We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Weekend Stay”
Review of Hornsby House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yorktown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hornsby House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Yorktown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Weekend Stay”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at this bed and breakfast this past weekend (August 8-10). Very nice accommodations, and a very helpful staff. If you are looking for a nice B&B in the Yorktown-Williamsburg, Va. area you will not be disappointed with the Hornsby House Inn. We very much enjoyed our stay, and you will as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
97
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
StratfordNew Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Hornsby House was a lovely place to stay and we enjoyed the Innkeepers and the history of the home and their family as well. Breakfast was delicious and it was fun to interact with the other guests. The location is excellent. We enjoyed the archeologist's tour at Jamestown and also the driving tour of Yorktown. Hornsby House provided the narrated CD. You can also walk to River view restaurants. If we are traveling south again, we will surely return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the lovely river view room. It is comfortable and decorated beautifully and there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeQ28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

A must read penned by Mrs. Marian Hornsby Bowditch (mother of David and Philip) in 1959 for her then 3 young sons and currently on display. It is obvious that even if they did not strictly obey said Articles back then, her no-nonsense approach to corralling a trio of rambunctious adolescents left a positive lasting impression. This was our second stay at Hornsby House and the Brothers Bowditch treated us like long-lost friends (which we are, of course!). A wonderfully relaxing 2 days, only surpassed by Philip's Eggs Benedict at breakfast and the fiercely competitive fraternal backgammon match in the afternoon (ask about the "Cup of Shame"). Great place, great people. If only they could only get the U.S. Park Service to trim their trees so that July 4th fireworks were completely visible from the Monument Room balcony....:)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at Hornsby House Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
It was wonderful to see you again, Joe! So glad you enjoyed your second stay even better than the first. I'm thrilled to hear that your weekend with us was relaxing and fun. We're pleased you enjoyed our delicious Southern style breakfast, and that you got a kick out of our Cup of Shame! Hope we'll get to see you again soon; you know what they say -- third time's a charm!

All the best,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We spent the weekend in Yorktown to celebrate our son's graduation from Coast Guard A-School which is just down the street from the Hornsby House Inn. The owners, brothers David and Philip Bowditch, made us feel very welcome, providing us with historical information about the area and sharing stories of their childhood home. The breakfasts were bountiful with bacon, eggs, and cheese grits served on their grandmother's china. We also enjoyed afternoon wine and cheese, watching the Main Street "traffic" from the comfort of the front porch rocking chairs. David and Philip also provided us with good information about activities in the area as well as recommendations for lunches and dinners. All in all it was a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautifully furnished with the family's antique furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at Hornsby House Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Congratulations on your son's big accomplishment! We're thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful weekend stay with us. It's great to know you enjoyed our historical hometown! I'm pleased that you loved our Southern style breakfast, as well as our wine & cheese happy hour. Thanks so much for the kind words. We hope to see you again soon!

Cheers, Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Yorktown, Virginia is charming, historical and scenic and even more so when coupled with a stay at Hornsby House Inn. The nearly century old house with its historic furnishings provides a pleasant respite in the midst of historic Yorktown. The rooms are spacious and nicely furnished, The breakfast and welcome are personal and sumptuous. If you are visiting the Historic Triangle don't miss a stay here.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms are great, one, aptly named the Monument Grand Suite has a patio overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngckwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at Hornsby House Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us! It's great to hear that you loved our historic, colonial style. I'm pleased that you found your room comfortable and the breakfast delicious. Hope you'll come back again soon!

All the best,
Cheers, Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Brought my wife and two boys to Yorktown for my nieces wedding at the freight shed(which is also awesome), Had no idea the Hornsby House existed, Awesome Place,my wife and kids loved it, Great service, The Hosts make you feel right at home, Breakfast is great, I will be dreaming of southern cheese grits for awhile, ice cold A/C in your room is perfect defense against the southern heat and humidity, thank you again for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at Hornsby House Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
So glad you discovered us, Jeff. We're thrilled that the whole family enjoyed staying with us. It's great to hear you loved our Southern style breakfast and that you found your room comfortable. Hope you'll think of us next time you're in Yorktown!

All the best,
Cheers, Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We celebrated our 50th anniversary in these pleasant surroundings. The Bowditch Brothers are friendly, welcoming and accommodating in every way. They've done a great job of restoring their boyhood home to its former grandeur and clearly enjoy sharing it with their guests. The Yorktown historical setting adds to the flavor and gives significance to the venue. The cuisine was excellent, the ambiance relaxed and the hospitality genuine. Do yourself a favor and sample it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at Hornsby House Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Happy 50th Anniversary, Thomas! We're thrilled you both enjoyed your stay with us. From your breakfast to your room, it's great to hear you loved our true Southern style hospitality.Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. Hope you'll come back and visit again soon!

All the best,
Cheers, Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yorktown
10.8 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
594 reviews
11.0 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
8.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newport News-Yorktown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Courtyard Newport News Yorktown
11.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
10.9 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hornsby House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hornsby House Inn

Property: Hornsby House Inn
Address: 702 Main St, Yorktown, VA 23690-4044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Yorktown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Yorktown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit Yorktown, colonial Williamsburg, and the surrounding areas, rest your head at The Hornsby House Inn. The Hornsby House Inn has been the center of hospitality in Yorktown for three generations. Newly renovated, The Hornsby House offers five guestrooms and suites. Filled with family antiques, the inn is spacious, comfortable, and inviting. Each room offers its own thermostat to ensure your comfort. There's so much to do, see, and enjoy in the Yorktown area. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit. Welcome! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing