hippi/music/artsy theme....gotta have an open mind........all in all good job folks.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you so much for the nice review. We do have local homeless people that like to hang around the beach areas, but I've seen that in just about every beach community that has decent weather. For the most part, they are just annoying. This town is awesome, and everything is close by. We are glad you choose to stay with us. I think Aimee will blush at the 'delicious' comment, but I'm going to make sure she sees it and gets a big "Thank You" from me, Jenny as well! As far a Juanita goes, she IS awesome, and everyone here knows it! Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California, United States
Level Contributor
215 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I travel on business once in awhile and dont like to waste money on over priced rooms ,but the first few places I stopped were a disgrace . A police person told me about the this place and I found it to be just fine. The room was clean and everything worked ,yes the mattress wasnt the best I ever slept on and the tv wasnt huge but for less than seventy bucks a night it was great .
I didnt use the pool but it looked clean and the Ice machine worked well . The cafe on the property was nice and sold beer and wine I had the fried chicken and it was good . I would stay here again and believe this motel is perfect for over night stops or people on a budget that want to stretch their vacation buck .

Room Tip: do try the fish and chip shop next door its pretty cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Kelly C,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are happy that we could meet your expectations, even on the recommendation of the person you spoke to. We take pride in the cleanliness and the value of our product. We hope you will come back in the near future and enjoy all of our facilities. Please do not hesitate to give us a call to book your next stay.
Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I regret I could spend only one night at the Vagabond Inn Ventura since it's one of those places where you feel like home and you'd like stopping the time just to be there any longer. From the very beginning when I checked in I experienced a very positive feeling, certainly influenced by the kindness and professionalism of the gentleman present at that moment, confirmed during my whole stay. For a very good rate I was offered a large clean room, equipped with fridge, microwave, coffee maker, iron and iron board. The location was perfect for my needs: within walking distance from the beach, the Main street and all downtown attractions. Reaching the motel is elementary since Thompson Blvd is actually the name of US 101 in town and the exit 70 A of the Highway 1 is just one block away. In spite of this proximity the Vagabond Inn is a very quiet place. A large pool is available to guests who can even enjoy a basic breakfast in the morning , maybe the only flaw I can name, not an issue at all anyway. Coffee is available in the lobby around the clock. The whole staff deserves a mention for its efficiency and kindness. Can I recommend this motel? Definitely YES, without any doubt. From now on it'll be my place whenever in the City of San Buenaventura.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d8889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. Gary is the gentleman that you are referring to at check in. I will make sure that he sees your nice comments about him. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here in Ventura and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Since my last review and upon my recent stay I have to say that they need to step up simple maintenance and policy issues. One is replacing the electrical outlets in their rooms with new ones that plugins don't fall out of. The other is smoke smell in non-smoking rooms mainly by construction workers. Air out the rooms please. There is definitely a extreme shortage of electrical outlets in the rooms. This is typical of older motels/hotels so bring your own plug strip and extension cord if you need electrical hookups.
This place is still simple and clean and Very Friendly to pets. It is a ok stay. It is close to the beach and downtown. Just stepping up simple things will make it better for your stay. Just don't expect a Class A place.

Room Tip: Try to get a room nearer to the office or at least along that strip of rooms and make sure to have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RealCustomerTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thanks for reviewing our hotel. Your comments help make our hotel better. We are currently renovating rooms in the hotel, but only about 10 at a time. The renovated ones have 4 more electrical outlets than before. Next week we will be installing new carpet in 35 rooms. I will have the maintenance man check the outlets in the older rooms and replace the ones that need it. I will get on that today. Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This is a superior value for a more than comfortable room. And the TV has thousands of channels (well, maybe not quite that many), But the thing about this place is a great front desk .... you cannot believe the motivation and concern for guests that these folk demonstrate morning and night. That means amenities that you might need (an extra pillow) a quiet room (their suggestion, not our request) or anything else that you might want. Friendliness is not quite the word... it is something beyond that! Thanks, ladies!!!!

If you are anywhere near Ventura, Oxnard, (California) etc. stay here... they will be happy to have you and you will be happy as well.

Room Tip: Any of the 100's are easy to get to, great parking and very a short walk to Denny's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJM921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thanks for the great review! I will pass your comments on to the staff. I know they appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2013

My dog and I stayed here while our house was being fumigated. Was very pleasantly surprised. Much quieter than I expected, given that it's on a busy street with railroad tracks just feet from the back of the property. Nothing fancy, but had all the essentials and was very comfortable and very clean. Continental breakfast is pretty minimal, but there is a restaurant adjoining and lots of eating places nearby. Try the Sandbox Coffeehouse a couple of blocks away!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VenturaResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thanks for the nice review. I actually had to google the cafe you mentioned. I plan to stop by and check it out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.0 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Ventura

Property: Vagabond Inn Ventura
Address: 756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-2916
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ventura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Ventura 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Historic Downtown Ventura, the Vagabond Inn is walking distance to the shops, restaurants, theaters and more. Just behind the Inn is a footbridge that takes you to the Ventura Pier and Promenade to the right and to San BuenaVentura State Beach to the left (where you will find the famous Jolly Oyster!) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vagabond Inn Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Ventura Hotel Ventura
Vagabond Hotel Ventura
Ventura Vagabond Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing