We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mature beach motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mature beach motel”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Chose this hotel from Booking Buddy not knowing the area. Arrived late from San Francisco and rooms were ready and clean, check in was fast, and all in family very pleased with their accommodations . Close to downtown, gas stations, freeway, and eating establishments. Will surely book here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geraldscard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for writing a review. We appreciate your comments. We hope you come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    137
    82
    38
    33
See reviews for
93
130
46
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband and I and our dog stayed at the Vagabond Inn Ventura for 2 nights. There was a small refrigerator and microwave in the room, which was clean and comfortable. We stayed at the Inn on Sunday and Monday, and the Inn seemed full. Considering how many people must stay here, it was very well maintained. The pool was not crowded. There is a train that goes by the Vagabond Inn, but it was a minor irritant. There was a grassy area for our dog. Great location for walks by the beach and to downtown. Two restaurants with dog friendly patios were just across the street. The extra charge for our dog was only $10.00 per night. It was a great break from the heat in the San Fernando Valley, we will come again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back of the facility near the pool and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingAnnK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for the awesome review! We actually have been full almost every night since summer started. It's been so hot everywhere else it seems. We love dogs here and have a dogie area with clean up bags provided. We hope you all come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monrovia, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed at the Vagabond Inn for two nights, the young lady at the front desk, Alex, was very professional, courteous, and had a big smile, made me feel laugh. Room was nice and clean
and quiet at night, within walking distance to beach, restaurants, and downtown Ventura, the
staff was very friendly and accommodating. I will be staying at the Vagabond again. Great value. Rajshri S

Room Tip: I've only stayed on the south side, which was fairly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you! I'm glad that you mentioned Alex by name so I can personally thank her and show your review to her. Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during a road trip, the place was nice and clean. The staff was very friendly, and very accommodating.

It is walking distance to the beach and downtown Ventura. Downtown had a cute little shops and awesome bars/restaurants.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for the review! We hope you come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grover Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We paid $156 for our room at the Vagabond Inn in Ventura, which is more than we would have paid at a Nice Holiday Inn and the room was dirty. There were nasty dark stains in the carpet and the walls were dirty. There was a little table and two chairs in the room where you could sit and eat your meal, which we would not of ate on, as there were cigarette burns all over it and it seemed to be in need of a wipe down. I can say the sheets and towels, seemed to be clean, but one can never tell. There was a hole in the wall, where they did some kind of work, but didn't even bother to patch it up when they were done. The continental breakfast was a joke, granola bars and either an apple or banana and coffee. We went down the road to a really nice restaurant and had a wonder breakfast. Well we are done and we will never stay in a Vagabond Inn again, this was our first time and it will be the last. Next time we will just keep driving.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
I'm sorry that you had a room that didn't appear to be clean. I will definitely follow up on the hole in the wall not finished properly. We do not offer breakfast at this location, but do have granola bars and fruit available. The hotel you mentioned was selling rooms last weekend for $259.00 and up. Weekends on the coast during the summer usually range from about $140 to $295. Please come back off season and we will give you a great deal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ventura hotels

New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Vagabond Inn for 2 nights. The room was very basic and clean. It has the sink outside the bathroom and a refrigerator near the sink. The beds were comfortable and it was fairly quiet at night. The hotel is just a few blocks from the main part of town with all of the restaurants and shops. There is a walkway behind the hotel to get over to the pier and beach area but we preferred to walk there via the street.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank babobear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. I hope you can come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We weren't sure what we had arrived at when we got here but the staff were very friendly. Our room was clean and very well equipped with coffee maker, good range of toiletries and towels beautifully presented. Room itself was a bit dated looking from the outside and the carpet had definitely seen better days. Heard the train but it wasn't a problem. Ideal stopover for a night or two at a very good price. Don't bother with the free breakfast thought,meat in the friendly diner on site

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LarkrisetoCandleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing our property! All of our rooms have a microwave oven, a small refrigerator and a coffee maker. They also have an iron and ironing board just in case your clothes get wrinkled on the way. We don't offer a breakfast at this location, but we do have an on-site restaurant. We do have complementary breakfast snacks, like cereal bars and danish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
0.1 mi away
Amanzi Hotel
Amanzi Hotel
#7 of 23 in Ventura
645 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,087 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.0 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Ventura

Property: Vagabond Inn Ventura
Address: 756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-2916
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ventura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Ventura 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Historic Downtown Ventura, the Vagabond Inn is walking distance to the shops, restaurants, theaters and more. Just behind the Inn is a footbridge that takes you to the Ventura Pier and Promenade to the right and to San BuenaVentura State Beach to the left (where you will find the famous Jolly Oyster!) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vagabond Inn Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Ventura Hotel Ventura
Vagabond Hotel Ventura
Ventura Vagabond Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing