We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoughtful exhibits”

American Revolution Museum at Yorktown
Ranked #3 of 25 things to do in Yorktown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Museum where you can find all types of displays regarding the momentous events and activities during Revolutionary times.
Williamsville
Level Contributor
302 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Thoughtful exhibits”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Our group of three adults thoroughly enjoyed our recent visit here. This attraction does a great job of interpreting the American Revolution. I especially liked the galleries that told the story of the impact of the Revolution on a number of different individuals (men and women, freemen and slaves, and even one white woman captured and raised by Native Americans). These stories were all retold based on recorded documentation of their experiences at the time. It made the American Revolution come to life for me in a way that I had not anticipated. The museum has several galleries and many artifacts. There is also a film to view. Outside, there is a recreation of a 1780's farm depicting how Americans lived during the Revolutionary era, as well as a Continental Army encampment where we watched historical interpreters demonstrate artillery of the era. We spent 1/2 day here, but easily could have spent more. It is well done.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pasbuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    215
    96
    38
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Still good, but construction blues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We've been to Yorktown Victory Center once before, a couple of years ago. We loved the enthusiasm and knowledge of the interpreters, and the hand-on activities. The site is undergoing extensive renovation, and suffering from that a bit. The interpreters are still top-notch and really happy to talk to visitors young and old, but the farm is not in great shape at the moment. If this is your only chance to get here, it's still worth a stop, but if you live nearby, hit the other Historic Triangle attractions and wait until construction here is done.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Under construction but still great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Victory Centre is the living museum of the area and despite having to dodge construction, we spent an amazing morning there. As at all the attractions, the staff at the Front Desk were informative and helped us plan our trip.
We started at the Farm and it was fabulous with the volunteers (in costume) chatting with us for long periods giving us a great insight into life pre-Revolution. As charming decorations, there are ducks, chickens and a turkey wandering around. The rooster and I had a long conversation.
We went to the encampment afterwards and watched the artillery display. The exhibition was a huge and loud success and the gentleman giving the talk was delightful.
We took a trip through the museum and then headed down to the Yorktown Battlefield after a lunch at Riverwalk.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.F. Bay Area
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Private tour was awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a private tour of the Yorktown site for our family of 6. Our guide, Lauren, was absolutely fantastic! She was extremely knowledgable, was very enthusiastic about her subject matter and kept all of us interested. She provided opportunities for our 9 and 13 year old granddaughters to actually do things the way people who lived here had to do them. Lots of hands on activities. Lauren then went with us to Jamestown Settlement. This was by far one of the best tours I've been on.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank twinlakesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
142 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Another Great Site at Yorktown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Very informative. Visit the encampment.....listen to the speakers. Very real. Everyone was friendly and wanted to talk. Employees made this visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed American Revolution Museum at Yorktown also viewed

 

Been to American Revolution Museum at Yorktown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing