We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special treat”
Review of Hornsby House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yorktown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hornsby House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Yorktown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durango, Colorado
1 review
“Special treat”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We arrived late and a bit tired and Meghan made sure we had a beautiful room ready set with a fireplace for our comfort. We were given a glass of wine to relax and then Meghan went above and beyond by sharing some of her dinner food with us when we said we were too tired to go out. Phil and Dave each fixed us a wonderful breakfast and over shared food filled us in on the Hornsby House and Yorktown. Dave even made dinner reservations for us in Williamsburg for our extended visit to the area. We would definitely return to Yorktown and the Hornsby House.

Room Tip: We had chosen the economy booking and we ended up being able to choose our own room. We would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCSmith2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
96
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Yorktown was having an open house and art show and this beautiful house that I have admired for many years was open. I loved the sun room and dining room. I decided then if I needed to recommend a place to stay for guest this would be it. I love Yorktown. It's not very big but historic. It reminds me of Island in the West Indies, Saba.

The Carrot Restaurant has wonderful sandwiches. The little church I like to shop in their gift shop. Wonderful cards and unique gifts. The Pub has wonderful clam chowder.

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank threekittyinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The Hornsby House Inn is a fabulous bed and breakfast. My husband and I have stayed at a number of Bed and Breakfasts over the years and this one, hands down, gave the best value for the money. The room was lovely. The breakfasts were delicious. The wine and cheese in the evenings were perfect. Dave, Phil and Meghan went out of their way to share their knowledge of the town with us and made sure we had everything we needed to have an outstanding vacation. We hope to make it back to Hornsby House Inn soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpnc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My friends and I were thrilled with our experience at the Hornsby House Inn last weekend. We were greeted warmly by the owners, Phil and Dave. Our room was large and decorated very nicely in traditional period furniture. The location was the best with a view of the York River. After a wonderful welcome with a fire, wine and cheese tray, we walked to all the local restaurants and pubs. We rose in the morning to the smell of bacon and other fabulous breakfast items. We enjoyed our lovely breakfast in the sunroom with a roaring fire. The day was calling us out to enjoy the re-enactment of the Revolutionary War just outside the Hornsby. This is a great place to relax and be taken care of for a weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stingraycoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

There are so few B & B's that will accommodate children ...and Dave and Phil were the exception. I know that it can be a risk to take on children so ours were instructed on "best behavior rules" prior to entering their home. I hope we met their expectations as well because we were very pleased with our stay.

That the they were willing to take our family of 4 (w/ our kids who are now 11 & 13) was super. It is very hard to find historic places to stay with your children that aren't solely designed for honeymooning/romantic getaway couples. The perception, and I hope it is not the reality, is that children in this day and age aren't instructed to have manners and this stops B&Bs worldwide from taking them on. We didn't want to stay in one of the vanilla resorts or chain hotels while on our trip (we had booked at the Williamsburg Woodlands just because of the good deal and convenience...but ditched our 2nd night because we wanted more historical perspective and character). So I hope we were well behaved so that we don't ruin it for others who could benefit from this fabulous place.

When Phil and Dave bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable, we were thrilled. They were so helpful with all arrangements and gave us historic overviews and tips to make our stay informative and efficient. When Phil noticed that my daughter had brought her American girl doll, he found some of his mother's playthings ...a sweet antique wedding doll and chest with tea set and dress up jewelry so that even her doll could have a tea party. Really thoughtful and lovely. I was touched that they would allow our daughter to play with these precious things and entrust her with them as I am sure they were well-loved family items.

We had the largest room with 4 beds, enjoyed a nice fire in the fireplace and were so cozy and comfortable, of course we didn't want our stay to end. Running a house of this size is quite an endeavor ...the food was delicious, the location was great (out of the "tourist trap" destinations of Williamsburg but not too far away to get there easily) and the stay was so pleasant, we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else when visiting the historic triangle.

We also spent a day at Jamestown and it was a short scenic drive. It is an exceptional location. We also came with our bikes and felt that we were in a secure place to have our bikes. It would make a great location for loop tours if you are touring by bike.

Room Tip: Choose their 4 person suite for a direct morning view of the monument...spacious for a family and ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ridingforchocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We had an excellent stay at Hornsby House. Lovely accomodations, excellent food, gracious hosts. We really enjoyed meeting other guests at the nightly wine & cheese hour. It is in a beautiful little town, and very quiet. An easy walk to the water and ok restaurants. Also a quick drive to other sites like Yorktown Victory Center, Jamestown and Williamsburg.

Room Tip: All are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Yaay! We found another wonderful B & B!! We arrived to this beautifully restored home on friday afternoon in time to unpack, relax, enjoy wine, crackers and cheese, all while watching the monument and sailboats on the lazy river before strolling down to the river walk area for dinner. We were in town to attend a Saturday evening wedding in the local area. The other B&B guests were also there to attend a wedding - but a different one! We got along famously, laughing, chatting, enjoying cocktail hour, delicious Saturday & Sunday breakfasts, swapping tales, enjoying history stories and just having a wonderful time. Even with the government shutdown, we found plenty to do in Yorktown. The Yorktown museum was great, the burger 'n beer places along the river beach were lots of fun, the Blue Grass group friday night along the river was awesome. Get your toes wet in the water, walk barefoot in the sand, catch the sailing ships, and just wander around and totally relax. I can't wait to return to listen to more of David's stories, find out if Phil (his brother) really slid down that awesome banister, enjoy Megan's breakfast creations and see how big Bowtie (the family puppy) will really turn out to be! Enjoy!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bette-don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yorktown
10.8 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
585 reviews
11.0 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
8.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newport News-Yorktown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
8.3 mi away
Courtyard Newport News Yorktown
11.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hornsby House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hornsby House Inn

Property: Hornsby House Inn
Address: 702 Main St, Yorktown, VA 23690-4044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Yorktown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Yorktown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit Yorktown, colonial Williamsburg, and the surrounding areas, rest your head at The Hornsby House Inn. The Hornsby House Inn has been the center of hospitality in Yorktown for three generations. Newly renovated, The Hornsby House offers five guestrooms and suites. Filled with family antiques, the inn is spacious, comfortable, and inviting. Each room offers its own thermostat to ensure your comfort. There's so much to do, see, and enjoy in the Yorktown area. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit. Welcome! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing