We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay”
Review of Duke of York Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duke of York Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Yorktown
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed here for a wedding at the Freight Shed at the Yorktown waterfront. We had a block of rooms for the wedding party and couldn't me more pleased with our stay here. We are locals, so had never been in the rooms, only to the restaurant on a fairly regular basis. The front desk clerks were extremely nice, and the rooms were great. Upon our arrival on the second floor, the lady in housekeeping was still cleaning rooms. She was very friendly and stopped to chat with us for a few minutes. I could tell that she was doing a thorough job of cleaning just by looking at her supplies and how seriously she took her job. When I arrived in our room, I was very impressed with how clean it was, not surpised though, after having just chatted with Jill!!! The next morning, I chatted with her some more, and she said that she had been there for about 30 years. That says a lot!!!
There are no frills or anything special that would make this a 5 star motel, but sometimes it's the staff, the hospitality, the cleanliness, and the good food that put it right up there with those types of hotels. Even though we live 10 minutes from the Duke of York, I am so glad that we got to experience a wonderful stay here. Gives me the ability to honestly recommend it to out of town guests who are looking for a nice, clean place to stay.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank YorktownTerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duchessofyork508, General Manager at Duke of York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you for your kind response about your visit to The Duke of York. Our housekeeping staff take pride in their work and we all strive to meet all the needs of our guests. We thank you and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

We had a room booked for the July 4 fireworks, my daughter's were excited, we drove over an hour to get there. Upon arrival, my wife was informed they could not find our reservation, even with the confirmation number. My kids were devastated, as were my wife and I! We were given the manager Vivian Harris' card, and told to enjoy our 4th of July! Are you freaking kidding me!? My credit card was charged, confirmation number, and this garbage! I still am in shock! Never again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
11  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duchessofyork508, General Manager at Duke of York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

First of all, we would like to apologize for the error that occurred when making your on-line reservation. The only explanation is that someone else was making the same reservation at the same time as you, and they finished and clicked "o.k." or "submit" before you did, therefore they got the room. We are sincerely sorry and would like to make it up to you and your family. We will contact you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The hotel was OK, and we had a nice view of the river front. However, our biggest problems were, first, the picture on the website is completely inaccurate. It portrays the river front shops, NOT the hotel, which is considerably older and plainer. Second, for the price, the amenities were scarce--no breakfast and only a bar of soap and bottle of shampoo in the bathroom. We will not stay here again if in the area. On the positive side, the room was clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The hospitality and comfort of this motel make it amazing. I highly recommend a 4th or 5th floor room. The view of the bay is amazing and the grassy area before the pool make it very cozy. It is right on the beach front and we never had to move the car to go anywhere the 3 days we stayed everything was in walking distance. The staff were wonderful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We will be returning in the very near future.

Room Tip: 4th floor facing the water is pool level and has a large grassy area in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

We had a lesson we learned. We had already checked into the Crown Inn about three miles away. That room stunk the hotel was outdated and I did not feel safe. I called this hotel and decided to waste the money spent on the place with better reviews. I arrived here 10 minutes after checking out of the other hotel. Brandi did an excellent job the room 311 was awesome and smelled fresh. When in Yorktown I will stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duchessofyork508, General Manager at Duke of York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thank you very much for choosing The Duke of York Hotel, and we hope to have you as our guest again soon. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

One night over Memorial Day weekend was our second time staying at the Duke of York. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, as before. This time we were on the third floor with the most perfect view of the beach and river from the moment we entered the room. It appeared that there had been a facelift -- fresh paint and carpet, new bed coverings, and bathroom fixtures. It is always great to have a small fridge, microwave and coffee pot, along with the iron (which we never use) and the hairdryer. There were great soaps and shampoo, along with plenty of towels. Beds were comfortable and had four pillows each. The room and bathroom were SPOTLESS, and there were NO chemical cleaning smells like something is trying to be covered up as you get in many motels. Perhaps they use organic cleaning supplies. Our only complaint was that the rate we were quoted on the phone was less than what we were charged upon arrival. It was taken care of and our original quoted price was honored, without question, upon check-out. Can't beat that. We love eating breakfast at the restaurant there, and we were once again, not disappointed.

Room Tip: We love the second and third floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JandRRockville_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently and found a geriatric crowd, average food, minimal beach and hidden hotel charges. All of this combine to make this hotel very overrated. Not a whole lot to do in the immediate vicinity particularly if you have children.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yorktown
8.6 mi away
Courtyard Newport News Yorktown
9.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newport News-Yorktown
6.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Newport News - Yorktown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Newport News
10.7 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
634 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mulberry Inn and Plaza at Fort Eustis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of York Hotel

Address: 508 Water Street, The Only Hotel in the Historic Village of Yorktown, VA, Yorktown, VA 23690
Region: United States > Virginia > Yorktown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Yorktown
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are family owned Hotel located in Yorktown, Virginia. We are the only hotel located in the historic village of Yorktown. All rooms have a beautiful view of the York River, from either private balconies or wide, open verandas. Large courtyard area with shade trees overlooking the river. All rooms have single cup coffee makers, refrigerators and microwaves. 20 Minutes from Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gradens, and 30 minutes to Jamestown. Locally famous restaurant on premises with many other dining choices within walking distance. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Duke of York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of York Hotel Yorktown
Duke York Hotel Yorktown
Duke York Yorktown
Duke Of York Yorktown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing