We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served it's purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and was really pleased with the cleanliness of our room. Granted, the hotel is a bit antiquated but everything in our room worked perfectly. No leaks, squeaks, or creepy crawlers as I've read in other's reviews.
Perfect location to the fairgrounds, beach and downtown Ventura.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gabi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your comments! This is undoubtedly one of the best locations in town. The owner plans to continue with upgrades during the winter months when are not as busy. The upgrades are flat screen TV's right now, and new carpet and vanity areas in the winter. Hopefully your comments will get things moving along a bit faster. We hope you'll continue to stay with us when you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Arrived here not feeling particularly well. we'd driven over nearly three weeks from Chicago "doing Route 66" and fancied a bit of R&R on the beach. The receptionist wasn't very helpful at all and didn't do the hotel any favours with her attitude. We were given a room on the second floor with no elevator and lots of bags. The room appeared to be ok but the carpet was quite dirty in places and the bathroom was in need of some refurbishment too. Despite being relatively near to the reception the Wi-Fi was very slow/virtually useless too. Close towards the back of the hotel is a railway line and a road crossing. Trains were blowing their horns throughout the night. I'm normally immune to this because I work in the rail industry but this seemed to happen 3 or 4 times an hour. There also seemed to be a large group of homeless people living near the railway line and the back of the hotel. While they didn't approach us directly they weren't exactly a pleasant sight when you walked back from the beach to the hotel. We did like Ventura Beach and surrounding area. The room staff did seem to be working hard trying to get the rooms clean and they, unlike the desk receptionist, were friendly. Perhaps we were just unlucky but I would think twice about staying there again. I suppose not having breakfast included didn't help.

Room Tip: As far away from the railway line as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SwindonLester1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback. We are in the middle of the Ventura County Fair right now. Amtrak adds extra runs to the fair each day during this time. The homeless people congregate by the railroad tracks there because a local church brings a van a couple times a day to take them to the other side of town where they can shower, wash their clothes and have a hot meal. I wish they had picked a different place to pick them up too, but I can't make them move. All the hotels here, near the Ventura Pier have the same access point to the bridge that crosses over to the beach. Unfortunately, or maybe fortunately, we are located the closest to that bridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Chose this hotel from Booking Buddy not knowing the area. Arrived late from San Francisco and rooms were ready and clean, check in was fast, and all in family very pleased with their accommodations . Close to downtown, gas stations, freeway, and eating establishments. Will surely book here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank geraldscard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for writing a review. We appreciate your comments. We hope you come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband and I and our dog stayed at the Vagabond Inn Ventura for 2 nights. There was a small refrigerator and microwave in the room, which was clean and comfortable. We stayed at the Inn on Sunday and Monday, and the Inn seemed full. Considering how many people must stay here, it was very well maintained. The pool was not crowded. There is a train that goes by the Vagabond Inn, but it was a minor irritant. There was a grassy area for our dog. Great location for walks by the beach and to downtown. Two restaurants with dog friendly patios were just across the street. The extra charge for our dog was only $10.00 per night. It was a great break from the heat in the San Fernando Valley, we will come again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back of the facility near the pool and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingAnnK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for the awesome review! We actually have been full almost every night since summer started. It's been so hot everywhere else it seems. We love dogs here and have a dogie area with clean up bags provided. We hope you all come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed at the Vagabond Inn for two nights, the young lady at the front desk, Alex, was very professional, courteous, and had a big smile, made me feel laugh. Room was nice and clean
and quiet at night, within walking distance to beach, restaurants, and downtown Ventura, the
staff was very friendly and accommodating. I will be staying at the Vagabond again. Great value. Rajshri S

Room Tip: I've only stayed on the south side, which was fairly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you! I'm glad that you mentioned Alex by name so I can personally thank her and show your review to her. Please come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here during a road trip, the place was nice and clean. The staff was very friendly, and very accommodating.

It is walking distance to the beach and downtown Ventura. Downtown had a cute little shops and awesome bars/restaurants.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for the review! We hope you come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We paid $156 for our room at the Vagabond Inn in Ventura, which is more than we would have paid at a Nice Holiday Inn and the room was dirty. There were nasty dark stains in the carpet and the walls were dirty. There was a little table and two chairs in the room where you could sit and eat your meal, which we would not of ate on, as there were cigarette burns all over it and it seemed to be in need of a wipe down. I can say the sheets and towels, seemed to be clean, but one can never tell. There was a hole in the wall, where they did some kind of work, but didn't even bother to patch it up when they were done. The continental breakfast was a joke, granola bars and either an apple or banana and coffee. We went down the road to a really nice restaurant and had a wonder breakfast. Well we are done and we will never stay in a Vagabond Inn again, this was our first time and it will be the last. Next time we will just keep driving.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

I'm sorry that you had a room that didn't appear to be clean. I will definitely follow up on the hole in the wall not finished properly. We do not offer breakfast at this location, but do have granola bars and fruit available. The hotel you mentioned was selling rooms last weekend for $259.00 and up. Weekends on the coast during the summer usually range from about $140 to $295. Please come back off season and we will give you a great deal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.1 mi away
Amanzi Hotel
Amanzi Hotel
#6 of 23 in Ventura
670 reviews
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Ventura
La Quinta Inn Ventura
#11 of 23 in Ventura
557 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Ventura

Address: 756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-2916
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ventura
#4 Business Hotel in Ventura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range: £57 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Ventura 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Historic Downtown Ventura, the Vagabond Inn is walking distance to the shops, restaurants, theaters and more. Just behind the Inn is a footbridge that takes you to the Ventura Pier and Promenade to the right and to San BuenaVentura State Beach to the left (where you will find the famous Jolly Oyster!) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vagabond Inn Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Ventura Hotel Ventura
Vagabond Hotel Ventura
Ventura Vagabond Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing